top of page

The Julian Fernandes Interview (England)

Updated: Sep 5, 2022


Name: Julian Fernandes


Hometown: Wonersh, England


Height: 6-5


Position: Shooting Guard/Small Forward


High School: Charnwood College


Graduation Class: 2024


Status: Uncommitted


Julian Fernandes is a 6-5 Wing from Wonersh, England. He's a junior transfer at Charnwood College who will be playing for the Riders basketball program. Fernandes most recently spent time at St Peter’s Catholic School where he played for the Reading Rockets, and averaged 15 points, 8 rebounds, and 4 assists per game as a sophomore. I first discovered Fernandes through a recruit search in mid May, after my spring semester of college.


I was up late, but my mind was racing as I was searching for overseas talent and I had so much adrenaline going *laughs*. But, I came across Fernandes' tape and was impressed with how fundamentally sounded the young man is that I took my chances. And, it was a great move inviting Fernandes as he's a great kid who's had the utmost mannerisms towards me. But, I caught up with the British-Indian prospect on his sophomore campaign, summer basketball training and dream of playing in America.

 

Julian Fernandes Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I was introduced to basketball in the summer of 2016, so when I was 11."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I am a guard and wing player, who can shoot the ball efficiently and get to the rim when needed. On defense, my long frame allows me to interfere with my opponent to contest and block their shots. I also do a good job at reaching and getting into passing lanes."

How was your U16 season last year?

  • "Unfortunately, my freshman season was interrupted by COVID-19. However, our club director was able to organize about 17 games over the summer for us to compete in. We were able to still play some of the best teams in the south of England. Over these games, I averaged around 15 points, 8 rebounds, and 4 assists per game. We were a very young group. All first years competing against very good competition, which helped us gain great experience."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Over this summer and off-season, it has been one of my main focuses to get my body ready for the jump to academy basketball. I have been working with Duncan Ogilive, founder of DoTraining, who works closely with the London Lions and other professional athletes. Not only have I been able to get stronger, jump higher, etc, but the insight from the elite athletes in that gym is invaluable. Also, I have had the pleasure of being able to train alongside the Islington Panthers under Will Afukko, and the Southwark Legends under Coach Roti. Furthermore throughout last season, I attended multiple of Coach Isaac Omirin's camps as well as private training sessions with him."

Throughout our process, you told me it would be a dream to play in the United States. If an opportunity would be presented to you, what would that mean to you and your family?

  • "I would love to play in America, but I would also want to make sure it is the right fit, and not just jump on the idea of getting any scholarship. Academics come first, so the school would have to be good academically. The environment and social scene is important,but it is easier to work around that. Nevertheless, if I got a scholarship, I would work hard to maintain my place in the athletic and academic scene. It would be an amazing opportunity!"

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "There are a few athletes I admire and look up to, but the most notable would have to be LeBron James and Ja Morant. LeBron inspired me when I first started playing, and his dominance is amazing to watch. I supported Ja since his sophomore year at Murray State, and loved his energy and style of play. He was the underdog in his draft class, overshadowed by Zion, so it was amazing to watch him become the all-star he is today as well as study his game."

Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "My parents have helped guide me to where I am today. My dad has been able to get me opportunities I could not have dreamed of so I am really grateful."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to next season?

  • "Next year, I am attending Charnwood College for their basketball academy program. I am really looking forward to joining the team up there as it is a new start. I will work even harder to get to where I want to be."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "The main thing I would say is trust the process. As long as you put the work in you will end up where you want. It can be hard to believe in it especially as a UK player where the prospect of playing overseas is often very small, but if you work for it, you will get it."


Julian Fernandes - Charnwood College '24 | Shot by @riders.fix


Julian Fernandes - Sophomore Season Highlights (2021-2022)




Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page