top of page

The Maisie Crowley Interview (England)

Updated: Jul 3, 2023

Name: Maisie Crowley


Hometown: London, England


Height: 6-3


Position: Power Forward/Center


High School: Bishop McNamara (MD)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Team Thrill UAA


Status: Uncommitted


Maisie Crowley is a 6-3 Forward from London, England. She's currently a sophomore at Bishop McNamara High School, and runs with Team Thrill on the Under Armour Circuit. As a freshman, Crowley averaged 36 points and 16 rebounds for the Brentwood Fire, and spent time with Barking Abbey in the WNBL. She transferred to the States this past summer to play with Team Takeover on the EYBL circuit, in order to prepare for her first official school ball season.


But, I've had the pleasure of hosting Crowley throughout the past two weeks. I was recommended to her by RPN alum and Team Thrill teammate, Jordyn Steindl and seeing the energy Crowley brought to this project, I've been left impressed. Enough of the typing though, let's get to know the British post. I caught up with the British hooper in an interview on life growing up in England, the move to the States and preparation heading into sophomore year.

 

Maisie Crowley Interview

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I first started playing basketball at school when I was 11, and played organized basketball for the first time at 12."


Describe your game from the skill standpoint?

  • "I believe I'm a versatile big. Who can score at all three levels. I am also a good interior defender, and like to block shots and grab rebounds."


Transferring to a new country comes with many different things to think about. With opportunities, leaving family and discovering new life. But, why did you decide to transfer from England to Bishop McNamara this summer, and how was the process behind it?

  • "I emailed a coach from McNamara my highlight tape and after a lot of communication and a visit to the school, I decided it was the best fit for me. Obviously things are very different here. Being without my family and friends is hard, but I’m in an amazing environment and I have made lots of new friends. I stay with a great host family, so it definitely feels like a family environment even though I'm far from home."


How was your freshman season last year?

  • "Basketball last year for me was very different to how it is now. I average around 36 points and 16 rebounds a game playing for Brentwood and then playing for Barking (Abbey). I think the summer has definitely better prepared me for the ball out here, as it's a lot more physical and fast paced."


How was life growing up in London?

  • "It’s great. I’m from East London, and I love it there. It will always be my home. My parents are both very hard workers and always kept me and my brother in a sport. I think of all the hard work, and sacrifice I’ve seen them put in from a young age. It's such a big part of my motivation now, and the reason my work ethic is the way it is."


Since you’ve been in the States, what are some takeaways from your experience so far?

  • "It’s very different. I think the people out here are a lot more social than where I’m from. Like everyone loves small talk and random people will speak to you but in London, everyone just kind of minds their business *Crowley laughs*. But, the people where I’m at are great and I love the environment I'm in."


You spent your first shoe circuit season with Team Takeover this past summer. How was your first experience, and whats the plans for next summer?

  • "It was an amazing experience and allowed me to become a lot more acclimated to the speed of the game here. Before my high school season, I made some great friendships and connections throughout the summer. Next summer, I’ll be playing with Team Thrill on the UAA circuit and I'm really excited. It’s a new opportunity and a new culture, but it’s been great so far. Pretty much all of my teammates have made the move too, so the family still together."

Editor: That last sentence gave me a lot of Dom Toretto vibes *laughs*. They do say british people are great actors.


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I’m always working hard. First one in the gym, last one to leave. Just always trying to better myself, and stay focused on the big picture. Coach Sean, who coaches at Mac and thrill, is the person who puts me through workouts and he's amazing. Jordyn (Steindl) may have told you about him, but the way he sees the game and his attention to detail is different. I think he’s one of the best people out there."


Which basketball player do you look up to the most and why?

  • "The player i look up to most is Aja Wilson because I think her game is so smooth. She always knows how to get to her spots, and her combination of size and skill just allows her to dominate. I want to be able to do that one day."

Editor: Crowley will look back in a year, and see how far she's come. Speaking it into existence...


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "My mother is my number one role model. She’s such a hard worker, and she’s always sacrificed so that I can live the best life possible and achieve my dreams. So yeah, that’s who my role model would be."


The season is here! What are you looking forward to in your first American high school basketball season?

  • "I’m looking forward to seeing how the season unfolds. We have a really talented group with great chemistry, and we play one of the toughest schedules in the country. With the way we play here, we have what it takes to win it all."


Thank you Maisie for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Thank you so much for the interview, I really appreciate it. For some words of motivation, I would say that hard work is really the key. There’s always someone the same height and more skilled, but hard work is what separates at the end of the day."


Twitter @maisiecrowley12


Contact Tyreese Smith





Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page