top of page

Rising Star: Olivia Jones (Lemoyne, PA)

Updated: Nov 14, 2022


Name: Olivia Jones


Height: 5-10


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: Cedar Cliff (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Philadelphia Belles (2021, 2022), Philly RISE EYBL (2023)


GPA: 4.0


Offers: Delaware, Monmouth and St Joseph‘s.


Status: Uncommitted


Expectations heading into freshman year: "My expectation this season is to be a great teammate and to help the team reach its fullest potential. I am also looking forward to joining this group of talented girls and becoming one of the leaders on the team."


Olivia "O-Rose" Jones is a 5-10 Combo Guard from Lemoyne, Pennsylvania. She's a rising freshman at Cedar Cliff High School and runs with the prestigious Philadelphia Belles ball club out of Southeastern Pennsylvania. Occasionally, plays with Mid Penn Motion whenever she's local. Jones is regarded as the top rising freshman in the Mid-Penn going into the upcoming season from early buzz and accomplishments. She's a high IQ, 3-and-D prospect with a smooth shot, strong inside play and always looks to make the right decision. Playing three grades up on the AAU circuit, she's well prepared for the high school game as she's well beyond her years. Jones will be joining a well rounded Colts program who are looking to be very competitive inside of a tough Mid-Penn Keystone Division. Let's get to know more about O-Rose Jones!

 

Breakdown:


Strengths

Active hands in the passing lanes.

  • "Being 5-10, Jones uses her frame and length to step into passing lanes for the steal and defend on-the-ball to strip the ball handler."


Court Vision

  • "Solid passer always looks to make the right play finding the open teammate."


Decent Shot Blocker

  • "Doesn't really intimidate on defense as much, but I like to call her a finesser as she always finds a way to time it up and make a highlight block throughout games."


Efficient Rebounder

  • "Strong rebounder for her age. Her length and tenacity inside helps her get the best of rebounds in the paint."


Guards all five positions on defense.

  • "It comes with being a versatile inside-out player"


High IQ Player

  • "Once again, always makes the right play. The 4.0 comes in handy."


Smooth Shooter

  • "Shows flashes of being a threat from the outside."


Strong slasher at the rim.

  • "Absorbs contact and penetrates the gap to score at will when attacking the rim. Isn't afraid to get physical."


Versatile Player

  • "Does many things on the court. A positionless prospect who can fit in anywhere on the court."


Things to improve on

Being more aggressive

  • "Jones is a very unselfish person for her talent as sometimes she tends to pass up shots. You usually see young basketball players going wild and jacking up shots, but I feel this is a good type of different for Jones. This is something that can be corrected in a short matter of time and shouldn't be much of a problem as long as she has awareness and makes the right reads on the court."


Having a high motor on the court

  • "Hearing it from Jones herself and watching a game over the summer, this is something that she needs to work on. Sometimes her energy levels are up and down throughout games and this isn't a concern, as of right now, but she will need to fix this going into the season. College coaches look for energy when recruiting and if Jones wants to be a "Top Dog", that is going to have to change."


Stamina

  • "Coming off an ankle injury she faced some time ago, Jones is still getting back in shape and acclimated to the court. Facing injuries before on the field as an athlete, it isn't easy going back sometimes as you have to re-work everything back in with your movements and getting back up to speed. This shouldn't be a problem for her at all as all athletes go through this."


Below is my interview with Olivia Jones.

 

OLIVIA JONES Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I first started playing basketball when I was 6 years old in Kindergarten but I have been around basketball since I was born."


Describe your game.

  • "My position can be uniquely described as a power combo guard. My style of play is like a power forward but I have the skillset of a point guard. With this style I am able to play positions 1 through 5 and play where my team needs me at any given time."


Most already know, but to the ones who don't where will you be attending high school?

  • "I will be attending Cedar Cliff High School. Like most others, COVID interrupted my 8th grade season. I am fortunate enough to have played Varsity CYO since the 5th grade to help prepare me for the next level of basketball."


How has the experience been touring with the Philadelphia Belles this summer?

  • "Being able to compete at the U17 level and earning a starting spot on the U17 Philly Belles, has provided me with a platform to help refine my skills during high level competition such as Boo Williams, USJN, and Nike TOC. The live period was my first experience playing in front of multiple college coaches from D1, D2 and D3. It was an honor to be named as an All Star in the recent D.C. Nationals among a talented pool of 2022 and 2023 players."


What does your typical training schedule look like?

  • "My typical training schedule as of right now consists of weight training, plyometrics, ladder drills, hill runs, biking, skill work, and putting up at-least 500 shots everyday. My parents have been my primary skills trainers along with Coach Cicak, but I have done several sessions and trained with the following: Jon Breeden, Nashon Walker from A2D, Corey Dickerson from Signal 5, Shawn Lew from H2G and Unleashed Potential. During COVID, I also developed my own program and have invited other players to join my workout starting since last summer and have continued that."


What are some of your favorite hobbies to do off the court?

  • "My favorite hobbies outside of basketball are playing soccer, reading, and spending time with family and friends. I also enjoy going to my brothers football, basketball, and baseball games to support him just as he does for me."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "To become a better player, I watch game film with my dad to determine the areas I am in most need of improvement. I also watch women’s basketball on T.V. to see the difference in the two styles and to also see what is required to play at the next level."


Being regarded as the top freshman in the Central Pennsylvania area coming into the season, how have you been handling your situation and staying poised?

  • "My parents are the ones who keep me grounded when it comes to listening to the outside noise about my game. They remind me that the work has to be done in order to be the best possible player I can be. I approach each day being thankful for the gifts God has given me and I remain humble as the scripture reminds me, 'In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your path.'"


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "The athlete I look up to most is Maya Moore. I look up to her because I admire how she remained humble throughout her entire career. I also like Maya because of what she did and stood for outside of basketball in the pursuit of justice for Jonathan Irons."


Who is your biggest role model?

  • "I have a few role models who have helped guide me this far in my life, but my biggest role model is my mom. She has guided me from the beginning, setting the example of what excellence looks like not just in basketball but in life as well."


What are your expectations heading your freshman season?

  • "My goals are to continue to exceed in every aspect of my academic and athletic abilities in my first year of high school. I am looking forward to emerging as a leader both on and off the court at CCHS."


Do you have any words of encouragement, or motivation for people?

  • "It’s important to have dreams and aspirations, but hard work, faith and passion are required to succeed."


Olivia Jones - Cedar Cliff High School '25


Olivia Jones' highlights vs. York Thunder (Belles)


Olivia Jones' highlights vs. Shenanigans (Belles)


Olivia Jones' Highlights at USJN Big East Showcase



High School Coach Information

Scott Weyant - Email


AAU Coach Information

Andrea Peterson - Email


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page