top of page

The Avery Hjelmstad Interview (Edmond, OK)

Updated: Apr 24


Name: Avery Hjelmstad


Height: 6-Feet


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: Edmond Memorial (OK)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Unity Basketball 3SSB


GPA: 4.0


Offers: Abilene Christian, Arkansas, Arkansas State, Baylor, Clemson, Colorado, Columbia, Creighton, Duke, Florida State, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, McNeese State, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Northwestern, Oklahoma, Oklahoma Christian, Oklahoma State, Oregon and Southern Nazarene, Tulsa, Utah, Wake Forest, Yale.


Status: COMMITTED - Utah (4/23/24)


Avery Hjelmstad is a 6-Foot Shooting Guard from Edmond, Oklahoma. She’s a rising sophomore at Edmond Memorial High School, and runs with Unity Basketball on Adidas’ 3SSB circuit. Hjelmstad is the younger sister of Edmond Memorial standout, Carter Hjelmstad.


I caught up with the prospective college recruit on year one, college recruitment and preparation for her sophomore campaign.

 

Avery Hjelmstad Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing when I was about five. My parents wanted me to try different sports out, but they were big on basketball since they played in high school.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I can shoot the ball well, and I have good handles for my height. I’m able to post up small defenders and drive past slow defenders from the perimeter. I am long on defense, always deflecting the ball when I’m at the top of the defense, and blocking shots when someone drives.”


How was your freshman season?

  • “I enjoyed my freshman season so much. I was given a starting opportunity, and I really proved my spot. I scored near 250 points. During the year, I received an All-Tournament Team award at the Enid Tournament, an Honorable Mention award in All-Conference, and Honorable Mention award for All-State. As for my team, we had some big wins against Norman and Moore in the Area semifinals and finals this past year. It was our first time being to the State Tournament in five years.”


How’s your college recruitment been going?

  • “My recruitment is going very well. I recently received an offer from McNeese State, a Division I school in Louisiana. I have also called multiple other D1 schools, and went on a unofficial visit to Nebraska last year and OSU this past week.


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “I normally train with AJ Hawkins, my coach for Unity. We do ball-handling or shooting off the gun at his gym. For Memorial, I train with Brian Huff. He is a certified trainer that most of the Memorial girls train with. We normally have workouts two or three times a week. We do sprints, agility, and weights regularly. Outside of training, I go to shoot with my brother at Memorial late at night. We work on dribbling, shooting, free throws, and a lot more.”


You and your older brother, Carter seem to have a really solid brother-sister relationship. Discuss the bond you two share and being the big brother in her corner.

  • “Carter and I are super close. We pick on each other and can mess around, but when it comes to 1v1, we go AT each other. He teaches me many things that I can use for my game. Whether it’s strength, quick release, shifty moves, or IQ, I know I’m learning something. We love pushing each other and going to the school to shoot at 10 PM, or even at midnightsome nights. I can’t wait to see how his basketball career continues, I know the rest of this summer will be exciting for him.”


Now the real question is, who would win in a 1v1 game?

  • “Great question! Carter and I both like to shoot and drive past each other. In a one-on-one, it really depends on who wants to win more! I would say the series would definitely go to a game 7, but I would come out with the win.”


Editor: Yeah, so I’m finna tell Carter this *laughs*


What are your plans for the rest of the live period?

  • “I will continue playing with Unity this summer on the Adidas Circuit. We are playing at the Super64 tournament next week, then flying to Kentucky right after. The rest of our tournaments this summer will be around Dallas.”


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “I look up to Paige Bueckers and Caitlyn Clark. They are incredible shooters, whether it’s midrange or from the arc. As I continue my game, I hope to mold into a mix of both of them.”


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My mom is my role model. She works very hard, and doesn’t make any excuses. She pushes me to my limits, and expects nothing less than my hardest work. She wants the best for me, and I know she puts all of her effort in to help me pursue my dreams on and off the court.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • “I’m really looking forward to the whole season. We have talent all over. We have long posts, strong posts, quick guards, and tall guards. We have a really strong senior class, and new players that have come in. I think as we grow and get to know each other better, we will be tough to beat.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “‘Don’t take criticism from someone you wouldn’t ask for advice from.’ I think about this quote a lot. If you don’t trust someone’s encouragement, then you shouldn’t trust someone’s judgement.”


Avery Hjelmstad - Edmond Memorial ‘25


Twitter @AveryHjelmstad


High School Coach Information

Rachel Crabaugh - Email


AAU Coach Information

AJ Hawkins - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Instagram: http://instagram.com/rpnfactory

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page