top of page

Rising Star: Alaina Sweet (Mechanicsburg, PA)

Updated: Jul 13, 2022


Name: Alaina Sweet


Height: 5-6


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: Mechanicsburg (PA)


Graduation Class: 2026


AAU Club: Mid Penn Motion


Status: Uncommitted


Alaina Sweet is a 5-6 Combo Guard from Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania. She’s a rising freshman at Mechanicsburg Area Senior High School, and runs with Mid Penn Motion on the AAU circuit. Sweet is the first 2026 girls prospect of the RPN.


I caught up with the 2026 prospect on a breakdown of her game, the summer basketball period and preparation heading into year one.

 

Breakdown


Strengths:

Athletic Prospect

  • ”Quite frankly, I haven’t seen a ‘26 more athletic than Sweet this year. In terms of her movements and having a second gear, it is THERE. Sweet’s able to beat defenders off of an efficient quick first step, I’ve been impressed with the pace she plays at.”


Can score at all three levels.

  • ”Many younger prospects think, ‘I have to score and dribble a hundred times while doing it.’ Not in Sweet’s eyes. For not playing an official varsity possession yet, she has shown that she can score from all three levels at an efficient rate. Her growth will come as a guard, but this is still a positive takeaway at her age right now!”


High IQ Guard

  • ”I am so glad that Sweet has the chance of playing with Priya Loran this winter. Being under an intelligent upperclassman who’s been through it, it will make her better as a guard. Plus, more games for me to go to *laughs*. But Sweet always looks to make the right play, and play it smart within her basketball IQ. Making the right reads will be important for her playing in Clay McAllister’s offense.”


Shot Mechanics

  • ”One of, if not the most, impressive trait of her game is how she shoots the ball. Many kids struggle to find good shooting form early. But not in this case. Sweet has a timely release on her shot, while having a high arch that’s hard to block. To be honest, and I might get ‘cancelled’ *laughs*, she shoots it better than a lot of older prospect from her form alone.”


Tenacious Defender

  • ”Sweet can defend, plain and simple. I’d trust her as my lead guard in a system to play hard on both sides of the ball. Sweet does a good job of sliding her feet, and hustling to make the extra effort on the defensive end. And, although she will be moving up to the high school division this year, she’s looking forward to being a primary defender and arise to new challenges.“


Things to Improve On:

Developing a cleaner pull-up.

  • ”Sweet told the RPN that she wants to develop a consistent pull up jumper. And, I believe it. Sweet has shown improvement even off ball screens of knocking down the pull up. But, being more deadly in the open court, and showing opposing defenses that she can stop on a dime? Will be much needed to make her a better guard!”


Facing Contact

  • ”Sweet is a skilled guard, but she will need to work on facing contact. Whether it’s dribbling against aggravating defenders or finishing through contact, it’s a must. She will learn over time how physical varsity basketball can be, and I think that she will do just fine. It’s all a confidence thing!”


Improving on her Basketball IQ

  • “Sweet knows ball, yes. But why settle and go through the motions? There’s always something you can improve on throughout your career. Sweet can score aggressively, and make the right play. But why not become a better playmaker? At times, Sweet looks very confident and shot ready, but her tunnel vision can get crazy. This can be corrected though. Creating for yourself is the way to build up your stock, but creating more for others raises it even more. As long as Sweet continues to play confident on both sides of the ball, and learn from those guiding her, I believe that she can be the next best thing to come out of South Central PA!”

 

Alaina Sweet Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball in second grade at Rutherford Youth Club. I played in the rec program through fifth grade, and now I spend a lot of time there helping out.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I'm good at attacking the basket off the wing, and finishing with either hand. I am a strong finisher in transition, and a good mid-range jump shooter.”


How has summer basketball been for you?

  • “Summer basketball has been going really well. Playing with the varsity program gave me the chance to see what high school basketball will look like, and get to know the upper classmen. Recently we went to JMU camp, and played some tough competition. It was a lot of fun, and I'd say we played pretty well considering the team is pretty young. Overall, it's been a good experience and I can't wait for the season.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “I usually spend four or fivedays a week in the gym. I'm either at RYC getting shots up with my dad, or at Unleashed PotentiaI. I like to focus on shooting off the dribble, and ball handling. I also workout at the YMCA and the park with friends.”


What are your plans for the rest of the live period?

  • “I play for Bill Haertsch on Mid Penn Motion. The rest of the season we're playing at the Nook (Spooky Nook) in the East Coast Showcase, Hoop Group Championships, and Select Super Showcase.”


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “I look up to Paige Bueckers. I look up to her because she has a great work ethic, and watching her helps me get better as a player.”


Growing up in the gym with dad, Awaan, describe the connection you two have from the family basketball standpoint?

  • “Without my dad, I'm not the player I am. He's taught me so much about the game, and how to be the best I can.”


Who else do you look up to as a role model?

  • “I look up to my mom too. She supports me in everything I do, and never misses a game.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your freshman season?

  • “In my freshman season I’m excited to be a part of the team. I have been looking forward to high school basketball since sixth grade, so I am really just excited to get out there!”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Never let someone tell you what you can and can’t do. As long as you work hard, you can do anything you want to and remember to always stay humble. Thanks again for the opportunity, I really appreciate it!”


Alaina Sweet - Mechanicsburg ‘26



Media coverage on Alaina Sweet



High School Coach Information

Clay McAllister - Email


AAU Coach Information

Bill Haerstch - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Instagram: http://instagram.com/rpnfactory

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page