top of page

The Josephine Vourliotis Interview (England)

Updated: Jan 27

Name: Josephine Vourliotis


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Shooting Guard/Small Forward


High School: Manchester Mystics Academy (Manchester, England)


Graduation Class: 2024


Status: Committed to Cowley College (2/16/23)


Josephine Vourliotis is a 6 foot Shooting Guard from Manchester, England. She's currently at the Manchester Mystics Academy playing for the Manchester Met Mystics in the Women's British Basketball League (WBBL). Josephine is also the daughter of former European basketball player, Ploutos Vourliotis, who's the current assistant coach of the Manchester Giants.

Vourliotis plays with the Under 18 program and other teams as she's very busy in her everyday life. She's your typical European with an elite jumpshot, but also a skilled wing with a strong inside-out presence who goes on hot streaks with her efficient scoring. Vourliotis' high school journey hasn't been the easiest. The COVID-19 pandemic affected her freshman season and her sophomore campaign was cancelled due to England's health and safety protocols. Vourliotis found ways to stay active and engaged by having several workouts a day, even if it consisted of shooting in her backyard. She has dreams of playing in the States, or staying in Europe one day depending on how the rest of her journey plays out. But Vourliotis is on the right path with having the sacrifices she's made and the workhouse mentality on the court. Let's get to know more about the European hooper!

 

JOSEPHINE VOURLIOTIS INTERVIEW

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was 12 years old."


Describe your game.

  • "I am 6 feet tall and play shooting guard and small forward, but I’m a versatile player who can play any position if needed. I like to think I’m a good passer, have good footwork, but most of all am a good shooter."


COVID-19 impacted your last two seasons in England. Now getting back into a groove and playing again, how where you able to overcome that period of time and getting back into rhythm?

  • "COVID–19 impacted two years of my basketball, where the end of the 2019-20 season got cancelled after we made the U16 playoff finals. I also missed the entire 2020-21 season, as well as missing out on multiple international competitions as part of the England U15 team. I continued with personal daily workouts outdoors with my dad and brother. These workouts not only included basketball, but also fitness circuits. I also engaged with the online U15 basketball England 8-week S&C programme which I followed twice a week."


How has your current season with the Mystics been for you so far?

  • "In my current season with Manchester Mystics, I play for multiple teams and age groups. With the Under 18’s, WEABL academy, D2 women’s development and WBBL Senior women. This means I play different roles in each team. In the U18’s and WEABL Academy team I’m generally take on more scoring responsibility and leadership, whereas in the WBBL women’s team I am learning from the senior players in practice and gaining experience of the highest level of British basketball."


Coming from a basketball family with your father who was a competitive professional basketball player. How is your relationship with your pops on and off the court?

  • "Growing up with a basketball coach and ex-pro player as a dad, it was tough. Always receiving constructive criticism, which I didn’t always understand. But as I got older and took basketball more seriously, I now understand that my dad just has high expectations and wants me to work hard to reach the highest possible level. Now I can ask my dad for advice and I take his expertise on board."


Being from across the pond, what are some of your favorite hobbies outside of basketball that you enjoy?

  • "Whenever I am not playing basketball, I really enjoy to draw and paint. Art was always my favourite subject and I want to study this alongside my basketball at university. I also enjoy walking my dog before and after school when I have time."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "My current weekly training schedule involves two hours strength and conditioning on Mondays. A double 2 hr session on Tuesday’s and Thursday's, Seniors then U18’s. Senior session or WEABL academy game on Wed's and games pretty much 1 or 2 games every weekend."


What are some of your future plans?

  • "In the future I’m hoping to play & study at a US college within the next 2 years and continue to represent GB right through to senior level. I am currently part of the GB U18 programme. I also hope to play professionally at a high level. Being half German, Greek, Cypriot and born in Manchester UK, I’m hoping this creates good opportunities in Europe after college."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Luka Doncic and Giannis Antetokounmpo. They are both European players having a big impact in the NBA and are both tall versatile players that play multiple positions, which I aspire to be like. However, one of my favourite players is Klay Thompson. Being one of the best shooters in the NBA, he is a player I look up to who I can also relate my game style to."


Who do you look up to as a role model?

  • "I look up to my dad as a role model. He went to college in the states for two years, also had a scholarship offer at Georgia State, but turned it down to play professionally in Europe. He played in Cyprus, England, Austria and also Germany, where he played half a season with Dirk Nowitzki the year he got drafted."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to for the rest of your season?

  • "My current goal is to win a championship with WEABL Academy, U18'd and D2 Women. At the same time, I want to improve my individual skills to be ready to play at the next level in college."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "My advice to any young player would be to always listen to your coaches and people with more expertise and work hard by yourself by doing extra which is more personal to your own improvement and development."




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page