top of page

The Camryn Halcovage Interview (Harrisburg, PA)


Decided to bring back two of my 2023s on my platform this afternoon.


Second is Camryn Halcovage from Harrisburg Academy.


I caught up with HBG Academy’s Camryn Halcovage on her junior season, the switch to Mid Penn Motion and preparation heading into senior year.


Check it out below.

 

Camryn Halcovage Interview

Welcome back Camryn, how's everything been lately?

  • “Everything has been great! I have been enjoying the AAU season, and the summer basketball league my school is playing in. I am very excited for the rest of the AAU season, and what the summer has to offer for me.”


How was your junior season in the classroom?

  • “My junior year has been great so far. It has definitely been stressful. Especially with finals right around the corner and just took my SATs, but I honestly enjoyed it. I really enjoyed my Spanish, and History classes this year. I made so many new friends and learned so much this year.”


Now getting down to the basketball. How was your junior season on the court?

  • “My junior year basketball season was great. I improved so much with the help of my coaches and teammates. I worked hard every practice to help me and my teammates improve. As a captain, I was really able to motivate my teammates. Watching them improve helped me to get better as well. Our team did very good overall. We were unfortunately one place out of a districts spot, but I enjoyed the season so much. Definitely a season to remember.”


You made the switch to Mid Penn Motion for your 17u year. The 17U year is a very crucial period for hoopers, so what ultimately made you decide to put on the navy blue for circuit play?

  • “I was introduced to Mid Penn Motion by a person in the area. I am extremely grateful to have the opportunity to play for MPM. Going to a different team made me a little nervous, but my teammates are amazing and made me feel so comfortable. My teammates are very encouraging, so it is very fun to play with them and get better together. The tournaments have been great so far. We have done very well. Some of the tournaments I have never played at before, so going to new places and playing against new people has been a unique experience. Honestly, this AAU season has been amazing so far!


Speaking of the last year of AAU, this is where the words “college basketball” come into play. Tell me, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • “When deciding what colleges fit me best, I look at the basketball program as a whole. From the team dynamic, academics, and the social aspect of campus. I specifically look for a positive and encouraging team environment. All of these aspects are important to me as this will be where I will be for four years.”


Besides circuit play, do you have any other plans for the summer?

  • “Over the summer, I have the pleasure to play in my schools summer basketball league. I am also looking forward to spending time with family and friends! I also have the opportunity to travel to Peru to study abroad, and work with zoo animals. I am super excited.


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • “I am looking forward to getting better my senior year. Honestly I just want to challenge myself, and see where I end up. I am also looking forward to night practices with my teammates, and after game dinners.”


Once again Cam Halcovage, thank you for taking the time to talk with me this weekend. Do you have any new words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “I would say just keep working hard because great things never come from staying in your comfort zone with out hard work. Thank you so much!”


Media links on Camryn Halcovage



High School Coach Information

John Martin - Email


AAU Coach Information

Scott Weyant - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page