top of page

Player Profile: Janay Rissmiller (York, Pennsylvania)

Updated: Mar 1

Name: Janay Rissmiller


Height: 5-7


Position: Point Guard


High School: York Suburban (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Central PA Elite


GPA: 3.9


Status: Uncommitted


Accomplishments: YAIAA Section 2 All-Conference First-Team


Janay Rissmiller is a 5-7 Point Guard from York, Pennsylvania. She's currently a sophomore at York Suburban High School and runs with Central PA Elite on the AAU circuit. Rissmiller was named to the YAIAA All-Conference team as a first-team member this past season. I discovered Rissmiller watching her sophomore tape from the scholastic season. Being a smooth lefty wasn't the only thing that stood out to me, but with how she got her teammates involved and having a chip on her shoulder. Rissmiller most recently made the move to Tina Thomas' crew at Central PA Elite, and is looking forward to a big summer playing around the country. But in the meantime, let's get to know more about the York County prospect!

 

Breakdown


Strengths

Change of Direction

"While Rissmiller is still trying to get right (see what I did there) with both hands, the York product moves well laterally on the court. Changing directions in her square up game to being explosive throughout dribbles, it's real unique to see the athleticism on display."

Dead Accurate Sharpshooter

"When playing with confidence and being set up properly on the offensive end, Rissmiller can shoot it from deep. Off ball or with the rock in her possession, Rissmiller is a smooth shooter who can get hot at moments. Being a lefty, I guess there are some advantages with basketball."

Makes the game simple with right reads.

"Having close to a 4.0 in school, there isn't much for me to say *laughs*. The girl is smart on the court. Within her decision making to always looking to play the right way, Rissmiller is starting to under the nature of being a point guard at a competitive level."

Natural Born Playmaker

"My three favorite words, Rissmiller is arguably turning into a 'Point Goddess'. Wizard like passing, putting the handle on display and KNOWING where four of her teammates are at all the time, Rissmiller's upside as a guard is starting to blow through the roof."

Solid Defender

"Rissmiller is more about offense than anything, but her defense is as solid as they come. I've noticed more off the ball that Rissmiller can be a ballhawk. Turning deflections into fast break layups, Rissmiller thrives on contributing to team defense and making an impact."

Things to Improve On

Being tougher on the defensive end.

"If you know me, you know that I'm a reasonable when analyzing basketball. So here we go. Rissmiller needs to get mean on the defensive end. She's an excellent off the ball defender, but playing tough competition now, she needs to act like someone stole her lunch money. Pushing herself to become a two-way player is only going to get her better. I have this much confidence in Rissmiller, and I believe that she will make further changes!"

Confidence

"Stepping into a bigger role her sophomore season, Rissmiller had to figure out, am I going to sink or swim? But while the season is over and it's a different kind of intensity at CPE, Rissmiller will need to continue on thriving with confidence."

Getting stronger

"One of the biggest improvements need to be made, well, it has to happen. When facing scrappy defenders, Rissmiller will need to start getting even stronger with the ball. Most importantly, she needs to attack her right hand more and work on being efficient with both."
 

Janay Rissmiller Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball when I was in 4th grade. I wasn’t very good if we’re being honest."

Editor: Beyond dramatic, my god *laughs*.


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"I would say I’m a playmaker. I can see the floor really well. I think I’m a strong driver to the basket, and know how to control my body. I have a good hesi, and a nasty spin move. I also know how to control the tempo of the game, and am good under pressure situations."

How was your sophomore campaign?

"All I need to say is that the hard work definitely paid off. Our leading scorer unfortunately suffered an ACL and meniscus tear in the beginning of the season meaning, I had to step up. My coach gave me a goal of scoring at least 15 points per game while guarding the other team's best player. The job was just about almost always done. We made it to the postseason, but unfortunately lost in the first round of districts. However, my performance earned me being named a first-team all star in the county division."

Being named to YAIAA All-Conference this past season, how does it feel knowing that your hard work has been on notice?

"It definitely feels very rewarding, but also motivating. I would say motivating in a way that makes me want to work even harder for next season to earn a even bigger title."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"Currently I play AAU basketball with CPE and have practices two days a week. I have three other basketball workouts throughout the week. Two are individual, and the other one is a compete session with other girls and guys. I also go to the gym twice a week to workout and work on anything new I learned in my 1-on-1 workouts."

What are your plans for spring/summer?

"This summer I’ll be playing for the Alyssa Thomas Nike Team at CPE. We will be in DC, Atlantic City, East Stroudsburg, at Spooky Nook, Louisville, Chicago, and back in Lancaster for our last two tournaments."

Making the switch to Central PA Elite this circuit, what made you decide to join Tina Thomas' crew and being coached by somebody with her success?

"Well I received a text from my high school coach, Jessica Weaver about her team. I learned that one of the former players dad had recommended me to Coach Tina (Thomas), and her team had a spot open on her roster. I did have other options, but I thought this team would give me the best opportunity to play with girls on my level. Coach Tina is very good at her job, and knows what she’s doing. Being coached by someone like her definitely sets you up for success, especially if you plan to play in college."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"I’ve always looked up to Skylar Diggins. I went to my first WNBA game to watch her play, and I absolutely loved the way she played. Plus she’s left handed like me so she was always a personal favorite for me. She also shows her passion on the court which made her so fun to watch. I mean it’s fun to play something you love and live for."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"I really look up to my high basketball coach. She’s fierce and knows what she’s doing. One of the best coaches I’ve had in my lifetime. Her words of wisdom are ones I’ll never forget, and she always pushes me to be a better version of myself which I will forever be thankful for. I have also always looked up to Kiyanna Dowling. She was the former point guard for Suburban and she's currently playing at Palm Beach Atlantic. She was always so fun to watch when I was younger and inspired me to be like her when I was eventually in high school."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

"I’m looking forward to going to the Giant Center. At least that’s the goal. I can’t wait to get the job done next year. Fighting like every game is your last, and getting the job done on the court."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Your work is never done."

Media Coverage on Janay Rissmiller




Twitter @janay_marie4


High School Coach Information

Jessica Weaver - Email


AAU Coach Information

Tina Thomas - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page