top of page

The Kennedy O'Brien Interview


Did you know that Kennedy O'Brien used to snowboard and can absolutely rip it on a ski resort? I didn't know that until yesterday, but that's how interesting her life is. For those of you who aren't familiar with her, O'Brien is a 5'8" Combo Guard who currently attends Bishop McDevitt High School in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and runs with Mid Penn Motion in AAU. I caught up with the Bishop McDevitt guard for another interview. She provided a lot of thoughtful answers with questions that were all about her hobbies and interests away from basketball. Check it out below!

 

KENNEDY O'BRIEN INTERVIEW

KOB! Welcome back, welcome back, how's everything been?

  • "Everything’s been great! I finished up school a couple of weeks ago and have been pretty busy with workouts, AAU and just being with my friends."


How's your college recruitment been?

  • "I've seen a recent increase in my recruitment which I believe has a lot to do with my AAU teams success in recent tournaments and I’m looking forward to continuing this process!"


Describe the AAU season so far.

  • This AAU season has been a great experience for me and I'm sure my teammates as well. We had a lot of success in our earlier tournaments which were a lot of fun to play in especially after I missed my high school season.


How was the experience of playing against some circuit teams this past weekend at the Select Events tournament?

  • "Playing against top tier teams this weekend was very eye opening to say the least. Some of the girls we played against were committed to some of the nations best colleges and it was super cool to share the court with them. I got to see teams from all over the country compete and I look forward to playing against similar competition in future tournaments."


What is your usual pre-game routine?

  • "For AAU, I don’t have a routine because of how quick the games start sometimes and for high school it will most likely be a little different from the last time I played at red land. I used to do ball handling before every game, sitting on the bench and dribbling through my legs, and then I followed that with form shooting. I'm also not superstitious so that’s another reason why I never had anything set in stone for pre-game."


If it wasn’t for basketball, what hobby would you be doing?

  • "In middle school, I was really into snowboarding and I wish I was still able to do it, but i’m too busy in the winter because of the high school season. Also, most of my family either skies or snowboards, so that would be another way to spend time with them."


What's your music taste like?

  • "My music taste is honestly all over the place but on a day-to-day basis, I'll always have Mac Miller, Kanye, Frank Ocean, Giveon and SZA playing. Each of these artists have their own unique way of telling stories through their music which in some aspects I envy."


What are your all time favorite tv shows and why?

  • "My favorite TV shows are The Vampire Diaries and Criminal Minds. I started watching TVD because my cousin did and I've re-watched it now at least 3 times. Criminal Minds is really interesting because it dives into how criminals think and the reasoning behind their actions. I also want to look into forensics after college and this show sparked my interest in this field."


If you could have lunch with one person dead or alive, who would it be?

  • "I would want to have lunch with Paige Bueckers because she has been a super influential figure to so many young girls across the world and she seems like a down to earth person."


Are you a hunter or gatherer?

  • "I'm a hunter. I would like to think of myself as someone who seeks opportunities rather than to let things come to me. My mindset is that if I am able to choose some circumstances that come my way, I already know how I can be the best version of myself for those opportunities."


If you had a dream vacation where would you want to go?

  • "My dream vacation is to go to Spain because of the architecture there. It’s seems like a a beautiful country with some history behind it that would be interesting to learn about."


Who would you want to play you in a movie of your life?

  • "I would want Jennifer Lawrence to play me in a movie about my life because she’s really funny and a great actress."


What’s your most controversial unpopular opinion?

  • "An unpopular opinion I have is that social media has become very bad for our mental health because it projects false images in our minds of what we as an individual should be instead of embracing our differences."


What’s the biggest lesson life has taught you?

  • "The biggest lesson that life has taught me is that it is short. People will come and go in your life and you need to remember to enjoy the little things while you have them this ties into the last question, but never take anything for granted."


Any other words of encouragement or motivation that you have for people?

  • "Tomorrow is not promised and you don’t always know what hand life will deal you, so make the most of every opportunity you get and take chances on things that are important to you!"



Kennedy O'Brien - Bishop McDevitt High School - Class of 2022


High School Coach Information

Joel Falcone - Email


AAU Coach Information

Bill Haertsch - Email


For Reference

Nashon Walker/RISE Sports HD/A2D Elite Girls Academy - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page