top of page

The Maisie Grant Interview (England)

Updated: Sep 4, 2022



Name: Maisie Grant


Hometown: Bristol, England


Height: 5-11


Position: Small Forward/Shooting Guard


High School: Bristol Metropolitan Academy


Graduation Class: 2024


Status: Uncommitted


Maisie Grant is a 5-11 Small Forward from Bristol, England. She's currently a junior at the Bristol Metropolitan Academy, and runs with the Bristol Flyers’ U18 team in the Women's National Basketball League (WNBL) in England. Grant is the first addition of my RPN International series this fall.


I first discovered the young lady through one of my recruit searches. One day I was searching for more wing position like players in my database and I found her highlight tape on my Instagram. But, coming across Grant's film from her postseason with the Flyers, I was highly impressed with her inside-out play but her defense really sold it for me. And, even inviting her to the RPN, it was a blessing in disguise from the character perspective. I am usually a busy person and can't juggle everything at once, but taking the initiative on her end, she made sure to get her project done ahead of time to where I didn't have to bug her to be responsible. That showed me a lot different in terms of someone being 100% interested and taking an opportunity seriously. And, I can vouch for kids like that any time of the day!


But, staying on topic I caught up with the British-Jamaican guard on her sophomore campaign, growing up in Southwest England and preparation for junior year.

 

Maisie Grant Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball in 2017, when I joined Bristol MET and was introduced to it during a PE lesson.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “As a player, I consider myself to be very skilled. I am able to play different positions on the court comfortably, and can switch between them quickly. Also, being a taller player, I can dribble the ball well whilst also being able to make accurate and direct passes. I have worked majorly on my shooting during the off-season, as this was a weakness of mine, and hope to showcase how this has improved during the new season.”


How was life growing up in England?

  • “Growing up in England was good, especially in Bristol. There is such a diverse group of people and it’s really beautiful. At school I was always friends with people from multiple ethnic groups and backgrounds and it was really interesting and I learnt a lot about different cultures around me.”


How was your U16 season on the Bristol Flyers as a program?

  • “My U16 season was one of my best yet, individually, but also as a team. This was our first playing season back from COVID, and so we didn’t know how things would play out. We breezed through our league and went unbeaten at 12-0. In December, we reached the semi-finals of the National Cup, where we narrowly lost to the then winners by a couple points. This then gave us a lot of emphasis and motivation to reach the playoffs, which we unsurprisingly did. During our first round playoff game we won by around 50 points and went straight through to the second round. We were very confident going into that game, and also came out with roughly a 40-point win. These playoff wins then meant we went on to the Junior Final Fours in Manchester in April. Unfortunately, our first game we lost to an amazing Manchester team, who also went onto win. This loss meant the next day, we would compete for third place in which we faced the team we had lost to in the semi-final of the cup.”


And, then how were you as an individual?

  • “Individually, my second half of the season was my best yet. Coming off an injury in November, I struggled to settle back into the season. I then was able to find my rhythm, and began playing as a forward. I continuously had good games and was a huge threat on the defensive end getting lots of rebounds and blocks, which then turned in scoring on the other end. In our final playoff game, I had a 10 points and 10 rebound, double double performance in just 19 minutes coming off the bench. At the end of season awards, I earned most improved player and will carry my knowledge and skills from this season on with me.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “Yes, so I work with Coach Maialen Zilbeti and the U19 P16 team. She always pushed us to be the best, and was never happy with anything less than 110%. I also train with my club twice a week, and the sessions would be similar. I always worked to the best of my ability, and tried to learn off other players. I am fortunate to have a hoop outside my garage, so I always practice there on my own when I have free time. I put up shots, and try to create realistic game moves that I can use at a later stage. I have also been fortunate to have access to the gym during school time at my school. I would often play one-on-one during school, at lunch time or just put up some shots. I am grateful for coaches, Hannah Wallace and Tom Hooper, for letting me use the gym once I had left.”


Throughout our process, you told me it would be a dream to play in the United States. If an opportunity would be presented to you, what would that mean to you and your family?

  • “We would be very overjoyed and mostly grateful. As it’s my dream. My parents and family have always supported that, and so I guess it’s their dream as well *laughs*. But it would make me feel happy that through showcasing my talent, someone has been willing to give me an opportunity and that my sisters could look up to that, and be inspired.”


Which basketball player do you look up to the most?

  • “The basketball player I look up to the most is Te’a Cooper. I just love the way she plays the game, and how she’s always so calm and collected on court!”


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • “My role model is Hannah Wallace, but she was also my PE teacher at school. She was the one who first introduced me to basketball, and I've learnt a lot of what I know from her. She also plays herself, so can see stuff from a player and coaching perspective which really helps. She has helped me so much, not just with basketball, but the 5 years at school. I know anyone would be lucky to have her as a coach.”


Let’s say college is in your plan. Now being at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, in the US, what would you ideally look for in a college?

  • “One of the most important things for me would be the team environment. As I'd be so far from home, I'd have to feel comfortable around the people I'm with and have good relationships with them. Academics would also be a big part. It would have to be a college where the course I want to study is available, and there is nothing but good things to say about the college. Location doesn’t bother me, as wherever it is would be somewhere new and a privilege.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to next season?

  • “Just perfecting my craft, and getting better everyday. Next season, I'm looking forward to moving up to U18 and U19 in the WEABL. I can't wait to play college basketball in the UK as it’s grown so much, and the competition is ever increasing.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “As long as you always believe in yourself and put 100% effort into everything, you can achieve your goals and continue to get better every day.”


Maisie Grant - Sophomore Season Highlights (2021-2022)




Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page