top of page

Player Profile: Paige Sevrain (New Tripoli, PA)

Updated: Apr 20, 2022


Name: Paige Sevrain


Height: 6-1


Position: Power Forward


High School: Northwestern Lehigh (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Alyssa Thomas Elite - CPE


GPA: 3.7


Status: Uncommitted


Accomplishments: Colonial League - First-Team (2x), Colonial League Division Champions - Northwestern Lehigh (2x)


Paige Sevrain is a 6-1 Power Forward from New Tripoli, Pennsylvania. She’s currently a junior at Northwestern Lehigh High School and runs with Alyssa Thomas Elite on the AAU circuit. Sevrain averaged 15 points and 12 rebounds per game in her junior season throughout 21 games for the Tigers. The Lehigh Valley product is a unique prospect who has much upside in her game. And, while I can sit here and talk about the x’s and o’s, the most important factor I’ve seen in her game, confidence.


When Sevrain plays confidently, her game soars to new heights. The 6-1 Lehigh Valley product is a solid big who’s able to showcase putting her back to the basket, while being active on the glass. Sevrain’s game has skyrocketed over the past year, and has been a huge contributor for the Tigers. Sevrain was named to the Colonial League All-Conference team this past season, while leading the Tigers to a second straight Colonial League championship and postseason berth. She’s expected to have a big summer playing under Tina Thomas for Central PA Elite, and will look to put it together for her senior season at Northwestern Lehigh. But incase you don’t know who the young lady is, let me tell you about her. Let’s get to know Paige Sevrain!

 

Breakdown


Strengths

Can dominate the low post.

"When Sevrain is comfortable and confident within her game, she goes on crazy runs throughout games. Whether that's with her back to the basket or finding fire in the mid range area, Sevrain is a coach's dream. Very special player!"

Improved Outside Game

"While Sevrain has improved with taking over games, she's also gotten better with her range. Now starting to find confidence with her shooting, Sevrain is building on playing inside and out. Especially being a lefty, she needs to take FULL advantage of this."

Shot Blocking

"Sevrain will send your shot, point blank *laughs*. She's not the most aggressive shot blocker, but she's an excellent shot blocker on the glass. I can't wait to see who her next victims are this circuit!"

Solid Back-to-the-Basket Game

"One of the best traits of her game, Sevrain is a skilled low post scorer. She's able to back down opponents, use an arsenal of moves to shift defenders, or utilize her face up game to score with her back to the basket. And, her improvement to get in the weight room is starting to pay off as she's gotten a lot stronger since sophomore year."

Strong Rebounder

"Very active on the glass, Sevrain is a "Board Woman" who gets the best of rebounds. Averaging 12 rebounds per game is monster numbers foreal. But Sevrain isn't afraid to scrap in the paint, and will go to war with the trees."

Things to Improve On

Being more aggressive within scoring.

"Sevrain has come along within her game, but being more aggressive on the offensive end will take her a long way. Demanding the ball more and being in control will help benefit her game."

Continuing to appreciate the weight room.

"One of the most overlooked things in an athlete's journey is appreciating the weight room. Sevrain has took advantage of her strength and conditioning, and made a huge jump in her game. And, the proof has shown in the work as she's able to go through contact and battle for boards. This isn't a thing to work on, but more of a reminder to always stay loyal to getting stronger and being equipped."
 

Paige Sevrain Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing at a young age, because my two older sisters, Gabrielle and Sydney always had practice and AAU. But I didn’t start to get more serious about it until around second grade."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"I like to move around to see where I can score the best against the team, and how to get into the position. I like to play in the paint and midrange, but within the last year, it has evolved to being able to play around the perimeter. I definitely want to improve my game, and do more from the perimeter though."

How was life growing up in the Lehigh Valley?

"My life in the Lehigh valley has grown a lot. My school, Northwestern Lehigh, is in a rural area where I met a lot of people, acquaintances, and friends. Part of my family lives pretty close to my house, I so we hang out a lot and even more around holidays which I am grateful. My parents both try really hard for me to get exposed to life outside of the Lehigh Valley. We will visit other states, and see family living in Maryland, D.C, or Florida. Life here has given me exposure to many different things from involving myself in school clubs, discovering new hobbies, friends, AAU, and a first job experience working at chipotle."

How was your junior season?

"It was a great season. We got to repeat the league championship. No one expected us to win the league, and we weren’t even in the running for it. But we came together as a group, learned to play together, and grew more confident in each other as a team. Our coaches did a great job helping us too. Although, we did not make it far in the district playoffs, this is what we will be working on for next year."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"I need to keep improving my game. There are a lot things I can learn from in the paint and the perimeter, like how to read the defense better and moves and tricks for speed and beating someone. I workout 5 days a week, which includes practice with my AAU team, coaching from a trainer and lifting weights 3 times a week. Plus, watching some of the march madness games, I picked up on a couple things I could be doing to improve my game."

What are your plans for spring/summer?

"I am looking forward to the tournaments, like the regional and national ones. My family will be joining me along the way and I really want to enjoy it. I’m also looking forward to the traveling to new places."

Making the sacrifice to join Tina Thomas' team for Central PA Elite isn't easy. With the traveling, being coached at a high level and playing up a year last season being a new fish in the pond. Describe the move to CPE, your relationship with Coach Thomas and stepping into a new role for the 17s.

"My move to CPE was great because all the players and coach Thomas were so welcoming. I love my relationship with coach Thomas because she really pushes you to get better. She know what each person is capable of, and your game really improves by the end of the season. I also like to play for her because I know she thinks that there is always more that can be done. While not accepting 'no' or 'I can’t' for an answer. She also encourages the players to get outside of their comfort zone. Which helped me greatly with improving my perimeter game because she doesn’t have assigned positions where people have to play. I know if I played for some other AAU teams, I would not be allowed to leave the paint, where coach wants me to."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"Michaela Onyenwere is my favorite basketball player. I used to watch her when she played for UCLA and now while she plays for New York Liberty. I like her style of play and how she keeps her composure while also being excited throughout the game."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"I really look up to my older sisters because I have been pretty close with them, so they always are giving me advice about anything. I will always go to them when I need to say something or want to spend time with them by watching a movie. On zoom of course since they’re in college."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

"For my senior season in high school, I want to go out with a bang. I have been preparing for this and college for so long that I am quite excited for it, and I will keep putting in the work to get better."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Thank you for sending me this questionnaire, and giving me the time to fill it out and the write up!"


Paige Sevrain - Northwestern Lehigh - Class of 2023


HUDL Tape


Twitter @paigesev


High School Coach Information

Chris Deutsch - Email


AAU Coach Information

Tina Thomas - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith










Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page