top of page

The Melchi Egbeyemi Interview (Nigeria)


Name: Melchi Egbeyemi


Hometown: Brentwood, England


Height: 6-3


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: Barking Abbey School


Graduation Class: 2025


Status: Uncommitted


Melchi Egbeyemi (Egg·bi·yeh·me) is a 6-3 Combo Guard from Abeokuta, Ogun State, Nigeria. Egbeyemi moved to Brentwood at the age of 5. He's currently a sophomore transfer at the Barking Abbey School, and plays for the Barking Abbey Basketball Academy in the Elite Academy Basketball League (EABL). Egbeyemi previously attended the Becket Keys Church ofEngland School. I discovered Egbeyemi this past spring from him filling out my recruit form, then proceeded to watch his tape and the rest was history.


But, I caught up with the Nigerian guard on his freshman campaign, growing up in England and expectations for year two.

 

Melchi Egbeyemi Interview


When did you first start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball five years ago. Around the summer time before I was about to go into secondary school through one of my teachers in primary school. I knew what the sport was before, but had never played it organized."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"I feel like I can score on three levels. I’m good at getting to the rim, and my driving threat allows me to find my teammates on cuts and kick outs. I feel I am a skilled player with good level passing, handling and finishing. Although, there are still big improvements to be made."

How was life growing up in England?

"Life in England is good, comfortable and loads of opportunities. That’s why we moved from Nigeria because we felt it would’ve been better for me to have a successful path in whatever I chose to do. BA (Barking Abbey) is a good school. Not only for basketball, but the coaches push us to not only be good on the court but make sure our time management, with being early, and character is up to scratch. But strength and conditioning, and individuals are implemented into our school day which improves not only my strength but skill which I like."

How was your freshman season?

"Last season wasn’t a bad season for me. I was putting up good numbers. As a team, we didn’t lose a game in all competitions. The only problem is we weren’t in a league that was pushing us as well as we could’ve. But, my school team won nationals which was cool to be a part of."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"Right now we have a schedule at BA. In-between school time, we have scheduled strength and conditioning, weight room sessions and individuals, along with team training daily. I also like to get shots up in the evening at my local gym."

Which basketball player do you look up to the most and why?

"I wouldn’t really say I just have one basketball role model as I pick different things out of players games. Darius Garland for shiftiness, and creativity. Bradley Beal for effective three level scoring, Davion Mitchell for defence, Kyrie (Irving) for handles and control, and Devin Booker and PG (Paul George) for pace and breaking down a defence."

Who do you look up to as a role models?

"My parents because of their dedication and motivation to provide for me and my sister to have the best life possible. Their dedication is what I look up to."

As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college basketball opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

"I’m trying to go to a Division 1 school that is ready to push me mentally and physically. With coaches that are hard on me, and instilling values in the team. With the team also being close and family like."

Season’s underway, but what are you most looking forward to in your sophomore yr?

"As a team we have aspirations to win the EABL. I look forward to playing at a high level and getting stronger, while adding key skills to improve my defensive and offensive game."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Keep working regardless, if you can’t get to the gym, just do ball handling in your back yard or go get up shots at the park. Always try to find a way to get in work. And, when you put that work in, trust it and have confidence."

Melchi Egbeyemi - Freshman Season Highlights (Brentwood Fire)


IG @m5.zee



Contact Tyreese Smith



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page