top of page

Player Profile: Joe Sedora (Red Lion, PA)


Name: Joe Sedora


Height: 5’10”


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: Red Lion Area High School, Class of 2024


AAU Club: York Ballers HGSL


GPA: 4.0


Status: Uncommitted


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Volleyball, Swimming


Expectations heading into sophomore year: "To average in double-figures."

 

Joe Sedora is a 5'10" Shooting Guard from Red Lion, Pennsylvania. He currently attends Red Lion Area High School and runs with the York Ballers in the Hoop Group Showcase League. Sedora is a young rising prospect who's a threat from deep and can create his own shot. I first discovered him by watching his Freshman Season Highlights from his previous season. Sedora is one of the most respectful youngsters that I've met and I didn't want to miss on giving him this opportunity. Sedora is looking forward to moving up next season as it will be his first varsity action of his career. Let's get to know more about Joe Sedora!



BREAKDOWN:


STRENGTHS

  • Can score at all three levels.

  • Has a great feel for the game.

  • High IQ Guard

  • Knockdown Shooter, sharpshooter from deep.

  • Work ethic is out of this world, will be special one day!

Joe Sedora is an offensive threat in the making. Sedora can stroke it from deep, but also shows some ability to put it on the ground and drive, or dish off to the open teammate. He's still growing into his body as a basketball player and with his father, Andrew Sedora (former West Chester standout) standing at 6'8", don't be surprised if Sedora hits a growth spurt throughout his next three years. Sedora is a work in progress, but the young man is going to be tough one day taking over the York-Adams League.


WEAKNESSES/THINGS TO IMPROVE ON

  • Finishing through contact while driving.

  • Getting stronger

  • Lateral movement on defense.

Joe Sedora is a work in progress. Some things for Sedora to work on moving forward is getting stronger to finish through contact on the drive and some defensive aspects. This summer, Sedora will need to work on adding muscle to help him absorb contact going through the lane. Sedora's still a freshman as he's now starting to figure how to use his body from an athletic standpoint. Once he adds more muscle through lifting and working on his core strength, he'll be able to take on tenacious defenses easier. Another thing for Sedora to work on is lateral movement on defense. To be able up to play both ways as a guard can get complicated, but as he gets his feet quicker these next few years, Sedora will be solid on the defensive end as well. I asked Joe several questions so y'all can get to know him better!


 

JOE SEDORA Q&A

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I played my first year of travel ball in 3rd grade."


Describe your game.

  • "I like to consider myself a shooter. I’m a play maker and keep the floor spaced."


How was your past summer?

  • "I took the pandemic and the summer for granted. I wasn’t as engaged in the game as I am now."


How was your freshman season at Red Lion?

  • "I played JV this year. We finished 11-7. I would have obviously liked to play varsity, but there were so many guys ahead of me and our varsity team made it to the second round of districts. Only to lose to the district champs, Reading High."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I have to get at least a thousand shots up a day. I have to work on my craft as well as getting stronger physically and mentally."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Lebron James, hands down. He does so many incredible things on and off the court and is a great role model."


Who do you look up to as a role models?

  • "My dad has taught me everything I know about basketball. My coach freshman year was Coach Whitman. He helped me to push myself everyday and is willing to do whatever it takes to help me get better."


What are your plans for the spring/summer?

  • "Freshman year I will be playing AAU with the York Ballers. We are a Hoop Group team and will be playing in a handful of hoop group tournaments along with traveling to Pittsburgh and Virginia."


What are your expectations for your sophomore year?

  • "I would obviously love to play varsity. The senior class has about 10 players so I have a lot of work to do and a lot of competition to beat out."

Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "I would just say don’t compare yourself to your competitors. That’s a huge mistake that kids in high school make. Just be the best version of yourself. People that hate on you are always doing less than you. You’ll never be hated on by someone doing more than you."


High School Coach Information

Logan Whitman - JV

Stephen Schmehl - Varsity (Email)


AAU Coach Information

Gregg Baldassarre


Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page