top of page

The Sebastien Emenalo Interview (England)

Updated: Aug 27, 2023

Name: Sebastien Emenalo


Hometown: Surrey, England


Height: 6-4


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: ACS International School - Cobham


Graduation Class: 2025


Status: Uncommitted


Sebastien Emenalo is a 6-4 Shooting Guard from Surrey, England. He's currently a sophomore at ACS International School, and plays for the Thames Valley Cavaliers . Emenalo is a solid three level scorer, who I was recommended to by one of my 2024 prospects, Julian Fernandes. He's also the first American-British prospect I've had in the RPN as his mother is from Arizona. But, I caught up with the international prospect in an interview on the outlook of his game and current ongoing basketball season.

 

Seb Emenalo Interview

When did you first start playing basketball?

"I started playing back in 5th grade when I started watching basketball. I saw the 2017 finals, and loved it so much. After that I joined Surrey Rams, and from there I’ve been working."

Describe your game from the skill standpoint?

"My game is kind of simple. I’m a shooter but now I can jump, so it opens up more mid range and layup opportunities which just make the game a lot easier for me. I’ve developed a lot more creative finishes around the rim as well as more dunks."

How was life growing up in Surrey?

"I’ve grown up in Surrey, and played for the TV Cavaliers. Last year, I played for the Cavs U16 team, and had a good season. Had significant improvement than years before. I liked it here and I definitely developed a lot as a player. A lot of teammates push, and help me get better."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"I just try and work on getting stronger, quicker and work on my mobility. Along with basketball every day, it adds up over the years."

Who’s your favorite basketball player and why?

"My favourite player is LeBron (James), which seems kinda generic but I like him because he was the first player I ever watched love his game. He also stands for all the right things. I try to model my game after a lot of different players, but my favourite has gotta be LeBron."

Who would you say are your role models in life?

"My role models to me are my parents who teach me a lot off the court. Also, my coach, Ramose Modesto has taught me basically everything I know about the game."

The World Cup is on right now, who’s your pick to take it home this year?

"Well I wanted USA but I didn’t have too much hope *laughs*. So for me, I’d like to see Brazil get a win."

Season’s already jumping, but what are you looking forward to in your U18 season?

"I’m looking forward to learning new things from my teammates as they are more experienced, so they can teach me a lot. As a player, I want to just keep developing, playing as much as I can and being comfortable playing with tougher competition. As a team, we are all aiming to win the league and the cup."

Thank you Seb for taking the time to talk with me this morning. You were my last prospect of a very successful 2022 international class. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"All I can say is that if you put the work in consistently, the results will come. If you take it step by step, over time you will improve massively."


Sebastien Emenalo's Fall 2022 Showcase Highlights




Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page