top of page

Player Profile: Hayden Pardoe (Mill Hall, PA)

Updated: Sep 27, 2023


Name: Hayden Pardoe


Height: 6-6


Position: Small Forward


High School: Central Mountain (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


GPA: 4.0


Status: COMMITTED (Lycoming College 4/1/23)


Hayden Pardoe is a 6-6 Small Forward from Mill Hall, Pennsylvania. He’s a senior at Central Mountain High School, who most notably toured with Next Level Strong on the AAU circuit this past summer. Pardoe had a stellar junior campaign averaging 14 points and 5 rebounds per game, while collecting 45 blocks a season ago.


I was recommended to Pardoe by a few colleagues, and connections in North Pennsylvania. but I caught up with the 2023 prospect on growing up in Northern Pennsylvania, a breakdown of his game and preparation for the last chapter.

 

Breakdown:


Strengths

All-Around Scorer

  • “Pardoe is an efficient scorer from all three levels, who doesn’t think twice about putting the ball in the basket. Already being a taller guard helps, yes, but the way in which he does it is very crafty. The dude's motor is quite impressive. But being able to shoot from 20 feet out, take defenders off the dribble and aggressively, flushing it down on victims, Pardoe is one of the best kept secrets in PA who more people should know about!”


Knockdown Shooter From Deep

  • “One of the purest set shooters in the land, Pardoe is keeping the buzz alive of Northern PA having the best shooters in the state. You should have seen Drew Friberg at State back in the day, and even Jordyn Steindl right now. But back on topic, Pardoe is a reliable knockdown shooter who can stretch the floor and sets his feet nicely off the catch. You just know once you see him, he definitely works on his game with Vision Driven Basketball’s Ethan Khoza.”


Plays Above the Rim

  • “Yes, the basketball words we love to hear! Pardoe lives at ease above the rim. I’m not sure if he gets it from Central legend Collin Jones, who’s a beast at Lebanon Valley College, or it’s all talent but Pardoe knows how to pop off in the sky. Being 6’6” helps but I promise you, I seen clips at Spooky Nook and dude’s game is simple yet strong.”


Runs Well In Transition

  • “Pardoe is as graceful as they come in the open game. Whether it’s running the floor hard to receive the ball or pushing it on the break, he’s a very smart prospect who works on the little things that get you noticed!”


Shot Blocking Ability

  • “Being at 6’6" comes with many advantages, and one of them is living on the glass defensively as a shot blocker. Having close to a 7-foot wingspan, Pardoe excels at making his presence known on the defensive side of the ball. And, to add on that he has another year left on his belt, if Pardoe isn’t leading 5A with blocks, it could possibly be an issue *laughs*.”


Things to Work On

Being More Physical

  • "The main things I'll point out is Pardoe will need to work on building a frame. As I told him, in college you won't be able to go through defenders with ease with height. But if he can add on more muscle and work on his strength, I believe that he can shock the world at the collegiate level and become a force!"


Shot Creation

  • "Shot creation is also a must work on for Pardoe. Yes, he can score from all three levels which is nice in the long run, but why not become an elite scorer? Working on his one-on-one game and creating space off the dribble, if Pardoe can become craftier within his skillset, he will start to open the eyes of college recruiters."

 

Hayden Pardoe Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball in Second Grade. Since I was 7 years old.

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I’m a 6’6" Wing, with guard skills and the ability to score at all three levels with my height and length combo. I move well off the ball and during ball actions. Great length to guard quickness on the perimeter, and alter shots at the rim."

Being from North Pennsylvania, not as much exposure compared to the rest of the state. But with the basketball talent starting to rise, and potentially putting y’all are on the map, how have you been helping in grabbing people’s attention to show that there are multi-talented athletes everywhere?

  • "I think we get overlooked because we're just a bunch of 'rednecks' to everyone else *laughs*. I think this high school season and AAU season, the teams I’ve been on have been successful and proved to a lot of people that were here and were only getting better. Throughout AAU we’ve beaten some big city teams, and put Central PA on watch. People are starting to see that we work hard up here for everything we want, and the results are only going to continue to show."


How was your junior season?

  • "It was great, we started off slow and a bad start, but something clicked and from there. There were a lot more highs than lows. We won the second ever district championship in school history, and one the school’s first ever state playoff games at home. We made it to the sweet 16 in the 5A PIAA State Tournament. Personally, the season went great, I played past everyone’s expectations, and the years of hard work I’ve put in started to show and I saw great results. This has only led to me want more and to continue to silence the haters."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Right now, as summer wines down, I wake up, lift and workout after with my school ball coach, Tyler Bardo and some great teammates. I did that all summer, and hopefully will continue to do so this fall. In the evenings, I’m either in Lewisburg at AAU practice with my teammates and head coach Kathy Fedorjaka for her team, Next Level Strong. Other nights, I head to State college and Train with my old JV coach Ethan Khoza, and his brother Cam (Khoza). I’m very grateful for all these impactful people that I mentioned, and they've truly changed me and helped me become the player I am today. I’m only going to continue to grow, and get better with them and their contributions to help me reach the highest level I can."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Giannis Antetokounmpo and Michael Jordan are the Athletes I look up too."

Who do you look up to as role models? (Influences could be family, close friends, etc)

  • "My Coaches at Central Mountain, Collin Jones, mom, dad, and to my PG and best friend, Jack Hanna."


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • "When you ask what I’m looking for in a college, I immediately think education for obvious reason. One being that the student comes before the athlete but also, I want to attend a college that is going to educate me and prepare me to be successful in the real world one day. I want to look for a college with a campus I fall in love with, as well as a college that has my major and can prepare to be a productive person in today’s society. Basketball is my love and passion, so when you ask what I look for in a college, basketball is obviously a huge part. When looking, I want to find a program where I can make lifelong relationships with the coaches, make connections, fit into the system and where I can continue to evolve my game. And, get better during my time at the college. Most of all, I want to look for a program that feels like home for me!"

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I just started being able to dunk of both feet as well as one foot so that’s one. Another thing I’m excited to see is all the hard work I’ve been putting in since I was 7 years old to show and to see the results, I’ve worked for the last 9 years."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Never stop giving everything you got, Trust the process, and look for progression over perfection!"



Hayden Pardoe Junior Season Highlights (2021-2022)


Twitter @hayden_pardoe


High School Coach Information

Head Coach: Tyler Bardo - tbardo@kcsd.k12.pa.us

Assistant Coach: Ethan Khoza - ethankhoza21@gmail.com


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page