top of page

The Sarah Lamet Interview (Tigard, OR)

Updated: Apr 25, 2022


Name: Sarah Lamet


Height: 6-4


Position: Power Forward


High School: Tigard (OR)


Graduation Class: 2022


Offers: Saint Martin's


Status: COMMITTED - Saint Martin's University (10/3/21)


Favorite hobbies outside of basketball: Art, baking, cooking and enjoying time in the outdoors.


Expectations heading into senior year: "Continuing to be a leader to my younger teammates!"


Sarah Lamet is a 6-4 Forward from Tigard, Oregon. She's currently a senior at Tigard High School and ran with Oregon Elite in the live period. Lamet also holds an offer from Saint Martin's University. When describing Lamet's game, you can call her, "Miss Fundamental", with her style of play. She's a very smooth post presence that can put her back to the basket while stepping out 15 feet to knock down the jumper. Throughout the shortened 2021 season, Lamet averaged 13 points and 10 rebounds per game for the Tigers stepping into a leadership role. Off the court, Lamet is an intellectual as she has a passion for art painting with acrylics, making digital art on her iPad and loves to learn about new things in life. Lamet is a very well rounded individual not just by her play, but by her character and is a college coach's dream. I believe that she will be very successful no matter what she pursues in life and I'm honored to have done this project with her. Here is my interview with Sarah Lamet, she provided a lot of insight in her answers. I hope you enjoy!

 

SARAH LAMET INTERVIEW

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I have pretty much played my whole life, but I started playing club in 5th grade. I decided to be serious about basketball in 7th grade."


Describe your game.

  • "As for my game, I am a versatile player. I can shoot from the outside and inside and dribble the ball. I move very well for my size as well. On defense, I have a very strong inside presence."


How was your junior season?

  • "It was really great to get to play my junior season! As a team we were kind of rebuilding especially with our new head coach, Heidi DeHaan. She has been a fantastic leader in bringing us together on the floor and on a personal level. I believe the Tigard Tigers have a lot of potential for success. Personally, I am aiming to be a strong force on the team on defense and compliment my teammates skill set with my own on offense."


How was the live period for you?

  • "The AAU season went great as well! This was my first season with Oregon Elite and my last club season ever. I got to learn and grow with a whole team of great players and even better people. Our first tournament after the HS season was in Kentucky, and I had a blast playing some of the nations top AAU teams in the top bracket. Playing the best can be intimidating and we certainly didn’t win all of our games, but it was absolutely the highlight of summer basketball for me. I loved getting to prove ourselves when the odds were against us."


How was the experience of playing in the Prep Hoops showcase?

  • "I honestly didn’t know what to expect going into the PGH showcase. I ended up on a great team with a bunch of scrappy, hardworking players and we dominated! I didn’t place any expectations on myself going into it. I wanted to just go play and have a good time and I totally did."


How has your college recruitment been lately?

  • "College recruitment has been challenging. Especially because of COVID, it seems this year is unlike any other. I am very fortunate to have been offered by Saint Martin's University and I have an official campus visit in late September. I had a great time at their elite camp and am looking forward to getting to know their program more!"


Let’s have some fun here! What is your music taste like?

  • "*laughs* My music taste. I am not really into the modern pop as much, although there are some songs that I like. But I really love alternative rock, country, etc. Some of the artists that I regularly listen to are Coldplay, my all time favorite, Kasabian, The Last Shadow Puppets, A-ha and Phoenix. I also love Taylor Swift, Alabama and Toby Keith. It’s hard to narrow down my music taste to just a few artists, but those are probably the top few right now."


What are your five favorite tv shows/movies of all time?

  • "The Good Place, Penny Dreadful, the Hunger Games. Harry Potter is my childhood, and maybe, the first Thor, or Iron Man. It’s hard to choose *laughs*."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Right now I’ve been working with two different trainers, shout-out to Laurie Vizzini and Nate Bowie. They have been helping me build my shooting and ball handling game. I’ve also been regularly lifting at ROKKE with some of my fellow OE teammates, Reese Ericson and Keelie O'Hollaren, and some West Linn players. At this point, I’m just working to maintain my strength and basketball skills, but I’m really looking forward to the Oregon Elite clinics that are starting up soon. The most improvement happens on the court in live situations, in my opinion."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "There was this one player I was really inspired by Satou Sabally of Oregon Women’s basketball and now pro. I really liked her style. She is my height and runs the floor and can dribble and shoot with ease. Having grown up as a post, and playing other girls of my height in the post position, I think it’s really cool to watch Sabally bring her height to the outside."


Who do you look up to as a role model(s)?

  • "I really look up to Laurie Vizzini, my personal trainer that I’ve worked with since November 2020. Social distancing with masks at the time, we worked outside and sometimes in 32 degree weather when there were no gyms available. She played for Tennessee under Pat Summit, so she has been through the college basketball experience and really helps me navigate this time of my life. I love how positive she always is while still pushing me to be my best. Laurie was a really important part of this last season for me, supporting me as a player and person after 2020, a super tough year."


It’s still early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "For my final year of high school basketball, I really want to focus on being a great leader. As the only varsity year-round basketball player and a senior, I have a responsibility to really be there for my team as much as I can."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Playing basketball for a club and beyond has become very intense. I just want any players my age or younger to make sure that they are playing for the love of basketball and competition. I really believe playing club basketball has helped shape the person I am. The most valuable part of basketball was the adversity and challenges I’ve faced physically, mentally and socially. Sometimes basketball isn’t fun. But it’s still worth it all the way through because whatever challenge you are facing right now, there will be a moment you look back on it someday and see how you became a better person through it."


MEDIA COVERAGE ON SARAH LAMET



Twitter @SarahLamet


High School Coach Information

Heidi DeHaan - Email


AAU Coach Information

Justin Duke

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page