top of page

The Carter Hjelmstad Interview (Edmond, OK)

Updated: Jul 31, 2022


Name: Carter Hjelmstad


Height: 6-5


Position: Small Forward


High School: Edmond Memorial (OK)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Rogue Basketball Club


GPA: 4.0


Offers: McPherson and Pittsburg State


Status: Uncommitted


Carter Hjelmstad (Gelm•stad) is a 6-5 Small Forward from Edmond, Oklahoma. He's a rising senior at Edmond Memorial High School, and runs with Rogue Basketball on NXTPRO Hoops circuit. I first discovered Hjelmstad through one of my 2023 prospects, Zac Dunn who’s his teammate on ROGUE.


Seeing Hjelmstad’s game over the last two months, the big guard should be on a college coach’s list by now. He’s a smooth but aggressive three level scorer, who‘s able to utilize his size no matter the position. Hjelmstad is very comfortable playing as a first option and taking over a game playing to his full potential.


The term “elite” is thrown around in wild aspects nowadays, but I believe Hjelmstad is one of the best kept secrets in Oklahoma. Not by skill, but on his willingness to play hard every possession and his approach in improving his game. I caught up with the 2023 prospect on his junior season, relationship with younger sister, Avery Hjelmstad and preparation for senior campaign.


Check it out below

 

Carter Hjelmstad Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball at the YMCA when I was three years old. But I had a ball in my hands from the time I was born. My love for the game grew quickly.”

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I’d say I’m a physical wing. I can shoot the ball well, and I’ll also get past people off the bounce. I’m a good rebounder, and I have good footwork around the rim. I’m able to post up smaller defenders and sometimes, bigger defenders as well.”

How was your junior season?

  • “My Junior season went pretty well. We had some huge victories at the beginning reaching 7 and 0, before losing our first game. We finished the year 22 and 5 making it all the way to the quarterfinals of the state tournament. I finished as an All-Conference honorable mention.”

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “I’m gonna work hard in the weight room, and also work on more aspects of my game. Recently I’ve been watching much more film and putting in lots of hours in the gym to get up shots, work on my handle, etc. I currently don’t train with anyone, I work by myself.”

You and your younger sister, Avery seem to have a really solid brother-sister relationship. Discuss the bond you two share and being the big brother in her corner.

  • “Avery, and I are each others support system. We push eachother to be better players, and better individuals. We have very similar interests which makes us even closer. I enjoy spending time with her, and watching her grow as a player. It’s good to see her start to get some of her flowers because I’ve seen the work shes put in.”

What are your plans for the summer?

  • “I play for Rogue out of Oklahoma. We will be playing in OKC, Dallas, Kansas City, and Wichita to finish out the summer.”

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “I look up to Jimmy Butler the most. His game is so unique and his story making it to the Nba is inspiring to me. I would like him to win a championship and a finals MVP.”

Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “I look up to my step-dad as a role model. He works hard and is great to my mother. He spends time with me playing basketball, he never misses my ball games, he plays video games with me, he’s just a solid guy. When I’m older I hope to be like him.”

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • “I look forward to stepping into a bigger role, both scoring and distributing. This year I wont be as much of a role player. I’m excited to spend time with my guys, this year we have a really close knit group. I’m also looking forward to being a leader and a coach on the floor.”

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Control what you can control and live with the results.”


Carter Hjelmstad Summer 2021 Highlights (Rogue Basketball)


Carter Hjelmstad Spring 2022 Highlights (Rogue Basketball)


Carter Hjelmstad Scouting Report http://filedropper.com/HyiAmsyf



Head Coach Information

Shane Cowherd - Email


AAU Coach Information

Ernie Barber - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page