top of page

The Jake West Interview (Plymouth Meeting, PA)

Updated: Dec 31, 2021


Name: Jake West


Height: 5-11


Position: Point Guard


High School: Archbishop Carroll (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Team Final Red HGSL


Offers: St Francis (Brooklyn)


Status: Uncommitted


Jake West is a 5-11 point guard from Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania. He's currently a freshman at Archbishop John Carroll High School and runs with Team Final Red in the Hoop Group Showcase League. West is a natural born playmaker who's always rising to the occasion with his play style. He's able to shake defenders through his stealthy play and change of direction, can score from all three levels and throws some of the most ridiculous passes in tight spaces. West is a coach's dream and his recruitment will go through the roof these next four years. Off the court, West is a very interesting dude. In a very positive way of course. He always makes himself shine out in the crowd by engaging with everybody around him and is always making somebody laugh through his actions. He's even a rising TikTok star who's known for being the, "Shake God". The dude is comedy, but he's mad creative and even takes time to make his own sports videos in his free time. I caught up with the Archbishop Carroll freshman in an interview below.

 

JAKE WEST INTERVIEW

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing when I was 5."


Describe your game.

  • "I can finish, shoot well and make others better around me."


How was your previous season?

  • "Last season was okay during the pandemic. It was hard because of practice times and stuff, but I did well."


How was the live period for you?

  • "It was great. I played for Team Final Red and had lots of fun. We did good and I played really well and made a name for myself."


Let’s have some fun here. What is your music taste like?

  • "Lil Uzi is my favorite, but I also like Playboi Carti, Gunna, Young Thug and NBA Youngboy for hype games."


Out of you and your cousin, Avery, who would you say is the best shooter?

  • "Avery knows I'm the better shooter."


Editor's note: His cousin, Avery Mills is also a Liberty University basketball commit for their 2028 class.


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I am working on my body trying to get stronger, lifting and eating a lot so I can be a stronger and better version of myself."


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "Steph Curry because he was small and overlooked and he overcame that."


It’s still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your freshman season?

  • "My main goal is simple and that is too win the PCL chip."


Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people?

  • "My words for other kids like me is to stay in the gym and keep working. Also, "Heart over height". Never let someone tell you that you can’t!"



Jake West - Archbishop Carroll High School - 2025


Jake West Fall 2021 Highlights


Other Highlights on Jake West.


TWITTER @JakeWest_3


High School Coach Information

Francis Bowe - Email

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page