top of page

The Tayshawn Colvin Interview (Liberty Lake, WA)


Name: Tayshawn Colvin


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Point Guard


High School: Liberty (Spangle, WA)


Graduation Class: 2022


AAU Club: Idaho Select


GPA: 4.0


Status: Uncommitted


Tayshawn Colvin is a 6 foot point guard from Liberty Lake, Washington. He's currently a senior at Liberty Lake High School and ran with Idaho Select throughout the AAU circuit. I've had conversations with Colvin before this project and the guy is a very laid back individual who you'd want to be around. But on the court, all the peace goes out of the window with how he competes. Colvin is a highly skilled guard who can score at all three levels, always ready to make big defensive plays taking charges and is a leader by example. He also reached the 1,000 point milestone during his junior season.


If you are a college coach who's in need of adding a point guard for next year, Colvin is your guy. Off the court, he's a character guy who's all about family and has a positive effect on anybody he surrounds himself with. I just hope you are a Dodgers fans because it would make the process more smoother. I'm kidding *laughs*, but I caught up with the Liberty standout in an interview below.

 

TAYSHAWN COLVIN INTERVIEW

When did you first start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball in Kindergarten in a YMCA league."


Describe your game.

  • "I’m a high IQ point guard who always looks to make the right play in the right situation whether that be creating for myself or my teammates. A very crafty 3 level scorer who especially excels in the midrange. Also, a great defender both on and off the ball with the ability to read and react, and get in position to draws charges nightly. I averaged more than 1 charge drawn per game last season."


How was your junior season?

  • "My junior season was great. I was incredibly happy to get a junior season it didn’t look like it was going to happen originally especially after both our baseball and softball teams got shut down after a massive COVID outbreak. It was definitely different having to play in a pandemic whether it be wearing masks while playing, limited fans in the stands or even not being able to talk with the opposing coaches and players after the game. But it was a blessing just to get to play. We as a team had great success throughout the season especially going into districts as the league champs and only having lost one game. Unfortunately, we lost in the district semifinals which was bittersweet as I eclipsed 1000 career points in that game. I always felt like I was a great playmaker and passer ,but I took it to another level last season by bumping my assist average up from 5 to 7 a game."


How was the live period for you?

  • "The live period was really good for me. I played for Idaho select for my tournaments and was happy with how it went. That period really helped to keep improving my game by playing great talent every game. I definitely got better in all aspects of the offensive side of the ball and especially finishing through and over bigger defenders. Although, I believe it was my defense that improved the most over that time. It truly made me have to work game in and game out on the defensive side of the ball. Never having a break from defending quick, strong and athletic guards improved my defense greatly."


How’s your college recruitment been coming along?

  • "My recruitment has definitely been up and down. Which is to be expected you aren’t always going to hear what you want to hear from coaches, but I’m grateful for all of the answers whether they be, we’re interested, we’ll stay in touch or you aren’t exactly the fit we are looking for. Even the no responses are good for me not only with motivation, but learning to deal with them and move on as well."


Having your dad, Chris Colvin along with you throughout your journey, how’s the experience been with him on and off the court?

  • "What can I say my dad has been with me from the jump. Motivating me, training me, coaching me and everything in between. I’m incredibly grateful for everything he has done. He hasn’t coached me consistently since 8th grade, but he did get back into the guys game of coaching for one tournament with me and that meant a lot. It was so great to have him as my coach again. I always loved having my dad as my coach and trust me it comes with its high's and low's. There isn’t anyone who knows me better both mentally and physically, which allowed for me to be at my best knowing my coach knew my strengths and how to utilize them the best. Although, he still trains me at least 5 days a week and pushes me to be better and get better. Off the court, our relationship is different it is no longer player and coach it’s dad and son. We like to separate the two so it doesn’t affect both. I’m essentially just a younger version of my dad so we connect and do things very similar. Whether it be cheering for the Cowboys, Lakers and Dodgers, just talking or vibin' out to music together, it’s always a amazing time. There’s still lots of competitiveness when off the court. Playing games like dominoes, cribbage or spades we both hate losing so we always go as hard as we can. Which shows exactly where I got my hate for losing from."


