top of page

The Aven Allana Interview (Canada)

Updated: May 23

Name: Aven Allana


Hometown: Laval, Quebec


Height: 5-11


Position: Point Guard


High School: Saint Laurent High School (QC)


Graduation Class: 2026


AAU Club: Chris Boucher Elite


Status: Uncommitted


Aven Allana (Ay·vin + Uh·lahn·uh) is a 5-11 Point Guard from Laval, Quebec. He's currently a freshman at Saint Laurent High School, and runs with Chris Boucher Elite (CB Elite) on the AAU circuit. Allana is the younger brother of RPN alum and Robert Morris University guard, Louella Allana who's a freshman basketball player for the Women's program.

Here at the RPN, I love hosting siblings when it comes to work. I'm accepting of everybody, but it makes work so much easier when you get to build a family connection. I discovered Allana a little over a year ago when Louella shared one of his tapes to her Instagram story. I wasn't familiar that she had a younger sibling, but I've monitored his game and supported the young man throughout this year and there's so much to love about his game.


Allana shoots the ball consistently well from 20 feet out, knows how to lead and compete when facing a challenge, and he plays with so much energy while doing it. It's very rare for someone who just entered the high school basketball scene. This may have not been brought up in discussion, but Allana reminds me of a younger Tyler Ennis, who's also from Canada and starred at Syracuse in 2013-14.


But, enough of the comparisons, let's hear from Allana himself. I caught up with the Filipino guard on growing up in Canada, family life, being a part of the Asian basketball community and preparation heading into his freshman campaign. He has a very bright future ahead of him!

 

Aven Allana Interview

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball when I was 5.”


Describe your game from the skill standpoint?

  • “I'm a fundamental point guard with good court vision and can handle the ball really well. On top of that, I’m a shooter as well.”


How was life growing up in Quebec?

  • “I have a supporting family that tries to give me everything they can and I'm really grateful for that. School isn't an issue for me. I always had good grades and I've never been into trouble. What I love about Quebec is that the basketball is really competitive. I've been to multiple teams and they're all about working hard and grinding.”


The Asian community in the basketball world is growing around the world. Being a Filipino-Canadian, how’s your experiences been up north?

  • “We have a pretty big Filipino community here in Montreal, but we're really a close community. it's to the point where I might see someone I know everytime I go out. In my opinion, people tend to underestimate asians when it comes to basketball. But, since the Asian basketball world is on the rise, I can't wait to prove them wrong. We Filipinos also take a lot of pride in successful Filipino basketball players like Jalen Green or Jordan Clarkson.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “My schedule is pretty packed. I have practices from Monday to Saturday after school. Depending on whether I have a game or not. Open gyms are in the morning starting from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. during the weekdays. I go to at least 2 each week, and get some shots and reps up. I also have weight training two times a week. During basketball class, we either practice or do weight training or even run cross-country. This practice is different from the one after school. During school is more of a workout, and after school is a team practice. School is also important, so above all of that, I study and do my homework when I get back home or on the way to school.”


Which basketball player do you look up to the most and why?

  • “I don't have one in particular, but I have some for a specific reason. Stephen Curry for his shooting, Kobe Bryant for his work ethic, Kyrie (Irving) for his handles and MJ (Michael Jordan) for his mentality.”


Editor: No cap, that’s the second time I heard three or four players mentioned in this question but these new kids are starting to get strategic *laughs*.


Who do you look up to as a role models?

  • “I look up to my sister, Lou. She achieved many things already, and has done many great things as well. She's always there for me. And, even though she's my role model, I still like to compete with her whether it's in basketball or life in general.”


Editor: I can just imagine all the arguments and shoving during one on one matches at the crib *laughs*


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college basketball opportunities, what factors do you ideally look for in a college?

  • “The main things I look at are the education or the tuition of the college. But, I also take into consideration the little things like the coaches, the players or the atmosphere of the school.”


The season is right around the corner, what are you looking forward to in your freshman campaign?

  • “This year I'm playing against and with guys one year older than me. My goal is to keep up with them, or even challenge them this year. School is also important, I need to focus and manage my time outside of basketball.”


Thank you Aven for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Never give up. It might take one year, two or even 10 until you reach your goals. Obstacles come and go all the time. Whether it's big or small, go through it with a smile. Keep grinding through the ups and downs and remember, it’s not the goal that will make you successful, it's what you do daily!”





Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page