top of page

Player Profile: Jordyn Steindl (State College, PA)

Updated: Sep 27, 2023

Name: Jordyn Steindl


Height: 5-8


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: Western Reserve (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: United 3SSB


GPA: 4.1


Status: Uncommitted


June 2022

Jordyn Steindl is a 5-8 Combo Guard from State College, Pennsylvania. She’s a rising sophomore at State College Area High School, and ran with Team Takeover on Nike’s EYBL circuit this past summer. Steindl is one of the premier sharpshooters in Pennsylvania.


I invited Steindl to the RPN from seeing her potential throughout her freshman season. The Little Lions, who were 1-12 in 2021, improved to 10-14 under Steindl’s presence. Having strong outings of 16 points against Marissa Gingrich and Mifflin County, 16 points against a veteran Central Dauphin team, 24 points against Carlisle and 17 points against Altoona, Steindl showed no fear in her game as a pup. And, throughout her rookie campaign, Steindl averaged 15.4 points per game while adding PennLive All-Rookie, Big15 and Mid-Penn All-Conference honors to lead the Little Lions to a District 6 6A championship appearance.


But, I caught up with the 2025 guard on her stellar freshman campaign, a breakdown of her game, touring with Takeover and preparation heading into year two.

 

Breakdown


Strengths:

Can score at all three levels.

  • ”I’ma let it be known, Steindl is a bucket *laughs*. Whatever you throw at her in a game plan, she will skirt right around it and find a way to put it in the basket. Steindl is a stellar shooter, and is improving on putting it more on the ground in the open court.”


College Ready Movements

  • “Within this take, Steindl has already started to look like a college recruit within her movements. And seeing her with the rock in her hands, she plays with a great pace and motor. Popping shots off a curl cut and screen for three, reading ball screens to score accordingly and even setting other teammates up to score, Steindl is beyond her years as a prospect.”


Elite Sharpshooter

  • “One of, if not the best traits, Steindl is one of the best shooters I’ve seen from my underclassmen group. And, while I can say that she can hit from 20 plus feet out, you have to look at how she hits from that far. The biggest thing to notice, her footwork. Steindl’s footwork is always on point whether it’s coming off a screen or simply squaring up to the basket, it’s very elite movement. And, while having great footwork, it makes it easier for her to square up and release with precision for an easy three each time.”


Makes the right reads.

  • ”Having a 4.0 comes in handy. Steindl’s IQ and nature for basketball is second to none. Even while facing double teams and tenacious defenders in her grill, she will find her teammates in a heartbeat to score. It wasn’t easy being a freshman with the ball in her hands, but she made it work!”


Mental Toughness

  • ”Point blank, Steindl does not care who you are *laughs*. She is a COMPETITOR. Steindl reminds me of Post-Shaq Kobe with how she carries herself as a hooper. Her skillset tells one story, but the amount of work she puts in away from live games is an amazing thing to see. Shoutout Ethan Khoza, Charlie Parker and others for your help throughout her journey!”


Utilizing the Mid-Range.

  • “Being able to shoot threes is one thing, but Steindl is starting to learn that she has to be able to create for herself. And, utilizing the mid range at an early age will only benefit her later on. Steindl does a stellar job at reading a defender to pull up, and loves getting to her spots in showing creativity.”


Things to Improve On:

Being more aggressive on offense.

  • ”Steindl is a bucket, it’s no secret. But now with everybody knowing that she’s a name to look out for, she will have to push even harder to get a bucket now. Creating more opportunities for herself is looking more positive by the day. But to be honest, I’m going to explain more in the next take as I have to get my dinner off the stove.“


Getting downhill on offense.

  • ”One of the biggest things I want to see from Steindl is how she handles pressure in her second year. And, it’s going to be no surprise that she will face more aggravating defenders along the perimeter. It’s the price that pays when you’re a shooter. But Steindl should look to get more up-and-down, and become an efficient three level scorer. Embracing physical training to go through contact will also be a must. But don’t be surprised if she knocks someone off the throne off the dribble. She only sees prey with the ball in her hands *growls*.”

 

Jordyn Steindl Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “Fourth grade”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I have a lot to work on! I want to be known as an elite player, but I'm not even close yet. I am learning to have a scorer's mentality. My skill level is always developing, and I am trying to get stronger. But my mental game is where I really need to push myself.


