top of page

The Owen Schlager Interview (Mechanicsburg, PA)

Updated: Feb 10, 2023


Name: Owen Schlager


Height: 6-2


Position: Point Guard


High School: Trinity (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Team Pennsylvania


GPA: 3.2


Status: Uncommitted


Owen Schlager is a 6-2 Point Guard from Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania. He's a sophomore at Trinity High School, and runs with Team Pennsylvania on the AAU circuit. He's also the younger brother of Trinity football standout, Maximilian Schlager.


I first heard a lot about Schlager from numerous sources that I may have lost count at this point *laughs*. The young man receives a lot of praise from different groups of people, and I had to take my chances on him. From seeing him hit a game winning shot against Bishop McDevitt last year to his development as a player this summer, he's been one of the most entertaining players I've seen no matter what a ranking says. Schlager's game has flashed before our eyes, and I am excited to see how he will steer Larry Kostelac's offense as a main guard this year. I caught up with the 2025 prospect on his freshman campaign, the summer basketball period and preparation heading into year two.

 

Owen Schlager Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing competitive basketball at 5 in the YMCA league. When I was young, I would always shoot around with the old (Bishop) McDevitt team when my dad was coaching there."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"I believe I am a point guard with lots of different skill sets. Growing up, I was a pass-first point guard over the last few years. I've developed my ability to score at all three levels. This year, I can consistently finish above the rim which adds another dimension to my game. There are always things to develop and work on, but I think my game is improving and I can't wait for the season to start!"

How was your freshman season?

"My freshman year was really good. The year before, the team went 10-7 and we added a few people and progressed well in the off-season. Then going into last year, we finished 18-7. It was a tough ending losing by 3 in the 2nd round of states. But, my year for me was really good. I averaged around 9 points a game on good efficiency with lots of big games and shots, which was a cool experience."

How’s your summer been?

"This summer was great. For Trinity, we went down to Philly Live, where we did well as a team against high level talent while missing a few key players. Personally at Philly Live, I was the player of the game which was great. It kinda put my name out a little bit. For AAU, I played for Team PA where we were on the Hoop Group circuit and we did very well. I completed at a high level and got a few write-ups as well."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"This summer I've been working with Terrell Jones, who's a great trainer and has trained very high-level talent. I try to get in a workout in the morning 6-8 or 8-10 depending on the day and have been trying to lift 2-3 times a week. I've also worked out a few times at unleashed potential to get my shot better."

Which basketball player do you look up to the most and why?

"Probably James Harden. His way to score, while not being the most athletic or explosive guy is just so impressive and his ability to work with the pick and roll is something that I look at all the time to try to get better at."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"Just my mom and dad really, they've worked so hard for me to be able to do what I love doing. And, they just love seeing me have fun and I have the most fun on the court."

As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

"I look for the highest level possible but also a high academic school is just as important for me. I've visited a few colleges and I like the city feel of campus, but we’ll see what happens in the next few years regarding the recruiting processes."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

"I'm looking forward as a team to make a big run into states, as we have a big freshman addition and two international transfers that will help us significantly. Individually, I just want to help my team win, while improving my stats and efficiency as well as improving on defense."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Just never give up. I believe if you follow god's word, you can do anything. And, if you put your full trust in him, he'll guide you to where it is best for you."

Owen Schlager - Trinity '25 | Shot by @lisaschlagerphotography


Owen Schlager - Spring 2022 AAU Highlights (Team Pennsylvania) | TJ the Director @tjthedirector


Owen Schlager - Summer 2022 AAU Highlights (Team Pennsylvania) | Raw Sports @rawsportsfilms


Owen Schlager at Philly Live (June 2022) | Shot by @rarefootagesports


Media Links on Owen Schlager




Twitter @SchlagerOwen


High School Coach Information

Larry Kostelac - lkostelac@thsrocks.us


AAU Coach Information

Dwan Lee

Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page