top of page

The Jaden Davenport Interview (McDonough, GA)

Updated: Jun 15, 2023

Name: Jaden Davenport


Height: 6-5


Position: Power Forward


High School: Eagle's Landing (GA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: AJ Bouye Elite


GPA: 3.4


Status: Uncommitted


Jaden Davenport is a 6-5 Power Forward from McDonough, Georgia. He's currently a sophomore at Eagle's Landing High School, and runs with AJ Bouye Elite on the AAU circuit. Davenport's father, Michah Davenport, is one of the well known basketball minds in the Harrisburg area, and was a former Harrisburg Cougar and Millersville University standout in the late 90's and early 2000's. He battled a fractured ankle late last year, but worked his way back into minutes throughout his sophomore season. I caught up with Davenport in an interview on his sophomore campaign, influences in his life and preparation for junior season.

 

Jaden Davenport Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball at 3 or 4. I grew up in a basketball oriented family so once I picked one up, I automatically fell in love. So I was very young when I started playing."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

"As a player, I feel like I am a great player. I am very active on the defensive end, and I average around 12 to 15 rebounds a game. I have a solid midrange shot, and I can get to the basket when needed. I also have a high motive, and I love hustling on the fifty-fifty loose ball plays."

How was your sophomore season?

"My Sophomore season started off slow because I just came off of a fractured ankle injury. I just trained hard to get back right. I had a couple breakout games this season and helped contribute to an 11 and 1 season. We did end up coming short in the playoffs, but we will for sure bounce back next season."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"I train at least two times a day before school and after. Sometimes I get the third one in late at night. I also watch a lot of film from older, and newer games. And, if I’m not playing, I’m watching NBA and WNBA games, or even college games."

What are your plans for this summer?

"My plans for this summer is to play on my AAU team, AJ Bouye Elite. I will also be playing with my school team, and we will be traveling to different colleges to play with one of them being FSU (Florida State University). You can catch me in AAU tournaments and showcases such as On The Radar and Big Shots Nation."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"The athlete I look up to the most is Ja Morant and Anthony Edwards. I look at both of them because they both have a similar play style to the one that I want. They are slashers and playmakers that also can make jumpshots at certain times."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"The people that influence me the most are my mom, aunt, and dad. Although, my mom doesn’t play basketball she criticizes me the most to make me better at what I do. My aunt on the other hand played basketball as well as my dad. They both influenced me to be better, and they give me workouts to do so that I could be better."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

"My Junior season I am looking forward to having a bigger role on the team. Our team have been to back to back state championships, so I am looking for the 3rd and this time win it. I am also wanting to increase my skill level as a wing and guard."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Thanks for having me. Some words of encouragement is just for anyone who is doing something always stay in the present moment. Just stay focused on what your doing in that present time. Don’t think about what happened before, and don’t worry about what’s happening later on. Just always keep your mind where your feet are."

Jaden Davenport - Eagle's Landing '24


Twitter @Dav13Jaden


High School Coach Information

Elliot Montgomery


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page