top of page

The Vilius Kuzminskas Interview (Lithuania)

Updated: Sep 23, 2022


Name: Vilius Kuzminskas


Hometown: Jonava, Lithuania


Height: 6-2


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: Dagenham Park Church of England School (Dagenham)


Graduation Class: 2023


Status: Uncommitted


Vilius Kuzminskas (Cuz·mince·kiss) is a 6-2 Combo Guard from Jonava, Lithuania. He's currently a senior at Dagenham Park Church of England School, and plays with the Baltic Stars Basketball Club in the CBL. Kuzminskas moved from Jonava to Newham, England in 2011. I discovered the 2023 prospect from Diana Goryanova, who's a coach at Ormiston Park Academy (OPA), and parent of international prospect and Division 1 recruit, Ines Goryanova. I caught up with the Lithuanian guard on his time at Dagenham Park, preseason training and preparation heading into the season.

 

Vilius Kuzminskas Interview

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • “I first started playing basketball when I was 11 years old.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I am a very athletic player who runs and hustles all game long, mostly gaining points of fastbreaks. I have a great ability to shoot making me a threat on offence, as I am always ready to make the right decision whether I pull up or blow by my defender. I have a great leaping ability enabling me to gather boards on defence, and offence. Mostly my stamina allows me to play tight defence on my man the whole game making it as tough as possible.”


Dagenham Park caught my attention last season, as they are known for their player development and competitive nature. Describe your experience of playing for a well ran program, and being surrounded by like minded hoopers.

  • "Being apart of Dagenham Park has allowed me to improve myself in many ways. The competition during training is always intense, which helps us achieve goals and gain success. It also makes it easier to perform during games, as we practice how we want to play. Playing with great minded hoopers is an honour. It has allowed me to learn new things, which I can use in my game and match up with them in every practice. DP has also helped me mentally as well as physically to help me control my emotions. With continous high intensity practices against tough hoopers, and providing ways to prepare for a match or training."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Being at this early stage, I always make sure my body is right. To keep building on it, making sure I'm stretching and lifting daily to help strengthen my body and also avoid injuries. Also, I try to master the key skills of basketball, as well as always improve my skills to progress on to tougher competition. I can use this to make an immediate impact on court. I make sure I'm correct mentally on and off the court. Whether, I listen to my favourite music, or sit in a dark quiet room for a few minutes to help myself relax."


So, how’s team training been for you this far in the preseason?

  • "With the academy and team, I train daily. Having academy trainings two to three times a week, as well as individual sessions throughout the week which can include one-on-one skills and also the weight room. School sessions are led by Coach Pierce (Maslen) and Jordanas Mejeras. With my club, I also practice twice a week and have game days on weekends. These sessions are now led by Coach Lucio. During holiday time, I like to practice with coaches outside of school and club, for example with Coach Diana (Goryanova) where she helps improve my skills with conditioning and basketball combined."


Throughout our process, you told me it would be a dream to play in the United States. If an opportunity would be presented to you, what would that mean to you and your family?

  • "If an opportunity to the States was presented to me, I would be extremely honoured. It has always been a main dream of mine to play and study there."


Which basketball player do you look up to the most and why?

  • "The basketball player I look up to most would definitely be LeBron James. His impact off the court, as well as on the court, helping a lot of others. Also, the way he has kept himself in shape and ready to play for countless years makes me want to be like him."


Who do you look up to as a role models?

  • "Some role models I look up to in life is my Mum, main coaches and also LeBron. I want to be just like them, and be able to help others whilst still doing the things that I love."


I know it’s early, but what are you looking forward to in your U18 season?

  • "Being my last chance to compete in U18, this year I am looking forward to enjoying this time with my teammates. But, am expecting to win the chip for the final time together. I'm looking forward to the tough competition, but most importantly just enjoying myself out there."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "If you want something, don’t waste time and go after it!"


Vilius Kuzminskas - Dagenham Park '23


Vilius Kuzminskas Sophomore Season Highlights (2020-2021) https://www.instagram.com/tv/COuliGaJnYx/?igshid=MDJmNzVkMjY=




Contact Tyreese Smith



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page