top of page

The Jordan Macon Interview (Germantown, MD)

Updated: Feb 13, 2022


Name: Jordan Macon


Height: 5-6


Position: Point Guard/Shooting Guard


High School: Central Dauphin (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Team Pennsylvania


GPA: 3.6


Status: Uncommitted


Jordan Macon (May·Kn) is a 5-6 Combo Guard from Germantown, Maryland. She's currently a freshman at Central Dauphin High School and runs with Team Pennsylvania on the Select 40 circuit. Macon is originally from Germantown, Maryland, but moved to the Harrisburg area in elementary school as her family, who are Harrisburg natives, decided to come back. Macon has been a student in the Central Dauphin School District since fourth grade and her move has led her to meeting Maya Dickerson, another 2025 prospect. The two are close playing on the same team every year and have become best friends even off the court. Seeing those two together, they are a very odd duo *laughs*, but the chemistry is on point. Outside of basketball, Macon is probably one of the coolest kids that I've witnessed. You can call her a "Sneakerhead" to find the right term to describe Macon, but I can say that she's a very laid back and a person of culture who's very easy going to talk too. I caught up with Miss Macon in an interview in which focuses on her basketball journey, but also her life outside of basketball. Let's get to know more about the Maryland born guard!

 

Jordan Macon Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was 4 years old."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I am a constant shooter from around the arc. I make consistent passes and I’m a dependable teammate all of the time. My court vision helps with making smart plays anytime I step on the court."


How was your freshman season?

  • "My season started a lot later than every other school this year. Being one of the team captains for the freshman team holds a lot of accountability. As one of the leaders on my team it's very important to me to push myself, and the ones around me to try their best everytime I step on the court."


Who will you be playing AAU with this Spring/Summer?

  • "I will be playing with Team Pennsylvania for this AAU season."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "During the summer I am usually working with Major Prep, A2D, and coach Corey Dickerson. I’ve been training with them for a long time. School season keeps me busy with staying in shape for AAU."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "I look up to Alyssa Thomas the most."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to coach Corey Dickerson, Bryan Majors, all the coaches that I've worked with from A2D and coaches from Team Pennsylvania. They’ve always pushed me to my limits no matter what."


Now let’s get down to the fun parts. You told me during the preparation of your process that you were a huge sneakerhead. If you can only pick three favorites out of your collection to choose from, what would be your selection?

  • "If I could pick three shoes out of my collection they would definitely be my Court Purple 1’s, Hyper Royal 1’s and University Blue Dunks."


If you know me by now, you know I'm always going to throw in something crazy. Knowing you two close to a year now, you and Maya are a very interesting duo. Let’s say y’all are on a vacation together. If you really know your best friend, how would the whole trip play out?

  • "We would go on a beach trip in Miami. With Maya's mood swings, she will probably have an attitude most of the time because she has 'nothing to wear' *laughs*. We would definitely have a good time though. We always know how to have fun together *laughs again*."


Let’s tap into the arts a bit. Everybody is a fan of music, it’s very therapeutic. Who are your top five artists and why?

  • "My top five artists would be Drake, Lil Uzi, A Boogie, Brent Faiyaz, Polo G. These are my tops because before every game they get me in a good mood, it's exciting, and get me hype to play."


Entertainment is all around us. With TV shows or movies, name five that you enjoy the most.

  • "I love All American, Last Chance U Basketball, Manifest, and any horror movies or comedies!"


If you could have lunch with one person dead or alive, who would it be?

  • "If I could have lunch with one person, it would probably be Michael Jordan."


Who would you want to play you in a movie of your life?

  • "If one actress could play me it would be Zendaya."


What is a cause that you believe in?

  • "BLM (Black Lives Matter) is one of the most important topic in todays world. It’s one of the most important topics in todays world, and I feel like people should educate themselves about what is currently happening."


It’s still early, but what are you looking forward to in your sophomore season?

  • "I am looking forward to being a leader on the court. My goal is to start JV, and swing Varsity by sophomore season. I know I could achieve my goal if I keep working."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "Never give up until you are proud of yourself and what you’ve become. Push yourself because nobody is going to do it for you."


High School Coach Information

Randy Gambelunghe - Email


AAU Coach Information

Greg Cavoli

Corey Dickerson


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page