top of page

The Paris Matheos Interview (Canada)

Updated: Jul 18, 2023

Name: Paris Matheos


Height: 6-Feet


Position: Small Forward/Shooting Guard


High School: Western Reserve (OH)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Canada Elite GUAA


Status: Uncommitted


Paris Matheos is a 6-foot Small Forward from Hamilton, Ontario. She's a rising sophomore at Western Reserve Academy, approximately 29 miles south of Cleveland, and runs with Canada Elite on the Girls Under Armour Circuit. Matheos previously attended Lincoln Prep, who’s in the Ontario Scholastic Basketball Association (OSBA).


I first discovered Matheos through her workout and highlight videos. Seeing how hard she works and having a strong ability of practicing how she plays, she has a laser focus for the game. Matheos is a bigger guard who uses her size to an advantage within scoring and rebounding at a high rate.


And, yes you may say that all the work was done in Canada, but I believe that Matheos will adjust accordingly when she arrives in the states.


There are not many young prospects who play as hard as the Canadian.


I caught up with the international prospect in an interview on life in the OSBA, the move to America and preparation for her sophomore campaign.


Check it out below.

 

Paris Matheos Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball when I was 8 years old.“

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “From a skill standpoint I have a high motor. Always looking to get to the net whether it is to score or defend. On defense, I have a natural ability to anticipate the play and create offensive plays in transition.“

How was life growing up in the Great White North?

  • “Great question! I was born and raised in Toronto and recently moved to Hamilton these last four years. Moving to Hamilton was tough as I came at a later age. Trying to make new friends and join new sports clubs was hard, but i managed to hold my own and slowly found my people. The Hamilton community is very friendly and supportive. For instance, I currently live in a court and we are like one big family. All very inclusive, and friendly. There are a lot of young children, so I’m always doing my best to set up fun activities outdoors. One thing I have learned about Hamilton is the competition in sports is very high, which is a great benefit to many athletes.“


How was your first-year experience of high school?

  • “I have to say my first year in high school wasn’t like how I pictured it. COVID happened, and we were homeschooled most of the year. Basketball was cancelled, except for training which continued for the year, thankfully. I’m looking forward to having a real high school experience with dances, joining clubs, playing sports and making lifelong friendships.“

You told me throughout the project that you were Greek Orthodox. Do you celebrate any traditions and or holidays within in your culture?

  • “Being Greek Orthodox is very important to me because it allows me to connect, and have faith within myself through God. One important tradition we have is during Easter we fast for forty days from meat and dairy. At the same time to learn to meditate, and learn our strengths and weaknesses. In addition my faith has allowed me to be disciplined, patient and respectful to those around me. I’m also very patriotic and love visiting Greece!“

How was your freshman season in the OSBA?

  • “My freshman season in the OSBA was fantastic! I was able to play with the best athletes in the country. Playing in the OSBA came with some pros and cons. The pros being I was able to learn so much from my teammates as most were seniors and more experienced than me. I was able to get in the gym every day, and was constantly being pushed by my teammates to be my best self. My teammates helped me become a stronger and tougher player, mentally and physically. The cons to it was, since I was still very young and most of the team were seniors I didn’t get to see the court as I much as I would’ve liked. But that didn’t stop me from becoming the player I am now. I learned patience, and I continued to encourage my teammates. This taught me to be strong, and only made me work harder.“


Making sacrifices as a person is never easy, especially moving to a different environment. This spring, you’ve verbally committed to Western Reserve Academy in Ohio to continue your student-athlete career in the states. Why did you decide to make the move out of the OSBA, and which factors contributed to the decision?

  • “OSBA was by far the best league I have ever played in. The athletes in this league are, probably, the best in the country. I can’t describe my excitement when coach Adams-Wall presented the opportunity to me of playing for Western Reserve. After taking the time to review everything, visiting the school and getting to see what they are all about, I realized that they had everything I was looking for academically and athletically. My parents and basketball mentors here helped me with my decision and I couldn’t be happier!”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “I train daily either by getting in the gym and doing cardio, weights, or taking an hour or two and working on my ball handling and shooting outside. I also try to meet up with JP at ‘The Lab’ when I can and continue my training with my Canada Elite team.“

What are your plans for this summer?

  • “I will be travelling with Canada Elite GUAA and attending these following showcases. We are heading in a couple of weeks to the ‘Slam Summer Challenge’ in Canada on June 25 to 26. Then to the States for ‘Run 4 Roses’ in Louisville, Kentucky on July 5 through the 8th and then heading out with the UA circuit to Hamilton, Ohio from July 10 to the 12. Lastly, ending the GUAA Finals in Lancaster from July 23 to the 25.“

Editor: Hey, I know that place *oohs and aah*. I live so so close to it *laughs*.


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “An athlete I look up to is Haley Jones. She playd for Stanford and in my eyes, is by far one of the most hardworking players I know. In one of her interviews Haley jones said ‘Whatever I want, I have to go get it’ and I couldn’t agree more. She is a great player, and has a very positive mentality.“


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “Someone I looked up to is my dad. I can count on him for anything. He is strong, hardworking and always puts his family first. He has taught me so much, and has helped me become the person I am today. He’s one of the most loving and caring people I know, and always has the best intentions for everyone.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • “I‘m looking forward to playing in Ohio this year at Western Reserve Academy. It’s an incredible opportunity to grow as a player, and being alone for the first time will give me the chance to be more responsible. I can’t wait to get involved with the community, and join as many clubs as my free time allows me to. I look forward to making new friendships, and continuing to further my career in basketball under the guidance of my new coach Adams-Wall.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “All I have to say is to never lose faith in something you truly love and want. No matter how hard it might be at times there’s always a solution. Everything happens for a reason so keep working hard at what you want, and everything will come. Thank you for taking the time to talk to me.”


Paris Matheos Spring 2022 AAU Highlights (Canada Elite GUAA)


Paris Matheos Scouting Report: http://filedropper.com/BaCrzFur



High School Coach Information

Thomas Adams-Wall - Email


AAU Coach Information

Jason Fowler - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page