top of page

Player Profile: Louella Allana (Canada)

Updated: Jan 24, 2022

Name: Louella Allana


Height: 5'4"


Position: Point Guard


High School: Winston-Salem Christian School


Graduation Class: 2022


AAU Club: Carolina Basketball Association (CBA)


GPA: 4.2


Offers: San Jose State and others.


Status: COMMITTED - Robert Morris University (10/24/21)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Drawing, Reading


Expectations heading into senior season: "To commit to a school and focus on helping my teammates and I win a national championship."

 

Louella Allana is a 5'4" Point Guard from Quebec, Canada. She's currently a junior at Winston Salem Christian School in Winston-Salem, North Carolina and runs with the Carolina Basketball Association on the AAU circuit. Allana holds one Division 1 offer from San Jose State University of the Mountain West Conference. She transferred into Winston Salem Christian earlier this year.


Allana grew up in Laval. Laval is a city southwest of Quebec and north of Montreal. She's the daughter of two immigrants parents from the Philippines who are very supportive of her. Her father taught her how to play the game of basketball at a young age and wanted Allana to use the sport as a way to go to college. At first, Allana had no idea if she wanted to pursue playing at a high level in basketball. She's not an easy going person when it comes to change and adapting. But once she reached high school, she matured and got serious about basketball. Before coming to the United states, Allana spent her time in Canada playing at St Laurent Academy and playing with the Canadian Jr National Team (Team Canada) in a 2019 FIBA competition in Chile.

Allana reached the states in the summer of 2020. She recently graduated from St-Laurent and was looking for an opportunity to play outside of Canada. Putnam Science Academy, located in Putnam, Connecticut, was her first stop. But unfortunately, Putnam cancelled their season due to the COVID-19 pandemic and Allana decided to transfer. She ended up landing at national powerhouse, Winston Salem Christian earlier in the year and was very relived to be able to play again.


"The program is tough," Allana on being at Winston-Salem Christian. "You need to have the mindset to continue, and be mentally ready for all challenges of the season."


Stepping out of her comfort zone was the best thing for her. It's tough being away from her family and Laval, but she's chasing her dream of playing at the highest level and is sticking to plan. I can't imagine how hard it is especially during these crazy times, but Allana is a very strong young lady who is well beyond on her years and well rounded. Let's get to know more about the Canadian hooper!

 

BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Athletic Guard

  • Change of direction game is viscous.

  • Confidence

  • Definition of "Heart over height".

  • Elite Floor General

  • Elite Passer

  • Knockdown shooter from the perimeter.

  • Natural Born Leader - Very vocal on the court.

  • Plays with pace.

  • Strong Mid Range Game

  • Uses a variety of moves to score.

Louella Allana is a very fundamental player who has a great feel for the game. Allana is a do-it-all guard in terms of her scoring, but always makes the right reads first. She's a proficient sharpshooter, is able to break down her defender in three dribbles and a flashy passer as she always fools the defense when kicking out to an open girl. Trust me when I say this, her highlight tape from her St Laurent days is nasty. She even faked me out and made me go the other direction when she was making plays. Allana's best trait is her leadership. From what she told me throughout the project, "One of my strengths would definitely be my voice," Allana said. "I have the ability to make the people around me better and direct the flow of my team. As well as adapting quickly to the people I'm playing with. As a point guard it's important to understand that your teammates shouldn't adapt to you, but you have to adapt to them." Very wise player indeed!



THINGS TO BUILD ON

  • Becoming more efficient/executing on the floor.

  • Getting stronger to face contact when dribbling and on the drive.

Louella Allana doesn't have much flaws being a smaller guard, but here are some things that she can build on. The primary things that Allana can work on is executing more in her game and getting stronger. Executing more will start to build consistency as every young player needs these traits in developing their game. Also, getting stronger in her handle while facing contact will help her tremendously. Being a smaller guard can have its pros and cons sometimes when facing bigger opponents, especially on the national stage in which she plays at. But getting stronger on the offensive end will benefit Allana. I believe that once Allana finds consistency in all parts of her game from playing a full school season, being a scoring threat and her leadership, she's going to be tough as nails. Below is my interview with Louella Allana. She had some really thoughtful answers!

 

LOUELLA ALLANA Q&A

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball at the age of 7 in the second grade for a club basketball team. My father taught me how to play the game."


Describe your game.