Editor: The fact that she can admit she still has a lot to work on is something you can’t teach. Jordyn knows that she still has a lot to work on. Respectable!


How was your first year experience at State College?

  • “I really liked my Freshman year. I literally have THE best friends, and loved seeing them everyday. My course load was tough and it took some time to adjust to all of the changes. But in the end, it all worked out great.”


You had a phenomenal season as a freshman in pushing State High in a positive light. But from your words, how was your first year on the varsity level?

  • “Freshman year was really hard, but I loved it. The physicality of the league was tough. It helped me realize I needed to get stronger. Our high school team was really young last season. We started two freshmen, two sophomores and a junior. Coach (Allison) Mock was only in her second year of coaching, so I feel like we were all learning and growing together. My teammates are amazing, and we are only getting better. Personally, I received some cool recognition with PennLive All-Rookie Team and Mid-Penn Commonwealth All-Stars, so it was nice. But my goal is to win a state championship. We still have work to do.”


Growing up in State College where it’s heavily known as a football town, that’s all you hear at times. Bringing light to the basketball scene up north, how have you been helping in grabbing people’s attention to show that there are multi-talented athletes everywhere?

  • “We are definitely a football town. I enjoy watching football too, but I hope to get more people interested in basketball. There is nothing better than being in a warm gym watching basketball during the cold central PA winters! With my AAU team, I've had the opportunity to play in gyms with LOTS and LOTS of fans watching. The feeling is amazing. I want this for our State High team. By my senior year, I hope our team can pack the gym with fans. Standing room only!”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “I am fortunate to have amazing trainers and coaches. Each one has taught me so much. With basketball, I am always in learning and listening mode. I also push myself outside of my comfort zone often. I've been taught that when you are uncomfortable that is when the real change happens. It sucks and it's frustrating, but it's what is needed to be the best version of yourself.”


Playing with Team Takeover this past summer must've been a good experience. But taking things back in time, how did you find out about the DMV club?

  • “When I was in fifth grade, I played on a boys basketball team and my coach was Richard Jeter. Richard played in the NBA G league and overseas. His wife was a Penn State women's coach at the time. Richard was also my trainer. After some success on his team, Richard told me that if I really wanted to see what I was made of, I needed to go and tryout for a Nike team down in the DMV called, ‘Team Takeover’. He said only the best of the best played there. So, my mom and step-dad drove me down one weekend for a tryout. And, I did terrible. I was so nervous, and played the worst basketball of my life. After the tryout, I was crying in the gym and mad at myself. Coach Jamel (Marshall) came over and told me he didn't know if I had what it took to play on his team. He said I could come back one more time and try again. We left with me in tears. The next weekend, we were back in the DMV and I had a much better tryout. Needless to say, I made the team and have been with Takeover and Coach Jamel ever since.”


How is the program currently?

  • “Now Team Takeover is my second family,” She continued. “I literally get to play with the best high school girl players in the country. I have pushed myself in ways I can't even explain. My whole family has sacrificed a lot so I can play on this team. I've spent probably thousands of hours just in the car driving back and forth to practices. The experience so far has been amazing though. It has been the hardest thing in my life, but also the best. I get to travel across the country playing a game I love. This July we will be in Louisville, Chicago and New Orleans. This summer, I was given the opportunity to live with one of my Takeover coaches, Sean Middleton and train more with the team. I'm actually answering these questions from his house *Reese laughs*! Coach Sean has helped me more than I can ever imagine. We work really hard at basketball, but he has given me a confidence that I never knew I had. I miss home, but this was an opportunity I couldn't pass up.”


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college basketball opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • “I want a university with a strong reputation both on and off the court. Academics are always first, but I do want a school where I can play and help them win a national championship!

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “Sabrina Ionescu


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My mom and grandma.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • “I'm looking forward to just getting home, and seeing my teammates. So we can work on what we need to to win that state championship. Sophomore season is going to be lit!


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Work hard, dream big, stay hungry and stay humble.”



Jordyn Steindl - State College ‘25 | Heather Weikel (hweikel@gmail.com)


Jordyn Steindl Spring 2022 AAU Highlights (Team Takeover)


Media coverage on Jordyn Steindl






Twitter @JordynSteindl


High School Coach Information

Allison Mock - Email


AAU Coach Information

Jamel Marshall - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page