top of page

The Magdalena Vukojev Interview (Canada)

Updated: Sep 3, 2023


Name: Magdalena Vukojev


Height: 5-10


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: Blessed Trinity Catholic (ON)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Kia Nurse Elite EYBL


Status: Uncommitted


Magdalena Vukojev is a 5-10 Shooting Guard from Grimsby, Ontario. She's currently a sophomore at Blessed Trinity Catholic High School, and runs with Transway Basketball Club on Canada's JUEL prep scene and Kia Nurse Elite on Nike's EYBL circuit. I invited Vukojev to my platform from her sophomore season performances throughout this past spring. I caught up with the Serbian sharpshooter on her sophomore campaign, life on the EYBL circuit and expectations for junior season.

 

Magdalena Vukojev Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball when I was 8 years old."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"I am a combo type player. I like to take the ball from end to end, shutdown defense and aggressive fast paced offense. I’m not big enough to play down low, but not as small as a point guard, so I have adapted to both, with creative aggressive finishes and long range jumpers. I have great court vision as a playmaker as well."

How was your sophomore season back from Canada’s COVID shutdown?

"With Things constantly being shut down, I had a really hard time going from zero to one hundred on a training standpoint. But, I was lucky enough to have court time a week with my team, without games. The pandemic was a huge change for me. In addition to practice I had the chance to really work on my personal fitness such as working out two to three times a day with morning and after school workouts, lifting, plyometrics, and running, as well as focusing more on my nutrition as an athlete. All these things helped me become stronger and more of a physical threat on the court. Transitioning back into my first year of play, I had the chance to really showcase myself in my school season. I averaged 15 plus points a game, and played a very different aggressive, and physical game compared to prior to the lockdown."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of

things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"Being at an early stage in my career, I am doing various things such as keeping a healthy diet, a good sleep schedule and workout schedule to maximize my improvement. More in depth, to keep improving as a player I have upheld a consistent schedule throughout the week. I attend morning shooting at school two to three times a week. When I am not getting shots up, I am lifting three to four times a week, and after school I run four to five times a week. For my Transway JUEL practice, I practice two times a week for two hours each. On the weekends, if I do not have games or AAU training camp, I typically have a long heavy lift, whereas during the week it's lighter and more focused on plyometrics."

What are your plans for this summer?

"My plans for this summer are to showcase myself to college coaches across the country. I am playing for Kia Nurse Elite, we are on the Nike EYBL circuit and we will be attending these showcases. The Classic on May 20 to 22 in Louisville, Kentucky. Next, we'll be at Run 4 the Roses on July 5 to 8 in Louisville again. After that will be the Nike Tournament of Champions on July 10 to 12 in Chicago, Illinois. Lastly, ending off the summer in D.C. on July 22 to 25."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"I look up to Jamal Crawford the most. He has shown me a different side of basketball, a more creative side. His playmaking ability and skill level is unbeatable. He is a fierce creative hooper who can do everything offensively and defensively, as it's something I aspire to be. To play with meaning and personality."

Editor: I'm so surprised that she didn't say Jokic *laughs*


Who do you look up to as role models?

"I look up to my father. He is a hard working man who has always put me and my basketball first, and taught me to be part of something bigger than myself. He has pushed me and continues to push me to be the best version of myself, and has shown me how to take criticism, failure and channel it into progress and perfection."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in

your junior season?

"I am looking forward to developing into a more physical player in my junior season, as well as more of a threat mid range. I am looking to expand my game, and improve my weaknesses to become more of a well rounded player offensively and defensively. I am also hoping to keep on improving my stats, especially on rebounds and steals."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you

have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last

words?

"All I have to say is, maximize your potential. Keep working your craft, finding ways to be better, and keep being you, there's only one of you so make people remember your name. Go to every practice and game, and work harder than the last. Thank you for having me and giving me the opportunity to answer these questions."


Magdalena Vukojev - Summer 2022 Highlights (Kia Nurse Elite)



Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page