top of page

The Vianna Kanyamiheto-Watson Interview (Mechanicsburg, PA)

Updated: Apr 20, 2022


Name: Vianna Kanyamiheto-Watson


Height: 5-8


Position: Point Guard


High School: Westtown (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Exodus Basketball EYBL


GPA: 4.0


Status: Uncommitted


Vianna Kanyamiheto-Watson is a 5-8 Point Guard from Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania. She's currently a freshman at the Westtown School, 30 miles west of Philadelphia, and runs with New York City's EXODUS on Nike's EYBL circuit. To describe in one word on the type of person K-Watson is, would be the word of change. From making the decision on moving away from home as an eight-grader to playing her AAU ball in the competitive environment of New York City, she was forced to grow up at a young age as it opened her vision on the game of basketball. K-Watson spent time on Westtown's varsity this past season as a freshman. Although, she was playing behind prospective recruits in Grace Sundback, Olivia Wiggins and Zahra King, K-Watson used her first year as a teaching moment, and gained knowledge from coach Fran Burbidge and teammates. I invited K-Watson to the RPN so she's able to tell her story and a little bit about herself. She's a physical guard who's still finding her footing within prep basketball, but she's come along at a quick pace. I believe that K-Watson can be a solid basketball player as long as she stays dialed in and trusts her process. But enough of me typing. Let's get to meet Vianna Kanyamiheto-Watson!

 

Vianna Kanyamiheto-Watson Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I first started playing basketball at age 4. My mom taught me because she played in high school. My love for the sport runs in my family; my mom’s father played, my uncle plays, and my twin brother, Sincere plays."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I'd describe myself as a strong guard that can play anywhere from a 1 to a 3. I can move with the ball, but I can also move without it. I'm good at reading my teammates' skills and setting them up for successful shots and plays. I can attack and finish at the rim, but I struggle against bigger girls, so I'll have to work on my strength over the summer. I can shoot from any distance, whether it's midrange or threes. I'm a decent defender and a quick runner. I hustle on both defense and offense. Overall, I want to improve in every element of the game."


How was life growing up in Mechanicsburg?

  • "Growing up in Mechanicsburg had its share of highs and lows. Mechanicsburg, like any other town, had its share of drama, but I preferred to stay out of it and observe from afar. I would give my friends advice when they would come to me asking, and still do from time to time. I just always knew that any conflict that anyone would want with me was pointless in the long run because I had dreams to focus on. This being said, I’m still very social. I can’t think back to a time far enough where I didn’t have at least 1 friend to turn to, wherever I happened to be. I like talking to and socializing with people, but I don’t let what those people think of me, stop me from getting off track of my goals."


Making the decision to leave your hometown isn’t the easiest choice. Why did you decide to enroll at the Westtown School for your high school career?

  • "As I mentioned before while living in Mechanicsburg, I made some great friends as well as some really good basketball connections. But if I’m being honest, I never really saw me accomplishing what I wanted by staying in Mechanicsburg. Staying there would only have been able to take me so far, and I needed resources that I wouldn’t have been able to get by staying here. I’m so thankful for everyone in Mechanicsburg who believes in, and continues to cheer me on as I go through my athletic journey and my high school career. But I also try to remind myself that stopping myself from making a decision beneficial to my end goals to try and keep other people happy, isn’t going to help me in the long run. I think that was the push I needed to feel comfortable leaving. There were also many other benefits that Westtown, and boarding school could give me the Mechanicsburg couldn’t."


How was your freshman season playing up on varsity?

  • "If I had to choose one word to describe this season, it would be beneficial. My main focus this season was to gain as much as I could, considering I was the only freshman on varsity. I wanted to get used to playing at a higher level, and also work on bettering my previous skills. I wanted to take my game a step further this season from last year so that I could be ready for AAU this summer. Then my goal for this summer is to get even better so that I’m ready to step into my role for school next season. Since I am one of the 5 players returning from our 13 girl roster."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I work out at least 3 times a week, and I also have practice on weekends. I try to leave a couple of days throughout the week just for me to relax and rest."


What are your plans for spring/summer?

  • "I’m going to be playing 15u with Exodus on the EYBL circuit this upcoming spring and summer. Most of our tournaments are out of state, and we will be traveling pretty far this season."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I would say I look up to Sabrina Ionescu the most!"


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I would say that I look up to most of my friends because I like surrounding myself with people that I either look up to, or people the push me to be better versions of myself. I also looked up to the upperclassmen on my team this year. I valued what they taught me and will continue to in the future."


If you could challenge anybody from your friend groups to a one-on-one, who would you choose and what would be the outcome?

  • "If I could choose any one of my friends to a 1v1, I’d have to go with Olivia Jones. The only reason I’m not choosing Zahra is that we 1v1 like every other day, and I’ve given her the work plenty of times already."


Editor: Uhn uhn no she didn't *snaps fingers* *laughs*


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • "In my sophomore season, I’m looking forward to showcasing my talent, and being a more avid member of the team by playing a more important role than I did last year. I can’t wait to see what next year has in store for me."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "One thing that I always remind myself of is that once you start comparing your progress to somebody else’s, you are never going to be satisfied. Everyone’s journey is different. Everyone peaks and falls at different points along the way. Once you realize that and believe in yourself, then nothing can stop you from achieving your goals."



High School Coach Information

Fran Burbidge - Email


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page