top of page

The Malak Elghobashy Interview (Egypt)

Updated: Jul 3, 2023

Name: Malak Elgohbashy


Height: 5-7


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: Thomas L. Kennedy (T.L Kennedy, Mississauga)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Extra Step


GPA: 4.0


Status: Uncommitted


Malak Elghobashy is a 5-7 Shooting Guard from Cairo, Egypt. Elghobashy and her family moved to Mississauga, Ontario when she was 11 years old. She's currently a junior at Thomas L. Kennedy Secondary School, and runs with the Mississauga Monarchs on Canada's JUEL Prep circuit and Extra Step in AAU. Elghobashy is the first Egyptian player that I've worked with, as I was very honored to cross paths with her.


The most decorated mind that I've ever worked with, Elghobashy is a unique person who is much different from the other prospects that I've worked with. Holding a strong 4.0 in school and already has a LinkedIn account set up, Elghobashy is a stellar student in the classroom who loves to learn about all aspects of life. She and I talked about different things between our two countries and other world issues. But I thought it was fascinating how Elghobashy was able to keep up and understand what is currently going on, than what a usual 17-year-old wouldn't think about.


But one of the most heartfelt things that I've learned about Elghobashy throughout the process is that she's followed my work for months. Stemming from when I worked with rising Canadian prospect, Marina Apostolou, Elghobashy has been watching my work and told me she always wanted to be apart of it. And, like the saying "Good things happen to those who wait", with some kids dropping out last minute the opportunity opened up for Elghobashy and I reached out to her. Elghobashy's story is fascinating as she's breaking barriers inside of high school basketball as an Egyptian-Canadian girls basketball player. It's rare you see a North African basketball player as soccer/fútbol is popular amongst natives, but Elghobashy is looking to prove others different through her journey. I caught up with the international prospect on her upbringing.


Hands down the best interview I've ever conducted, check it out below!

 

Malak Elghobashy Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball in grade 6 at 11 years old when I first immigrated to Canada with my family. In the midst of the chaos and discrimination my family and I faced as first-generation immigrants, basketball was the only stable thing in my life that allowed me to grow as an individual, and meet mentors who continue to support me to this day."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I'm an all-around player who thrives on shooting and hustling on defense. My main strengths include catch and shoot threes, and breaking down the defense using my handles. By using my agility and speed, I am able to hustle for loose balls and beat my defender off the dribble."


Being an Egyptian-Canadian basketball player, it’s very rare to keep it in perspective. You’re on the path and breaking barriers with basketball not being very popular amongst North Africans. What does it mean to you being one of few Egyptian basketball players competing and having that chip on your shoulder?

  • "As an Egyptian-Canadian basketball player, I find the challenge of paving a path for myself in the basketball field an exciting challenge and one that contains many hardships. Egypt is known for soccer, especially being an African country. However, there aren't many opportunities for women to play the sport as it is known to be a 'masculine' sport, considering the gender roles in society. As a kid, I've always enjoyed running and being physically active, but the opportunities for women in sports weren't plentiful and were costly at times. I started to develop an interest in the game a year prior to immigrating to Canada by watching pre-recorded game highlights on YouTube. During my first year, I was introduced to the game in an after-school program every Friday, and continued to improve my game with the help of amazing teachers and mentors. As time progressed and I began to see the impact basketball has had on my personality and dealing with pressures, I started to take it more seriously in grade 9. However, because I am the only one in my family who takes sports seriously, it can be difficult as I embark on a journey that wasn't explored by someone before me. Although, it's a challenging process as an Egyptian-Canadian basketball player, reminding myself of the excitement I felt the first time my family and I went to Walmart to buy a basketball is what inspires me to keep pushing through these hardships."


How was your junior season coming back from Canada’s lockdown?