  • "I am a vocal pass first point guard. I understand that my role as the general on the court is to ensure that my teammates get the looks they need on the court. Basically, I play with the concept that I need to adapt to my teammates needs and not the other way around. This builds trust amongst my teammates, create a great flow in the motion of the game and prove to others that you don’t always need to score to impact a game. One of my biggest strengths is my ability to bring out the best in the people around me, whether it’s on or off the court."


How was life growing up in Canada?

  • "Growing up in the environment I grew up in, I was able to set high standards for myself at a young age. Growing up as the eldest in my family helped mature quickly and develop independency at a young age. Also, being able to attend a High School like St-Laurent helped young female athletes like me achieve great heights. They really put an emphasis on women’s basketball and helped us became high level athletes at such a young age."


How has your time been in the United States thus far?

  • "I am thankful for the opportunity to further my basketball career and that I am able to play basketball in a time of uncertainty."


What is your role on Winston Salem Christian’s basketball team?

  • "As a transfer point guard coming into the second semester at WSCS, my role was to quickly adapt into my surroundings and help my teammates play to the best of their abilities. I had to be the facilitator and bring energy on the court when energy was needed."


Who will you be playing AAU with this Summer?

  • "I’ll be playing with CBA United under Delaney Rudd and Eric Hemmings. While we aren’t in a circuit, we’ll be playing in Indiana, Chicago and Atlanta this summer. We will also be heading to Utah in June for various camps."


Describe your experience of playing with the Canadian Jr National Team in FIBA.

  • "Playing for Team Canada on an international stage was an unforgettable experience. Two summers ago, back in 2019, my team and I traveled to Chile to the FIBA America’s u16 World’s Qualifiers. During that time, I had the opportunity to play versus various types of basketball cultures and meet new people. First of all, the Brazilians screamed after every little single action, it was so crazy, we all felt intimidated by them. Also, he Puerto Ricans were the definition of heart over height, they gave us a run for our money. To top it off, the Chileans, the host country, they just never backed down, they came to make a statement and make a name for their country and they did just that. It was just an unforgettable experience. The food, the people, the competition, the culture and everything Chile had to offer was nothing short of an amazing roller coaster of a ride."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Something I need to work on is my self-confidence. While I know that my passing skills need some work to as well, I know that I can’t expand my basketball career if I don’t start getting more looks for myself."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "An athlete that I look up the most is probably KK Deans. I first met her 4 years ago when she was playing for Delaney and completely fell involve with her game. She was and still is a force to be reckoned with. A vocal leader that is so versatile in her position, she can truly get to the rim at will. She has that confidence on and off court that enables her to be that play maker that she is and takeover the game when a big play needs to be made."

What is your usual pregame routine?

  • "It’s funny because I never really had a specific pregame routine until now. I will usually plug in my airpods a few minutes before warm up and listen to RnB music or to Justin Timberlake’s “Rock your body”. I was never really the one to completely zone everything out before a game because that creates over stress before my game, nor was I the one to just laugh everything out and joke around before a game. That removes my focus."


What are your all time favorite tv shows to watch?

  • "All time favorite tv shows would definitely be Friends, Elite, Soul Eater, Grey’s Anatomy and A Series of Unfortunate Events. Like books and songs, I don’t have a specific genre preference, but if it has a nice storyline and flow then I will for sure keep an open mind to take a look at it."


Who are some of your favorite artists to listen to?

  • "Gotta love my 90’s and early 2000’s RnB artists, but I love me some GIVEON, Brent Faiyaz, H.E.R., SZA and Doja Cat. I really can’t pick a top five cause I got to put my people in there too as well like Bruno Mars, and love me some Ella Mai and Tyler the Creator."


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "One person I really look up to is Kiandra Browne. In terms of physicality and position, we are complete opposites. While she plays as a forward and I play as a point guard, there is so much to learn from someone like her. What I love about Kiandra is her determination and dedication. She is not one to back down in any point of her life. She will not give up and she will finish everything she started from A to Z."


What are you looking forward to and expectations for your senior season?

  • "Hopefully, I would like to be committed and signed by the first signing period. Once I get that done, I want to be able to build the confidence I need to bring into college. I also want to focus on helping my teammates and I win a national championship."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "I always tell people to never forget their 'why'. When they’re doing something or when they start something I feel like everyone should have a purpose, a 'why'. Without this there would be no reason for you to continue the path and the journey you have set yourself to begin with."


Louella Allana, Winston Salem Christian Class of 2022



Contact Louella Allana - Email


Twitter:


High School Coach Information

Delaney Rudd - Email


AAU Coaches Information

Delaney Rudd - Email




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page