top of page

The Alice Meunier Interview (Belgium)


Name: Alice Meunier


Hometown: Étalle, Wallonia


Height: 5-6


Position: Point Guard


High School: Winston Salem Christian (NC)


Graduation Class: 2023


Status: Uncommitted


Alice Meunier is a 5-6 Point Guard from Étalle, Wallonia. She's currently a senior at Winston Salem Christian School. Meunier transferred to the States in August of last year, where she most previously spent her junior season at Putnam Science Academy. But, after being recommended by Robert Morris freshman, Fatim Sarr Ndow and having a strong 3-on-3 campaign in Europe this past summer, I took the time and invited Meunier to the RPN this fall. I caught up with the Belgian prospect on her current experience in America, role models and preparation for the last chapter.

 

Alice Meunier Interview

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • “So I started playing basketball when I was 3 years old.”


How would you describe yourself from a skill standpoint?

  • “I am a combo guard. I’m not very tall, but yet I take a lot of rebound. My advantage is my defense. I am very aggressive in defense, and I fight a lot for the basketball. I would say that I have a lot of passion for basketball, so when I play I really give everything.”


How was your junior season at Putnam Science?

  • “I think my junior season was very hard because I had to learn to play in a new position. I was a point guard at PSA, compared to Belgium where I was position 3 and 4. So for me, last year had been very hard but I learned a lot. I had to train early in the morning from 5 to 6 until 7:30, then after school I went to the gym and then we had training.”


Why did you decide to transfer to Winstom Salem Christian

  • “The coaching at WSCS, location and it’s more affordable for my mom.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “The thing that I am doing to make myself the best player is to practice a lot after my own practice, but also watching a lot of college and professional games.”


Which basketball player do you look up to and why?

  • "I would say Kobe (Bryant) because I try to model, as he worked hard for what he wanted."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My mom and my grandfather. My mom because she did everything for me, as she is paying alone my school years. Also, my grandfather because he raised me with my mom when my mom used to have to work late. I was staying at his house, and he was taking care of me and my sister.”


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • “To be honest a scholarship. A scholarship because my mom is paying everything for me, so if I don’t receive a scholarship, then I will not be able to go to college in USA. But, I would want a school where we to travel a lot but again, the scholarship is the most important for me.”


I know it is very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior year?

  • “Receive a D2 or D1 offer. I think that I really deserve it, and am doing so much work. I am still working so hard, but also am sacrificing so much to have that.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Nobody is gonna do it for you, so dial in and work hard.”


Alice Meunier - Winston Salem Christian '23 | Shot by @alfredvalentine


Alice Meunier's Spring AAU Highlights (I-Dream Basketball) | Shot by @alfredvalentine


Media Coverage on Alice Meunier


Twitter @aliceconrad1401


High School Coach Information

Delaney Rudd


Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page