Let’s have some fun here. What is your music taste like?

  • "Music is a huge part of my life. I can’t go a day let alone a few hours without music. My music taste is definitely a little different than most I will say. Of course the main genre I listen to is Rap and Hip Hop and my favorite artist has got to be A Boogie Wit The Hoodie. I’ve been rocking with A Boogie since his SoundCloud days so you know he got bangers. I also mess with guys like Travis Scott, Migos and Pop Smoke. I’m also a huge Michael Jackson fan ever since I could remember I’ve been listening to MJ because what can you say he’s the GOAT. He was the guy that made me love music. Now the genre that I’ve grown up on that not a lot of people especially my age listen to is the Disco and Funk era of music. My two favorite groups from that genre has got to be Gap Band and Earth Wind and Fire. It comes as a shock to most people, but I listen to that genre of music at least once a week."


What are your favorite tv shows, or movies of all time?

  • "When it comes to TV shows the two best shows of all time in my opinion are The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air and Martin. I grew up on those two shows and I even got DVDs to every season of both those shows, so I can rewatch them whenever I want. A more recent TV show I really like is The Blacklist. I just love the drama and suspense that show has every episode. Picking a favorite movie overall is a tough one, but my favorite sports movie is easily Love & Basketball. When I was younger I wanted to be just like Quincy McCall. I thought he was the coolest and smoothest dude out there."


Who’s the best shooter in the family?

  • "Best shooter in the family is definitely a question that gets asked a lot. I feel like I’m definitely the best catch and shoot shooter in the family, but Teagan definitely runs it when it comes to off the dribble. Brookeslee is a good catch and shooter too, but I think I have her in that aspect."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I watch a lot of basketball both games and workouts and not just as a fan always but as a student of the game too. Don’t get me wrong most of the time I’m just watching as a fan, but some games I like to really look at what each team is doing and how the players are reading and reacting throughout the game. Those dudes are the best of the best so you can always learn something from them watching. For example, I really keyed in on and watched both Marcus Smart and Kyle Lowry. For an extended amount of time just purely on how they take charges. I took a charge one game and felt a rush that I hadn’t ever felt before. Seeing the opposing team get deflated made me want to master it, so that’s why I watched the two best guys in the league at taking charges and learned from them."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Kobe Bryant is who I look up to the most by far. I grew up a huge Kobe fan, I had a Kobe jersey before I could even walk and talk so he has a huge influence on my game. I’ve watched countless games, videos, press conferences and speeches from and about Kobe. In fact, I wear 32 for Kobe which sounds weird cuz he never wore 32, but 24+8=32. I didn’t want to just wear 24 because that’s what he was wearing at the time, I wanted to combine both his numbers. I even slant my feet the same way as Kobe on my free throws. A huge part of my game is pump fakes, pivots and footwork which was Kobe’s art form. I saw the way he could just toy with defenders without even dribbling and it amazed me, so I wanted to be able to do the same thing."


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "One role model of mine is Jawuan Nave. He is a Liberty basketball alumni who also has been a assistant coach ever since I was a freshman. He has always been supportive of me and been like a big brother to me ever since I transferred to Liberty. He has been crucial in pushing me and is always a great person to have on the bench coaching me through the game. He is also a great person and is one of the hardest working people I know and I am extremely grateful to be his little brother."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I’m looking forward to absolutely ball out for my senior season, I can’t wait to hoop. I want to win a state championship and end my high school career on the highest note possible. Also, I want to continue to put my name on colleges’ radar. To let them know for sure that I can play and impact the game at a high level at the collegiate level."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "The one thing I’ll say is don’t ever get complacent and too comfortable. If you feel like you are doing enough and pushing things back because you feel like someone or something won’t catch up to you, you are wrong. I mean this in every aspect of life not just sports. In school and in your relationships with your family and friends because once you realize you messed up and were too complacent, then you are in a bad spot and are going to have to work even harder than if you were to just stay working from the jump."



Tayshawn Colvin - Liberty High School - 2022


Tayshawn Colvin - Class of 2022


Tayshawn Colvin 2021 Junior Season Highlights



High School Coach Information

Jared Hodl - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page