top of page

The Priya Loran Interview (Austin, TX)

Updated: Aug 4, 2023


Brought a special guest to my platform this morning.


Priya Loran, pictured above, is a junior at Mechanicsburg Area Senior High School, in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania.


Loran was born in Austin, Texas but moved to Mechanicsburg at 5-years-old. She’s a point guard on the Wildcats’ varsity basketball team and plays for the Pennsylvania Classics Girls Soccer Academy in travel. Loran was named to the PennLive 2022 All-Rookie team for her junior season performances in helping the Wildcats to a District 3 championship and 5A final four appearance.


Loran also holds a 4.0 in the classroom, and is a part of the National Honor Society, an organization that is dedicated to recognizing and encouraging outstanding high school students in grades 10 through 12.


I first discovered Loran from this past winter. It was at a basketball game and she was facing off against one of my 25’s, Olivia Jones. Although, Mechanicsburg lost to Cedar Cliff that night, a team who was 29 and 2 last season, I noticed Loran throughout the game and monitored her.


With me being a scout, they always say to look for the best talent avaliable, but despite the Wildcats playing bad that night, I noticed a lot of good in Loran that wasn’t basketball related. She held a positive attitude throughout the rough stretch, continued to listen to her coach but though shots weren’t falling that night, Loran didn’t give up on herself and I picked up on it. And, thinking of it over time, I’m glad I seen that game as it led to me welcoming her into my network to learn more about Loran.


This isn’t one of my typical basketball pieces.


Before I began to get into basketball work, I worked with old high school friends and other colleagues on regular interviews. I’m all about highlighting the right kids and their character and meeting Loran over time, she’s a wonderful young lady who has her head on straight and is above her years through her humble demeanor. I always heard great things about her as she doesn’t have a scratch nowhere. Loran is planning to attend a 4-year university, and potentially entering the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) world in her college career.


I caught up with Loran for an interview on life after the season, her life goals and the experiences of being an Indian-American girl.


Check it out below.

 

The Priya Loran Interview

Priya Loran! Welcome aboard, how’s everything been lately?

  • “Hey Tyreese! Life’s been great, and I have been balancing school and travel soccer as of this point. We are getting ready for our showcase which is hosted every year at the end of June in California through the Girls Soccer Academy League. Everything I do throughout the week takes up a lot of time and energy, but I love the rush! While it would be nice to take breaks and enjoy other parts of my life outside of my academic and athletic duties, these are my primary focus and I am happy with the intensity of my schedule.

For those who may not know you, introduce yourself!

  • “For those who do not know me, my name is Priya Loran and I am currently in my Junior year as a scholar for Mechanicsburg Area Senior High School. My primary responsibilities in life are my academic and athletic pursuits. I play on Mechanicsburg’s girls varsity basketball team which has led many successful seasons including a wild run to the District Championships this past season. I play as a Midfielder for the Girls Soccer Academy League, a ‘Leading Youth Development Platform for the Best Female Soccer Players in the United States’. I like to live a vivid and independent lifestyle, setting achievable goals, and accommodating both my physical and mental health. It’s exciting as I navigate this journey while finding what best interests me and sculpting my own identity.

The thing about me is that I always look to enhance and preach diversity throughout my work. Finding talent and character are the first priority, but welcoming people from different communities creates a bigger impact. Being an Indian-American girl, especially in a sport where it’s rare within the country, talk about your experiences and how you got into basketball?

  • “Being an Indian-American athlete, there are definitely lower expectations when it comes to talent in the sports world. People don’t always expect you to be the strongest, quickest, or most decisive player on the court. Therefore, fulfilling a position that I did in the Mechanicsburg Basketball Community brought challenges but also insights into who I can become as a player and person. I started basketball out of pure curiosity, unaware of how far this passion would actually take me. Throughout my time on the court I have learned what it takes to push past the judgments and expectations that society has for players like myself, and I encourage other Indian-American athletes to build a reputation that fulfills their ambitions and makes them happy.”

Now tackling life on the field, when did you first start playing soccer?

  • “My development on the field began at the age of 6 years old, and my first coaches were my parents. Soccer definitely involves a different mindset which requires a lot of psychological strength in order to analyze the path of the soccer ball and the attitudes of the players. At the beginning of high school I made a commitment to extend my soccer career to one of the most competitive and developing female soccer leagues in the United States, ‘Girls Academy League’. This league spreads the voice and visions of girls in sports as they have founded a platform that is run by the players themselves. Specifically on the panel of players from around the country, I represent my team as a Club Representative who takes action in bringing ideas and issues faced on a more local level to the national level of soccer. I love bringing about change in this way not only for present prominent issues but also the respected future.

Within the culture, do you celebrate any family traditions or cultural practices?

  • “Yes! Being surrounded by Indian tradition is so humbling and provides a sense of belonging. Diwali is a huge holiday which symbolizes the victory of light over darkness. Rakhi is also an important tradition for families because it celebrates brotherhood, love, and fortune. Brothers swear to protect the household and fulfill the position of manhoodship. Indian weddings are one of my favorites, and they are so uniquely different from traditional American weddings. Finally, when my Nani, hindu semantic meaning grandmother, visits we will take a trip to the indian temple, Sikh Gurdwara, to worship their gods and prayers, which is very spiritually humbling.”


