top of page

The Robbie Wild Interview (England)

Updated: Sep 5, 2022


Name: Robbie Wild


Hometown: Manchester, England


Height: 6-1


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: Manchester College


Graduation Class: 2024


Status: Uncommitted


Robbie Wild is a 6-1 Combo Guard from Manchester, England. He's currently a junior at Manchester College, and plays for the Manchester Magic U18 team. Wild is one of the premier guards in Northern England, who was a big help in Manchester Magic's U16 national championship season.


I first discovered Wild back in February. I was putting touches on his teammate's project and RPN prospect, Tyler Dawson and Wild gave me a follow in the process. But really seeing the young man perform in Manchester's national championship against the London Legends, I had to go pick the Manchester native up for work. His basketball IQ is through the roof, whether it's shot selection or making the right play in a timely manner. And, adding on his shooting touch from three point land, his game is fundamentally sounded and little dude plays his heart out. He's a kid who's high on my watchlist, and can't wait to see how his game matures throughout the rest of his career. But I caught up with the British guard on his national championship season, relationship with brother Greg and preparation for the U18 season.

 

Robbie Wild Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball properly in 2017.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I feel I’m a great shooter, high IQ guard, and a good ball handler.”


How was your U16 season for the Manchester Magic?

  • “My U16 season for the Magic was really good. We played in 2 leagues u16 and u18, allowing us to be challenged physically so when we came up against better teams who were more physical we were ready. I think I improved a lot over the whole year. At the start of the year, I was mainly just a shooter, but now I can do a lot more than just shoot. Our team this season was really good. We went on to win the whole league which made us become National Champions. The coaches this year have been amazing. We went into Final Fours really organised so whatever happened, we had solutions for it and I think that really helped us win. Not just at Final Fours, but during the whole season.”


The Manchester Magic Academy is known for its player development and competitive nature. Describe your experience of playing for a well ran program and being surrounded by like minded hoopers.

  • “Playing for Magic is honestly amazing, everybody comes into practice ready to compete which allows players to improve. And, if it wasn’t for everyone doing that, I don’t think I’d be as good as I am now.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “Me and my brother Greg (Wild) work out together everyday, both on the floor and in the gym. I’m trying to put on some muscle, which would allow me to become a more physical player.”


Throughout our process, you told me it would be a dream to play in the United States. If an opportunity would be presented to you, what would that mean to you and your family?

  • “It would honestly mean a lot. I think it would be a great experience, and it would allow my name to get spread in the States.”


Which basketball player do you look up to the most?

  • “Ja Morant”


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • “I would just say my brother Greg. He works really hard and is always motivating me to get better. As soon as I started playing basketball, he was always giving me tips and trying to help me improve as a player.”


Let’s say college is in your plan. Now being at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, in the US, what would you ideally look for in a college?

  • “I don’t really mind how far away it is from home. I would prefer it if the school wasn’t in the middle of no where. But would like a big school, where there’s more to do.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your first U18 season?

  • “I’m looking forward to playing with the guys I used to play with at a younger age.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Keep working hard. People are going to try to bring you down but just keep pushing through and prove them wrong.”


Robbie Wild - Manchester Magic '24 | Shot by @hccaptures


Robbie Wild - Sophomore Season Snippet (2021-2022)


Game Film - Manchester Magic vs London Legends (Wild wearing #8 in red)






Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page