top of page

The Louisa Gibbins Interview (England)


Name: Louisa Gibbins

Height: 6-2

Position: Small Forward/Power Forward

High School: Copleston (Ipswich)

Graduation Class: 2024

WNBL program: Ipswich Basketball Academy

Status: Uncommitted

Louisa Gibbins is a 6-2 Small Forward/Power Forward from Exeter, England. She’s a rising junior at Copleston High School, and plays for Ipswich Basketball Academy in the Women’s National Basketball League (WNBL). Gibbins spent her sophomore year at The Uffculme School, and played with the Bristol Flyers.

Gibbins is a two-way prospect, who’s able to control the pace of the game on both sides of the floor. Having a netball background, with playing on the national scene, has helped the England product’s movements within the game. Being able to finish efficiently inside, block shots down low and has become an improved defender over the past year, I have had a wonderful time recruiting her to the RPN.

And, with the move to Ipswich, I believe Gibbins can be just as good as she wants to be, as long as she keeps taking the right approach to her development.

But, I caught up with the international prospect on her sophomore season, the move to Ipswich Academy and aspirations to play in the United States. She provided a lot of insightful answers!

 

Louisa Gibbins Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball when I was 12 years old for my school team, and then joined a basketball club when I was 13.”

Describe how you are as player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I’m a 6’2” small forward and power forward who’s a defensive minded player, and can defend positions 2 through 5. I’m also a versatile player who likes to attack the rim, exploit mismatches in the post, and have been working on increasing my shooting range.”

How was your U16 and WNBL season for the Bristol flyers?

  • “Our U16 team this year made history and became the first junior team at Flyers to reach the final four of the national competition. We just missed out on reaching the finals when we lost to a talented Manchester team in the semis, but ended up finishing third in the country and was a very successful season overall. My season with the Division 1 women’s team was also a really successful season for me individually. I played with and against very experienced players, which really helped improve my game and the physicality I play with.”

Learning that you’re a two-sport athlete who’s in netball, how’s that been going for you?

  • “In England, netball is a bigger sport for girls than basketball, so I started playing netball at a younger age, 9 and it was the first that I started playing seriously. Netball and basketball are in some ways pretty similar, and netball definitely helps improve some of my skills in basketball with passing and footwork. Although, basketball is the sport I am looking to take forward, as it is my goal to play in the States, I still enjoy playing netball at a high level and this summer I have a trial for the U19 England Roses Academy for netball.”

You’re still at a very early stage of your career, what kind of things are you doing to be the best player you can be?

  • “Always putting in 100% effort at whatever I’m doing, whether that be team training, individual sessions or lifting etc. Also, taking every opportunity presented to me and learning from every experience.”

If an opportunity to play in the states was presented to you, what would that mean to you and your family?

  • “Getting an opportunity to play college ball in the states would be a dream come true. I know my dad would support me every step if the way. Next season, I am moving five hours away from home to play at Ipswich basketball club and academy. It will be a good experience living away from home, and to prepare me if I was offered an opportunity to move to the US to play basketball.”

Which basketball player would you say you look up to the most?

  • “I’ve always looked up to Kobe Bryant. I admire his work ethic, amount of hours and hard work he dedicated to the game and perfecting his craft.”

Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My dad is definitely my biggest role model because although he doesn’t play basketball, he used to be a multi-sport athlete, and I’ve always admired his mindset.”

What are you looking forward to next season?

  • “I’m really looking forward to playing on a new team. With new players, coaches, and developing and improving my game more by experiencing living away from home.”

Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • “My biggest piece of advice for younger players would be to take opportunities every time they’re presented to you, and always work hard and learn from others.”



Louisa Gibbins U16 & WNBL highlights (Bristol Flyers)



Basketball Contact: louisagibbins@yahoo.com


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page