You had an amazing junior season at Mechanicsburg. From soccer winning another District championship to the basketball program going to the final four of the PIAA 5A tournament. In your best words, describe your success throughout the most important year of high school?

  • “One word to describe my junior season is leadership. After the seniors left, I had to step up in a more intense role on the varsity basketball team for Mechanicsburg. I took along with me leadership qualities that I feel brought out the best in myself and teammates. Focus, defense, and drive were important factors that led our team as far as we had made it, but along that journey I also tried to encourage laughter, excitement, and a love for the sport. I noticed that we played our best when we played with passion and pleasure, and with that mentality I experienced one of the best seasons I have ever had throughout my athletic years. Throughout this season I was also encouraged by the recognition that I received after the games. From social encouragement from friends and family, to commending interviews from PennLive writers. Even after the season ended, we continued to be recognized through postseason accolades such as the PIAA final four interview and a Mechanicsburg school board interview. I also made the PennLive All-Rookie team, which is a huge accomplishment and shoutout for being the player I was able to provide for Mechanicsburg this past season.”

Academics play an important part in your life. Being at the top of your class at Mechanicsburg, discuss the importance of hard work and attention to detail in the classroom.

  • “Ever since I was little, my attention in the classroom has presided over all else. Again, coming from an Indian background, I was very grounded to do well in school. So yes, I work the hardest while I am in school knowing a strong education will be the foundation of my very exciting and upcoming future. Being attentive and committed to my academics contributes to similar qualities that I use on the soccer field and basketball court.

Away from academics and a busy athletic schedule, everybody has some time to themselves in some way. In your past time, what are your favorite hobbies and interests?

  • “While it is important for me to prosper in school and work hard on the court and field, my free time is of great importance to me. I try to get back on track mentally and physically in my free time, which includes planning out meals, meditating, and talking to family. For the social aspect of my life, while very limited but so paramount in life, I try to surround myself with those of the same goals and motivation and I like catching up with friends on weekends. More recently, to gain more insight into the entrepreneurial aspect of the world, I have begun a small shoe retail business that I can make a little money on every so often. I also invest my time and money into the stock market, as I have found this to be an interesting and worthwhile hobby which has taught me a lot about decision making and risk management.”

You told me your brother, Noah attends the University of Southern California (USC) for college. Describe your experience of growing up with an older brother by your side, and your first year without him in Mechanicsburg.

  • “I don’t want to get all sentimental but Noah if you're reading this, skip past this question *laughs*. First of all, growing up Noah was full of spunk, mischief, and a mastermind of new ways to torture me. We were always so competitive, even in the most non competitive situations like who would finish their meal first or grow the tallest. He definitely showed me that my first priority when meeting a guy would be that I would have to humble him.”


  • “But on a more serious note,” Loran continued. “I don’t know what I would have done without a brother growing up. Much of my aspirations and a drive to achieve my goals comes from the mentorship and idolship that Noah has provided. He is on his way to receiving a Doctoral Degree and becoming a Neuroscientist, which motivates me to lead a life with curiosity and change. Just as competitive as he was in the classroom, he also achieved many things on the ice playing Ice Hockey. In a way we are more similar than we are different, which is why it hit me so blindly when he left for college the imprint he made in my life. It was harder to focus in school, and I had to play a bigger sister role for my younger sister when Noah left for college. At the same time, I learned many valuable lessons including the power of independence and awareness to make my own decisions. Overall, Noah has played and continues to play a meaningful role in my life as a brother I look up to.”

Speaking of college, it’s a big step for a teenager as you’ve probably already heard stories from your bro. What schools have you been looking at early in the game, intended major and most importantly, what do you look for in a college?

  • “The change from high school to college is going to be a big one, but I am more excited than nervous for sure. I, similar to my brother, would really love to go to school in California and I have been looking at places like UCLA, USC, and UC Berkeley. While I dream of going to schools like these, I know there are so many opportunities and schools that I am only beginning to consider and research. What I look for in schools are their sports programs, student body environments, and most importantly, academics. I am also attracted to schools with larger campuses, lots of diversity, and a unique environment. In terms of majors, I do not yet have a specific field of study but I most likely will choose something in the STEM world as the possibilities in STEM are growing for more and more women like me.

It is still very early for you, but what are three goals that you want to achieve in life?

  • “This is probably one of the most important but hardest questions to answer because my life is continuing to change day to day, and I’m only just now starting to discover myself and who I want to be. For one, I want to be the change behind creating a better and more competitive atmosphere for athletes of all ages. This includes improving mental health all around the world from the stresses and pressures placed on sports players, and providing opportunities for those with talent that are not given the chance to show the world. Two, I want to lead a successful social and occupational life. What I put into my work and time should be evident in the results of my success, and I want to share that success with the people I love and laugh with. Last but not least and probably the most important achievement I want, is to be happy. The decisions I make should be made with reasons that impact my happiness and not the role that society expects me to play. I want to do things for myself which I can get the most out of to live satisfied and proud.


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “‘Paradise’ by Coldplay. Skip to 2:20!”


Media Links on Priya Loran





To view PennLive articles, copy the headline of the article, then paste it into a google search engine. From there, click on the first link that looks familiar then you should have full access.


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page