top of page

The Molli Hogbin Interview (Berkeley Springs, WV)

Updated: Feb 2, 2023


Name: Molli Hogbin


Height: 6-4


Position: Center


High School: Milton Hershey (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Central PA Elite (Team Nike)


Offers: Roosevelt


Status: Committed to Bluefield State University (2/1/23)


Molli Hogbin is a 6-4 Center from Berkeley Springs, West Virginia. She's a rising senior at the Milton Hershey School, and runs with Tina Thomas' Central PA Elite on the AAU circuit. Hogbin is also a volleyball prospect, who is looking into college opportunities in that area as well.


Milton Hershey athletics was on hiatus during the 2020-2021 school year because of COVID. And, with it affecting many student-athletes in their school, it was a weird time as sports is an outlet for a lot of kids in MHS. But discovering Hogbin during the spring period of AAU playing with two of my RPN prospects, Janay Rissmiller and Paige Sevrain on CPE, I wanted to offer her an opportunity to gain some exposure as she's now getting back into the swing of things, and being introduced to competitive basketball.


I caught up with the 2023 prospect in an interview on her junior campaign, life at Milton Hershey and being under Tina Thomas year round. One of my favorite interviews of the summer!

 

Molli Hogbin Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was in 8th grade."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I feel like as a player I am a fast learner. I haven’t been playing basketball for long, but I feel like my skill level is where it needs to be."


Attending the Milton Hershey School, everybody has a story. If you’re willing to share, why was MHS the best choice for you to grow as a person?

  • "Coming to MHS was the best decision for me because where I was at back home, it was in the middle of nowhere. It would have been hard for me to get seen by coaches, and have an opportunity to play basketball like I want to. It also allowed me to become more independent and grow in many ways."


Having a year without any sports at MHS due to COVID was a tough time. Getting back into the flow of things, how was your junior season?

  • "Not having a season due to COVID was rough because I hadn’t been playing the game for long. So, I had lost hope for getting looks from college coaches. Having the season off had put me behind and it definitely hurt. I didn’t have the chance to put in the work because of the MHS Covid rules, and I became really out of shape."


Being under Tina Thomas is a task that requires a lot. Not just the ring to her name, but being coachable and never taking a play off. You know she isn’t afraid to keep it real with you. But having Coach Thomas as a mentor, how’s the experience been?

  • "Having her by my side has been amazing. I knew when she first came to MHS that she was going to be a great fit for me, and I was going to do very well playing for her. She has pushed me more than anyone has in the past, and it has allowed me to become a much better player."


The Live Period is wrapping up and from your first AAU experience, how was it playing with CPE?

  • "I enjoyed the experience. I didn’t ever expect getting to have this opportunity, but being able to play for CPE has definitely paid off. I feel like I have grown tremendously in just the short amount of time and it's going to make an impact for the upcoming school season."


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • "I am looking for schools with smaller class sizes where I can talk 1-on-1 with my professors. I also want a diverse campus."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I don’t really have a set training schedule due to everything at MHS, and being busy with both basketball and volleyball. But during school ball we practice every day of the week except Sundays, and during AAU, we practiced during Tuesdays and Thursdays."


Which basketball player do you look up to the most?

  • "Alyssa Thomas"


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "Coach (Tina) Thomas. She has been here for me like family, and has been pushing me more than anyone has in the past. She knows I have potential."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I am looking forward to hopefully getting some good wins this upcoming season. We are going to have a decent team. and I think it is going to be a good year for us. We didn’t lose too many pieces last year, so we have a strong team that could hopefully make something happen."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this evening. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Don't EVER give up on yourself. Thank you!"


Media coverage on Molli Hogbin



Twitter @hogbin_molli


High School/AAU Coach Information

Tina Thomas - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page