top of page

The Taylor Ferraro Interview (Camp Hill, PA)

Updated: Aug 4, 2023

What do you think Taylor Ferraro's dream car is?


See, I'd go with a Ferrari with the car being similar to her name, and Ferraro having a second gear on the playing field.


In this case we may never know, as now I remembered that was the question that I forgot to work into this project *laughs*.


Nonetheless, she is one of the girl athletes that have impressed me locally this past year, and that's saying a lot for someone I've crossed paths with in a short amount of time.


I invited Ferraro to my platform not from the viewpoint of an outstanding junior season, but because I have this much trust in Olivia Jones as she has already provided me with a lot of talent these last couple of months.


And, speaking of Jones, me and the Division 1 recruit, caught up with her teammate in an interview, sponsored by the RPN Factory. Ferraro discussed life after the season, her junior campaign, the recruiting process and preparation for senior season.


Check it out below.

 

Taylor Ferraro Interview

Tyreese: When did you start playing soccer?

Taylor: “I began playing soccer at the age of five. I grew up playing at Fusion FC just down the road in Lewisberry, Pa. As a young girl, I remember wanting to play soccer for my whole life. I thought soccer would play a huge role in my future. My father was my coach at the age of nine years old. I then moved to Eagle FC for about 8 years, and enjoyed playing with the team so very much.”

Tyreese: For those who aren’t familiar with your game, how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

Taylor: “As a player, my skills began to evolve when I started playing in more competitive situations. My skill standpoint as an athlete is my speed and agility. My style of play is I like to play quick and with paste. Knowing speed is my strength, I like to use that to my advantage in certain aspects on the field and court. Additionally, being a left footed and left handed player has also made me the athlete I am today.”

Tyreese: How was life growing up in Camp Hill?

Taylor: “Life in Camp Hill has been great! I have lived here my whole life and have made some of the best friendships. It is nice knowing that within a ten mile driving radius, this area provides everything I need or want. I am lucky enough to live in an area where I feel safe, and have the support of friends and family.”


Tyreese: "I'm going to let Olivia ask a few questions now."

Olivia: Girl, if you are hanging on by a thread right now, so am I *laughs*. I've been tired, but how has life been after the season?

Taylor: ”Life after the season has been great! I have been taking time to myself to focus more on catching up on my schoolwork, along with strengthening my body to decrease injury for the future. Lately, my time has been consumed with travel soccer for the Girls Soccer Academy League. We have numerous training sessions per week, along with traveling for league play and showcases throughout the spring and summer.“

Olivia: How was your junior season of soccer?

Taylor: “My junior season for soccer was interesting. We began the season off with a 3 and 3 record for the first round of league, but it went downhill from there. High school ball has definitely benefited me, because I need to become more selfish with shooting and with handling the ball in certain situations. My season unfortunately fell short due to suffering from a dislocated patella, and a MCL tear in my right knee mid-season during a high school game. Although the outcome of this past season did not turn out the best, we have real potential going into this next season with our new head coach Nick Hammaker. Big things are coming for the Cedar Cliff girls soccer program.“

Olivia: How is your recruitment process for soccer going?

Taylor: “My recruitment process for soccer is going rather well. I have had attention and reach outs from some of the schools that have been my dream schools for a while now. I am very excited to finally make my decision close to the beginning of fall. I am beyond excited for the next steps in my soccer journey wherever that may be.”

Tyreese: Everybody knows that you are a two-sport athlete, and was one of the reasons Cedar Cliff had a successful basketball season this past winter. How was your junior season from your perspective?

Taylor: “My junior season was by far the best season I have had in my basketball career. We really clicked as a group, and that collective drive and concern for each other definitely made us a more cohesive team on the court. Most of us have played together since we were younger, as well as Coach Weyant has coached us from Rec ball to AAU to Cedar Cliff basketball. We did make it to the semis in both districts and states this year, but fell short each time. It was definitely a season to remember.”

Olivia: You’ve had my dad, Dwayne, as a coach for quite a few years at Saint Theresa. How was it having him as an assistant coach for your junior year at Cedar Cliff?

Taylor: “I could write a whole page on this subject. Coach Jones has truly influenced my athletic career tremendously. He has played a large role in helping me to be the athlete and person I am today. When I would come out of the game, he always had words of motivation and advice for when I would go back in. Not only did he, but his wife, Tammi Jones, has also played a huge impact on me as an athlete. Throughout my life, they have helped me build my confidence and provided feedback in any sport I've played. Other than my family, hands down, they are my number one supporters. I would just like to thank both of them for how much they have impacted my athletic career.”

Tyreese: Which athlete do you look up to the most?

Taylor: “The athlete I look up to most is Mikayla Colohan. She is from BYU and received player of the year this past December as a Division 1 NCAA soccer player. I strive to be the player she is on and off the field.”

Olivia: Who do you look up to as role models?

Taylor: “My biggest role models as of now are my parents. My mom is incredibly hardworking, and a great role model for women, she works so hard. My father has taught me to be humble and appreciate the moment I am in. In sharing his own stories and successes of his wrestling times at Bucknell University and throughout high school. Their work ethic and wisdom are admirable. I appreciate them both very much.”

Tyreese: I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

Taylor: “I am looking forward to having one last go at a winning season with the people and coaches I’ve played with my whole life. We have a lot of potential moving into next season, and I believe we can make an impact, and continue what we have created in this program.”

Olivia: Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

Taylor: “Follow your passion, and trust the process.”


Taylor Ferraro - Cedar Cliff '23 - Spring 2022 Soccer Highlights (PA Classics Academy)



High School Coaches Information

Soccer: Nick Hammaker - Email

Basketball: Scott Weyant - Email


Travel Coach Information

Will Whitty - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page