top of page

The Fatim Sarr Ndow Interview (Spain)

Updated: Jun 26, 2022


Name: Fatim Sarr Ndow


Height: 6-2


Position: Power Forward


High School: Putnam Science Academy (CT)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: New York Gauchos


Offers: Florida International, James Madison, Manhattan and Robert Morris.


Status: COMMITTED - Robert Morris University (6/18/22)


Fatim Sarr Ndow is a 6-2 Power Forward from Barcelona, Spain. She’s a rising senior at Putnam Science Academy, and runs with the New York Gauchos on the AAU circuit. Sarr Ndow currently holds offers from Florida International, James Madison, Manhattan and Robert Morris University. Sarr Ndow joined the PSA program in August of 2020.


I was excited to welcome Sarr Ndow to my platform. She’s a lengthy forward who plays with a high motor, and even shows signs of transitioning into a bigger guard with her ability to stretch the floor. With the COVID-19 pandem affecting schools in 2020-2021, Sarr Ndow and PSA didn’t have a season but the Division 1 recruit was able to showcase her ability on the prep scene this past winter. I caught up the Spanish prospect on the move to Putnam Science, her junior campaign and preparation for senior season. Check it out below!

 

Fatim Sarr Ndow Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball when I was 10.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • I am a long athletic player. I feel like I can do everything talking about both offense and defense, and I can guard whoever. I also play in different spots.”


How was life growing up in Spain?

  • “Honestly, i feel like i had a lot of experiences but i can say that is just a great place to grow up, You do learn a lot of things and probably being a person who had born there and being black, sometimes is a little bit hard because of comments or actions that make you feel less. But at the same time, there's a lot of great people from everywhere who helps you a lot.”


Making the decision to come to America isnt easy. Leaving family and friends behind to follow a dream. How were you able to land at Putnam Science Academy, and how was the process of coming to the states?

  • “Honestly, the decision wasn't hard to make because my parents moved to Spain when they were young and for a better future, but in my case not just for a better future but doing what i like to do and that's a big thing there. Also, when I first came it was a little bit hard but not because of moving here, it was more because of the language. But then everything was and it's working well, i am so happy to be here.”


How was your junior season at PSA?

  • “I feel like my junior year had been the most difficult year that i lived in my life. Not because I struggled a little bit, but just because I grew up as a person and as a player. I had to deal and take a lot of responsibilities and also had to learn how to communicate when something is going on. I am so glad that I had to go through these things because at the end of the day, they made me who I am today and I am so proud of it.”


What is a typical day for you like at Putnam Science Academy?

  • “I wake up around 7, get ready for school and have breakfast. Then I go to school from 8 to 2:25 p.m. Then, i have practice. Most practice times last around 2 or 2 and a half hours, and then I go get dinner. If I have a lot of homework, I go back to my room and shower to get ready for homeworks if not, I use the weight room and do some workouts for my knees since i had an injury couple years ago.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “I am learning how to have a stable mindset. As a player, I feel like I have a good mindset and knowing what do and need as a player on the court. Knowing how to be strong is so important, and when i was talking about struggles and all that I was referring to this part. But I feel like it’s really important to know who you are, and what things are you capable of doing. As a training schedule, now that it is summer time, I use the weight room in the mornings for 2 hours. After dinner, I use the gym, and do the same routines adding some new exercises every day.”


What are your plans for this summer?


  • “i play for Gauchos. And, other activities are help in summer camps, and workouts.”


Gauchos schedule below:



Editor: Not gonna lie, that was real crafty how Fatim gave me her schedule instead of writing it *laughs*.


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “A’ ja Wilson. Love her energy, and the way that she hoops. Also, how she motivates her teammates, the hard worker she is, and how she considers herself as an all around basketball player.”


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “Definitely my parents. Both are hard workers, and they literally inspire me with everything that they do.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • “I am looking forward to definitely opening myself up. By that I mean really show everything that I can do. I know that I can do way more than what I did, and I am totally ready to do it.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “I would really like to remind you that nothing is easy and even if we struggle, we still have to push ourselves. And also, there's no point to suffer or work that hard if we don't believe that we can make it.”



Fatim Sarr Ndow - Putnam Science Academy ‘23


Fatim Sarr Ndow Spring 2021 Highlights (NY Gauchos)


Fatim Sarr Ndow Fall 2021 Open Gym Highlights (NY Gauchos)


Twitter @fatimsarr__


High School/AAU Coach Information

Devin Hill - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page