top of page

The Klaudijus Pakalnis Interview (Lithuania)


Name: Klaudijus Pakalnis


Height: 6-4


Position: Shooting Guard/Point Guard


High School: Dagenham Park (Dagenham)


Graduation Class: 2023


ABL Club: DP6 Basketball Academy


Status: Uncommitted


Klaudijus Pakalnis is a 6-4 Combo Guard from Kaunas, Lithuania. He's currently a junior at Dagenham Park Church of England School, and plays with DP6 Basketball Academy in Academy Basketball League. Pakalnis was named ABL East U17 Player of the Year from this past season. I caught up with the Lithuanian guard on his junior campaign, winning player of the year and expectations for his senior season.

 

Klaudijus Pakalnis Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball when I was around 6 years old.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “With my athleticism, I am an inside-out player who can play around the paint, execute moves, and finish around and above the rim. I can also create separation from my opponent, and finish with a midrange pull up. I also defend the paint while grabbing offensive and defensive rebounds, and constantly keeping an eye out for an available teammate. I have excellent leadership qualities because I consistently bring the team together, and maintain a high level of energy during practice and games. My basketball IQ is good since it allows me to get around players, score a basket on my own, and, if necessary, help a teammate.”


How was your U17 season for D Park?“

  • "I feel like my U17 season for Dagenham park was great as me and my team had a very successful run. The team chemistry we had was amazing overall was a fantastic run!”


Being named player of the year is a HUGE accomplishment. How did it feel with people noticing your game throughout the season, and the work you’ve put in?

  • "It’s feels great when people are noticing that your putting the hard work in. To be named u17 player of the year, it really shows when hard work is put in there it's a good outcome at the end of the season."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Constantly on the court and in the weight room getting my body in top shape, and sharpening up basketball skills on the court. Also, maintaining a healthy diet!"


Throughout our process, the United States has been brought up at time. If an opportunity would be presented to you for basketball, what would that mean to you and your family?

  • "It would be an accomplishment as it has always been a dream to fly out, play basketball and study out there."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "An athlete I look up to is Kareem Abdul-jabbar because how he dominated with his sky hook and his attitude, mentality and impact he had towards the game."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "Some role models in my life are my parents, friends, coaches and people that have succeeded."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to next season?

  • "Some things I’m looking forward for next season is to show all the skills I’ve been working in the off season and pre season. Hopefully going back-to-back and winning the chip!"


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Set your goals high, and don’t stop until you get there!"



Klaudijus Pakalnis - Dagenham Park ' 23


2021-2022 DP6 Basketball Academy team


Klaudijus Pakalnis Sophomore Season Highlights (2020-2021)


Contact Tyreese Smith


Photo Credits

Academy Basketball League

DP6 Basketball Academy

Harry Collins

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page