top of page

The Tyler Dawson Interview (England)


Name: Tyler Dawson


Height: 6-7


Position: Power Forward


High School: Manchester Magic Academy (Manchester, England)


Graduation Class: 2025


Status: Uncommitted


Tyler Dawson is a 6-7 Power Forward from Manchester, England. He's currently at the Manchester Magic Academy playing for the Manchester Magic in the Elite Academy Basketball League (EABL). Dawson plays for the Magic's U18 team. I discovered the young man through his teammates, Enoch Wangoy and Matthew Goodwin, a couple of British hoopers that I will also be working with in the next upcoming weeks. Dawson is a stretch forward who can get his buckets in many ways. From excelling at the pick-and-pop to being able to run the floor with efficiency, Dawson has improved his game throughout his prep season with a red hot U18 Magic team.


One thing I can say about Dawson is that the young man is real. Not just with his ability to shoot from 20 feet out but from the character standpoint, the big man has always shown a lot of respect for me and the brand. Dawson has aspirations of playing in the States one day, and I'm hoping that my services can be worthwhile to the 2025 prospect. Let's get to know more about Tyler Dawson!

 

Tyler Dawson Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball properly at the age of 13 years old."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I am mainly a stretch four, being able to space the court and shoot off the catch. However, I am also a very effective post player who;s able to use my footwork and moves to get points. Additionally, I am a natural playmaker, bringing many players into the game with my good looks. On the defensive end, I am a very good communicator and I can tell people where they should go. Lastly, I am a very underrated defender. Both on and off ball."


How has your U18 season been so far?

  • "My season has gone pretty well as we are unbeaten in the North Premier Division. We also go to the semi-finals of the U16 National Cup, but we got beat. Personally, it has been a good season for me. I’ve been very consistent and continued to improve, where I think I have excelled in the last few weeks."


The Manchester Magic Academy is known for its player development and competitive nature. Describe your experience of playing for a well ran program and being surrounded by like minded hoopers.

  • "Playing at the Manchester Magic Academy is honestly one of the best decisions I have made. The youth setup and being able to produce amazing players to play elsewhere, it’s just something to dream about. I honestly think we are one of the best youth teams in the country just because of the amount of players we are putting out every year. Furthermore, I love playing with players that have the same dreams as I do, and will also do anything to get there. It’s a breath of fresh air to be honest."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Well our team currently has 3 sessions a week. Where we go through both team and individual skills to make us the best we can be. I also go to the gym, to further improve my strength and fitness going into the latter stages of the season. But I am constantly thinking about basketball, whether that’s watching, playing or anything else."


Throughout our process, you told me it would be a dream to play in the United States. If an opportunity would be presented to you, what would that mean to you and your family?

  • "If an opportunity arose for me to play in the States, it would mean the world to me and my family. We all know how amazing basketball is in the US, and watching videos and stuff about the atmosphere just makes me want it more. It would honestly be a dream come true. Being able to come across the pond and show people the European game, it would be amazing!"


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "The two main athletes I look up to is probably Luka Doncic and Nikola Jokic, as they are European players. Coming to the NBA and showing they can compete against more athletic American players."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "My main role model is my mother, as she is something that has gone through many setbacks in her life. But she has been able to push through, and be the best mother she can be to me and my siblings."


I know it is still early, but how do you feel about the upcoming postseason and plans for summer ball?

  • "I am very excited for the post season. This would mean I have all the time to better my skills and make me be the best basketball player I can possibly be."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "The main thing I have to say is no matter what situation you’re in, or setbacks that are happening in your life, never give up. As a player from the UK, where the idea of playing in the US or Europe is very small, I still want to get to that point and will do anything to get there."


High School Coach Information

Sergio Lara-Bercial - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page