  • "Gyms were closed and basketball nets were taken down in most parks. So, I focused on form shooting at home, ball-handling outdoors, training using resistance bands, an agility ladder, and following home workouts. As restrictions on parks were lifted in June 2020, I was able to return to training outdoors and working on my game, specifically my shot. This helped me stay ready for this season as I'm able to notice that my shooting is contributing to the team's success. As a result of the restrictions, TL Kennedy Secondary School hasn't had a basketball team since my freshman year. But I currently play in the JUEL league with the Mississauga Monarchs. Being around players who have been around the game longer. Being coached by highly experienced coaches has helped me improve my basketball IQ and court awareness, which is something I wanted to work on this season."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I train about six days a week, once to twice a day. I focus for all 6 days on shooting and skills training in the mornings before school. After school, I go to the gym to work on strength training and I've recently started lifting weights 3-4 days a week to help with my game. Additionally, I train with Coach Troy of of High Impact Hoops once a week to work on my skills."


Being a 4.0 student, you have high expectations off the court for yourself. In your own words, what does being a “Student-Athlete” mean to you?

  • "Being a Student-Athlete is something that requires a lot of consistency, dedication, and patience. I think that being able to balance academics and athletics teaches us to balance other responsibilities in life, and allows us to understand what a 'multi-dimensional' person should look like. Due to continuously striving for success on the court and in the classroom, I was able to learn how to organize my time efficiently. Especially on days when I would have to go to practice, but have a big test coming up. Having to be adaptable and find ways to stay consistent, and be the best as a student and an athlete is really what defines the term 'Student-Athlete' for me. Other aspects like ensuring that you are involved in the community play a huge role in being a Student-Athlete. It teaches you transferable skills like communication, collaboration, and listening which are very important on the court and as a student."


Also, I found out that you’re very involved in extracurriculars outside of the sport. Name a few of the programs you’re involved in at school, and in the outside world and what they mean to you.

  • "I'm currently a part of Starts With One Canada as an E-Learning tutor and executive team member. The E-Learning program at Starts With One Canada strives to improve the quality and access to education for Canadian youth and their families by providing free tutoring services. As a first-generation immigrant, I have noticed the disparity in free education services and could have benefited from extra help with homework and mentorship during my first year. As a result, I want to do my best by helping out marginalized communities so the children that I tutor try to discover success in their own way. Last summer, I was also able to co-found Doors To Success, a podcast aimed at helping immigrant students integrate into Canada by unlocking multiple doors including education and extracurricular involvement. Last summer, my fellow co-founder and I were able to host a live stream on Instagram for newcomers to Canada to answer questions about the Education system in Canada, and the different ways immigrants can get accustomed to life in Canada. As an immigrant, being able to start an organization with the goal of giving back to newcomers has been an achievement that I am most proud of, and will continue to use to inspire other non-profit work and community involvement. School clubs that I am involved in include Yearbook Club, Student News Association, Announcements Team, as well as Drama Club. These are mainly rooted in my deep interest in journalism and storytelling.


What are your plans for this summer?

  • "This summer I'll be playing with Extra Step's U17 team and we will be playing in the following tournaments. TG for life in the Greater Toronto Area from June 23 to 26, Pink City from June 29 to July 3, and 'Last 1 Standing' from August 19 to 21. In terms of other commitments, I'm also going to be working as a Camp Counselor during the weekdays, and continue to work on my game by following my training schedule."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Devin Booker because he is someone who not only adapted to the roles he was placed in, but challenged himself to exceed the limits others placed on him. He was known for being mainly a knockdown shooter coming off the bench during his Kentucky days. When he was drafted, he took on a bigger role on the Suns and many pointed out his 'below average' defense at the time. Over the years, he worked on that weakness and has drastically improved as a defender."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to my older brother and parents because they exemplify what it means to work hard and make sacrifices. My parents gave up opportunities back home to immigrate to Canada for our future. By taking this huge leap of faith, they believed in the future and used their hard work as a light in a dark tunnel full of discrimination in the workplace. My older brother continues to be a good role model, and example of hard work and consistent dedication. When he falls short of his goals, he continues to find other ways to achieve them and succeeds in one way or another."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "For my senior season, I am hoping to continue contributing to my team's success and stepping up as a leader alongside my teammates. I want to be the best leader I can be while enjoying the process of trying to win a championship. In terms of personal goals, I hope to be able to show my improvement as a defender and continue growing as a guard."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Keep applying pressure and being patient while placing yourself in uncomfortable situations. Opportunities will come, but it's important to recognize that you have to strive for them and use the barriers that you face to push through. You might start the journey with everyone ahead of you, but what matters is the end result, not how long it takes for you to get there."


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page