top of page

Player Profile: Mamah Chukwudi Raphael (Nigeria)

Updated: Feb 4, 2022


Name: Mamah Chukwudi Raphael


Height: 6-8


Position: Small Forward


High School: Union Secondary School (Enugu, Nigeria)


Graduation Year: 2024


Prep Year (US): 2025


Status: Uncommitted


Mamah Chukwudi Raphael is a 6-8 Forward from Enugu City, Enugu. He's currently a sophomore at Union Secondary School in Nigeria. Chukwudi Raphael is an international prospect who is looking for an opportunity to play in the United States. He's a really passionate kid who I think can be a real product once he's presented the opportunity to learn the game at a competitive level. I discovered Chukwudi Raphael through mutual interest. One of my 2024 prospects, Joe Sedora put me on to his game by sending me his Instagram account. Chukwudi Raphael had a whole set of videos from his workouts in Nigeria and dude looks flat out tough with the rock in his hands. With limited resources and equipment, Chukwudi still makes it work in trying to showcase his talent and dedication to the game. From a skill standpoint, Chukwudi Raphael is an athletic forward who can play inside-out and is lights out from the perimeter. He has a knack for using the pullup to his advantage shooting over smaller defenders and using his size in different ways to score. He still needs to improve on his handle, but he makes up for it with his ability to create mismatches. Also, watch out for his highlight reel dunks. Dude is a true terror and could be scary good if he moves to the States. I interviewed Chukwudi Raphael to learn more about the young man.

 

Mamah Chukwudi Raphael

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball in February 2019."


Describe your game.

  • "I am 6 foot 8. I play forward and I also play as a shooting guard because of my skills and ability to shoot well. I am kind of a positionless player. I can play any position and defend any position."


What is a typical day for you like in Nigeria?

  • "I wake up by 5 AM for school and some days that I go for morning jogging before going to school I wake up by 4. I leave for school by 7 because my school is a little bit close to my house. After school, when I go for basketball practice from Monday to Friday and on Saturdays, I play in the morning. Saturday morning games are normally tough and fun too because that is when I meet some veterans, old and young players, and learn some things. On Sundays, I go to church and when I am back I do my class assignments and when I am through, the rest of the day is for rest. That is when I watch movies and study some college games on YouTube. I prefer studying college games than NBA."


How has the school year been for you?

  • "Honestly the school year has been stressful in a way after the lockdown and COVID-19. In 2020, the school sessions was affected and shifted. Normally, this current session should start in September, but we are just starting in October. Right now there are too many classes because every teacher wants to complete their scheme. The school time has been changed, we normally close school by 2 PM, but now it is 4:30. Another two and half hours of learning and it is affecting my time for basketball practice."


What is your motivation for playing basketball?

  • "I play for my family, but for my elder brother, Mamah Emmanuel, most especially who seems to have quitted because of the situation of my family. My elder brother is a 6'10" center when he was playing. But in march 2015, I lost my dad and since then my family has been struggling financially. The death of my father affected my brother and his career. My dad is a trader and he has shops in the market. His death really affected my brother because he is the only one in line to manage those shops and take the responsibilities in the family as a father. So Until 2019 when my brother noticed that I was growing fast, he introduced me to basketball and connected me to the coach who was training him. I started and at first I didn't like it because I was very good in soccer already. But as times went on, I was doing the two until now I can't even watch a soccer game. My passion for basketball grew during the lockdown in 2020 and I told myself that basketball is my game and I must be a professional in it no matter what. If not for me, but for my elder brother. So when I play I feel like I am carrying my brother's mantle and dreams too, that is what motives me to work harder."


In your own words, what is your definition of "The American Dream"?

  • "As a student, with what I have heard and seen I know that coming to America will help me grow academically and intellectually. As a student-athlete, I am hoping to get a scholarship in a D1 college while playing basketball and studying the course of my choice."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I always train and practice even when my coach is not around because I have my own ball and I kinda like working out alone. When my coach will be around, I normally come earlier to work on myself before he comes because he doesn't train me like how he trains the others. The other players he trains along with me pays to be trained but I don't, so he focuses more on the ones that pays. I also study a lot of college games. I love Kentucky so I study more of their games!"


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Lebron James. I knew his pathway to the NBA and being the Goat was tough. So I taught to myself that if Lebron can be great, I can be great also."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "Michael Jordan and Kobe Bryant."


Do you have any words of encouragement, or motivation for people looking to achieve their dreams?

  • "My coach (Andrew Okafor) once said, 'It is the right pain that will help you gain, its not about 'No Pain No Gain' but the right pain.' So to everyone hoping to achieve their dreams like me, let's keep working hard and trust in God that everything will be alright and our dreams will come through."



Mamah Chukwudi Raphael - 2024 Forward - Nigeria




MEDIA COVERAGE ON MAMAH CHUKWUDI RAPHAEL

Sponsor Mamah Chukwudi - Fundraiser by Ravi Moole https://www.gofundme.com/f/sponsor-mamah-chukwudi



For more on Mamah Chukwudi Raphael contact Ravi Moole

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page