top of page

The Kathryn Sansom Interview (New Cumberland, PA)

Updated: Apr 20, 2022


Name: Kathryn Sansom


Height: 6-2


Position: Power Forward/Center (Basketball)

Middle Blocker/Right Side Hitter (Volleyball)


High School: Cedar Cliff (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Mid Penn Motion HGSL


GPA: 4.0


Status: Uncommitted


Kathryn Sansom is a 6-foot-2 Power Forward and Middle Blocker from New Cumberland, Pennsylvania. She’s currently a sophomore at Cedar Cliff High School, and runs Fusion Volleyball, and Mid Penn Motion on the travel circuit and Hoop Group Showcase League. Sansom was a part of the Colts’ historical run in 2022 as Cedar Cliff went 29-2, captured the Mid-Penn Conference championship and made final four appearances in District 3 playoffs and the 6A state tournament.


But while I could name all of those accomplishments, I recruited Sansom for a reason because there is so much upside. Not from the playing field, but with her character. Olivia Jones, who helped me out with this article as well, introduced me to Sansom at the beginning of the basketball season. I was unfamiliar with her as I’m still learning more about emerging talent in the area away from my network. But with the praise that Jones has given to me about her and always talked about what she could do, it got my attention immediately. And, as their season went on, I went into evaluation mode and as mentioned, I’ve seen some upside. Whether it was on the court doing the little things, and sometimes on the bench proudly cheered on teammates if she wasn’t playing much, Sansom never complained and just LOVED being there for peoples. I know it sounds basic, but with the climate we live in within youth sports, you rarely see players being selfless and actually enjoying other’s presence. But it’s different at Cedar Cliff, as they are family. And now, she has the opportunity to have a big summer in two sports and you can say, this is all in the plan.


Jones helped me develop and mix in my usual questions, but I caught up with Sansom on her sophomore campaign, the value of being a student-athlete and preparation for junior season.

 

Kathryn Sansom Interview

Morning Kathryn! How’s everything been going since the end of the season?

“Good morning! Everything’s been great. I’ve been keeping busy with AAU basketball and club volleyball.“

Let’s get into it. When did you first start playing sports?

“I started volleyball at Saint Theresa in 4th grade. I played there until 6th grade. For middle school I played for Trinity. I started playing club volleyball for Fusion Volleyball Club my freshman year. As for basketball, I have been playing since 3rd grade and played through 8th for Saint Theresa. I started AAU basketball when I was in 4th grade and have been playing since.“

Describe your game in both.

“I would say I have a pretty good skill set for my age. In volleyball I would say my strongest skillset is blocking. My long reach and being able to jump helps me tremendously. Basketball I would say the same. I can shoot mid range pretty well and I can run the floor well. My long reach also helps me defensively being able to block many shots."

How was your sophomore season as a Cedar Cliff Colt?

“Volleyball was a really fun season. Our team goal was to make it to Districts which we did. At the beginning of the season, I had to learn to adjust because I was put at right side which I had never played before. This helped me become more adverse in my game. As one of the right sides, I was usually put on there best hitter to try to block each game. Which was challenging, but helped me improve so much over the course of the season."
"Basketball season was so fun from start to finish,” She continued. “At the beginning of the season, I started off strong. Around the middle of the season, I got pretty sick which affected how I played tremendously. Through this all, I knew my team had my back though. That is the closest team I have ever been on. We love each other all so much. We had such memorable season that I’ll never forget.“

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

“I am playing club volleyball for Fusion Volleyball in offseason. I am also lifting and going to speed and agility classes, which can help me with both sports. I have club practices, tournaments, and private lessons. I am also doing some college camps this summer. For basketball, I am playing for the Mid Penn Motion 11th national team. Also, like I said lifting and speed and agility training. I am also working on my shot in this offseason to increase my range to improve my game.“

I heard you are a very distinguished student in the classroom. Being a student-athlete, describe the importance of staying on top of your grades while maintaining performance.

“Student comes first in student-athlete. I believe that grades are super important. I feel like good grades, and working hard in the classroom reflects on how hard you work on the court.“

What are your plans for spring/summer?

“This summer I have a lot planned. I plan to play in volleyball quads tournaments with friends, and I will also be going to Orose’s house pretty often to work out. I might go to the beach to get away from sports for a little bit before volleyball season begins.”

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

“If I had to choose an athlete I looked up to the most it would probably be Serena Williams. She is a great example of a hard working woman and mom. Her drive on the tennis court is, and inspiration to me in both volleyball and basketball.“

I’ve noticed at first hand this season how close you are with your teammates. It’s a great feeling to see as many dont have the bond that y’all do at Cedar Cliff. Describe the relationship you have with your team.

“We have all been friends for years. It was so fun this season because I got to play with all of my bestfriends. Our team chemistry helps up play together as one on the court and makes it that much more fun.“

Who do you look up to as role models?

“I would say a special person I look up to is Dwayne Jones. He is not only a good dad, but a great coach as well. He has been coaching me since 5th grade and since then has been pushing me to be the best athlete and person to me. Not only is he my coach, but is kind of like another father figure who is very important to me in my life.“

Only being a sophomore, it’s never too early to start thinking about the next level. This could change at anytime throughout the next two years, but what are your aspirations for the future?

“For the future, I am thinking of playing volleyball in college. I would be open to playing either depending on my situation, but for now I’m thinking volleyball.”

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

“For both basketball and volleyball, I am looking to improve my skillset throughout the season and also to improve my leadership as a teammate.“

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

“If you stay ready, you don’t have to get ready.“

Jones: “This just betta be her senior quote.”


Editor: *laughs*


High School Coaches Information

Ann McGinnis (Volleyball) - Email

Scott Weyant (Basketball) - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page