top of page

The Kevin McKenna Interview (State College, PA)


Name: Kevin McKenna


Height: 6-7


Position: Power Forward


High School: State College (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


GPA: 3.6


Status: Uncommitted


Kevin McKenna is a 6-7 Power Forward from State College, Pennsylvania. He's a senior at State College Area High School, and toured with All Day Hoops on the AAU circuit this past summer. McKenna is best known on the court for his ability as a stretch forward to hit the trey with accuracy, and solid play in the post. Hence: Why I invited him to the RPN for an interview session!


But I caught up with 2023 prospect on his junior season, summer basketball period and preparation for the last chapter.

 

Kevin McKenna Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball since I can remember. My dad signed me up when I was 3, and I’ve been playing ever since."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "As a player, I believe that I am a big who defends well and can stretch the floor. And, can also make some good passes for my teammates."


How was your junior season?

  • "My season had a lot of up’s and downs. I missed about half of the season due to being sick. We started off not how we wanted too, but we picked it up at the end of the year and made the state playoffs."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I make myself better by just playing basketball every day. Whether that’s just shooting hoops, or playing pickup."


How was the AAU season touring with All Day Hoops?

  • "My AAU season with All Day Hoops was very good. We won our last four tournaments, and our team had a great connection with each other. Definitely a good way to end off my last year of AAU."


Which basketball player do you look up to the most and why?

  • "The basketball player I look up the most is my dad. My dad has taught me everything I know today about the game, and he is my biggest supporter. And, I can’t thank him enough for all he’s done."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "My biggest role models are my parents. Both my mom and dad put so much time and effort in for me and my brother. No one else works as hard as my parents do. I appreciate, and love them so much."


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • "I want to go to a college that has a good business program because that's what I want to do. I also want to go somewhere that will set me up for the future with a good degree."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "I’m looking forward for one last ride with our team. Our team next year is going to be mostly seniors, so we are looking forward for a great year. Hopefully, we can go on and win the Mid-Penn this year."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Nope thank you for this interview I really appreciate it!"


Kevin McKenna '23 - State College


High School Coach Information

Brian Scholly



Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


big head
big head
Aug 25, 2022

Wow Big Kevin very proud of this young man journey. A journey that started with my son Ashton during the early years playing at Brightbill Park in Harrisburg 💜

Like
bottom of page