top of page

The Emily Zhang Interview (Canada)

Updated: Jul 3, 2023

Name: Emily Zhang


Hometown: Vancouver, British Columbia


Height: 5-6


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: Sir Winston Churchill (BC)


Graduation Class: 2023


Status: Uncommitted


Emily Zhang is a 5-6 Combo Guard from Vancouver, British Columbia. She's currently a senior at Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School. Zhang is my last class of 2023 prospect, and the first Chinese basketball player to join the RPN as I was recommended to her by RPN prospect, fellow sharpshooter and teammate, Amaya Hrbinic. Zhang is averaging 16 points per game in her senior season with the Bulldogs. I caught up with the Chinese prospect in an interview on life growing up in Vancouver, her junior season and the outlook on the last chapter.

 

Emily Zhang Interview

When did you first start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball in elementary school, where it was actually one of my least favorite sports. My friend convinced me to continue playing in high school. After playing the high school season in grade 8 I joined my club, Split Second Cobras and have been playing since."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"I'm always looking for opportunities to bring the whole team up. Whether it's making the right pass, pushing the ball hard in transition, or taking a shot myself. I'm a strong three point shooter and like to create using ball screens. I play hard and smart on defense, always communicating with teammates."

How was life growing up in Vancouver?

"I love Vancouver. My appreciation for the beauty of my city has only grown as I’ve gotten older. We really do have it all here. The mountains, ocean, forests, urban areas, you name it. Beyond the physical aspects of the city, the diversity of the communities here has made Vancouver a welcoming place to live not just for me, but especially for my parents as first generation Canadians. I’m proud of my Chinese heritage, and incredibly grateful to live in city I’ve been able to thrive in."

How was your junior year?

"My junior year was huge in terms of experience, and also passion. Our team made program history for our school, and it was such a fun team to be a part of. We had the chance to play the best teams in the province, and each of those games were learning opportunities for me and I’m glad I had them. There were ups-and-downs throughout the season, but I can confidently say that at the end of it, my biggest takeaway was re-discovering my love for the game and fueling my desire to continue improving."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"I’ve done my best to immerse myself in the sport since I discovered how much I enjoy it. I train at school, with my club, and find time to work in extra sessions with the Vancouver Basketball Academy. I have also been in strength training for over a year now at the Richmond Olympic Oval. I watch film when I can, which has helped me grow my basketball IQ. Alongside helping coach a couple younger girls teams. Maybe most importantly, I always make sure to get enough sleep every night!"

Who's your favorite basketball player and why?

"My favorite basketball player is actually two players, Kayleigh and Kaylynne Truong, who are at Gonzaga right now. I love to watch them play. They’re both great shooters, playmakers, and their joy on the court is obvious. I was lucky enough to meet them over the summer, which was a really meaningful experience for me. Their success reminds me that anything is possible, and I’m incredibly grateful to have role models like them in the basketball world. Especially as they understand some of the unique challenges that face Asian women in sports."

Who do you look up to as a role models?

"I can’t pick out any one person as my role model, but I have meaningful relationships with many of the adults in my life that I feel have so much value. This includes my teachers both past and present, coaches, mentors, and more. They show me every day what it means to live your life with passion and to bring others up."

As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

"For me, academics are incredibly important and attending a school with strong academic programs is a big factor. In terms of a team, I really value communication with both teammates and coaches, so being able to build strong relationships is a factor. Overall, I’m looking for somewhere I can continue to learn and develop as a person and a player, with a strong support system and community around me."

The season has officially started, but what are you looking forward to in the last chapter?

"I think it’s going to be a little bit of a bittersweet feeling, knowing that there will be so many 'last' milestones like senior night. I also know us seniors especially are ready to go out and play. We’ve all worked really hard together, and I’m excited to get to have fun and share the floor with my friends. The goal is to make it to provincials again, but the road is long and we’re taking it one step at a time. Personally, I can’t wait to show who I am and what I can do."

Thank you Emily for taking the time to talk with me this afternoon. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Thank you too Tyreese! I’m excited to see what the future holds in store."



Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page