top of page

The Kyan Askins Interview (Harrisburg, PA)

Updated: Jul 1, 2022


Name: Kyan Askins


Height: 5-10


Position: Point Guard (Basketball), Second Base/Outfield (Baseball), Wide Receiver/Cornerback (Football)


High School: Bishop McDevitt (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


GPA: 3.8


Status: Uncommitted


Kyan Askins is a 5-10 Point Guard, and Second Base and Outfielder from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. He’s a rising junior at Bishop McDevitt High School. Askins also participates in McDevitt’s football program spending time at receiver and corner.


I invited Askins to the RPN because of his sophomore year performances under Damon Blair-Jones.


I caughr up with the 2024 prospect this morning in a mini interview.


Check it out below!

 

Kyan Askins Interview

When did you start your journey?

  • “I started my journey for both basketball, and baseball at a very young age. I started around the age of 4 or 5 for both sports, and have been playing ever since. Sports have always been something I love, and I’ve been dreaming of playing at the big level for my entire life.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “I would say I’m pretty good at being able to do things quickly. Like after getting on base, I could steal a base or two or after getting ripped in basketball, I can do a good job of getting back on defense and getting the ball right back. I just feel like one of the quicker ones whenever I’m on the playing field.”


How was your sophomore season?

  • “I’d say my sophomore season was good, but had room for improvement. I did well on my school’s JV team, and stepped up when they needed me for varsity as best as I could.”


How was your baseball season this past spring?

  • “Baseball this spring was great, but had room for improvement also. Next season I’m going to focus more on cutting down the mental errors, learning to bounce back after striking out, making a bad play, etc.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “Practice is key to being the best player you can be. Practicing with your team, trainer, parents, or by yourself. Practice makes perfect.”


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • “I look at how the environment of the college is. If the college is surrounded by bad people and bad things, then it doesn’t really interest me.”


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “Kobe Bryant. Not just because of his skills, but also because of how much he cared for people.


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My main role model is God. I try to live out my everyday life as he lived his, and I just know he’s someone that’ll always be by my side no matter what. I also look up to both my parents as well because they’ve done everything they could to provide and raise me well.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • “I am looking forward to becoming a much more important role for the school basketball team, and showing what I can do.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Be confident in yourself when you‘re playing because it plays a big factor in your performance.”


Twitter @kyanaskins


Contact Tyreese Smith

Instagram: http://instagram.com/rpnfactory

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page