top of page

The Jacobi Tate Interview (Harrisburg, PA)

Updated: May 13, 2022


Name: Jacobi Tate


Height: 5-8


Position: Point Guard


High School: Bishop McDevitt (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Team Pennsylvania


GPA: 3.8


Status: Uncommitted


Jacobi Tate is a 5-8 Point Guard from Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. He's currently a sophomore at Bishop McDevitt High School, and runs with Team Pennsylvania on the AAU circuit. Tate is also the younger brother of Scotland Prep, and Team Pennsylvania AAU Coach, Jabari Tate. I caught up with the young guard in an interview about his sophomore season, the relationship with his older brother and offseason training. Check it out below.

 

Jacobi Tate Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

"I started playing basketball when I was 4 years old. I first started playing at the Hard2Guard training camp."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

I am a point and shooting guard who can create passes for my teammates. I am a good defender who is able to make opposing ball handlers cause turnovers, and am able to make open shots.


How was life growing up in Harrisburg?

"Growing up in Harrisburg was not the worst because I always had family who supported me when I needed them, which did not make it difficult."

How was your sophomore season?

"My sophomore season was decent. It definitely could’ve been better. There were a lot of ups and downs, but overall I’m thankful that it happened the way it did because I’m able to learn from it and become a better player."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

"I’m starting to get in the gym more. When I’m there I work on my handle and my shot. My goal is to become a quick shifty guard with a fire jumper. I have been studying and watching more basketball, so I can improve my game."

What are your plans for this summer?

"This summer I’m playing for Team Pennsylvania. We are playing in a lot of Hoop Group tournaments."

Your older brother, Jabari, has been making big moves over the past year. From landing a coaching opportunities at Scotland Prep and Team Pennsylvania. With him being an older figure in your life, describe the relationship between you two.

"Jabari is like a father I've never had because he helps me with things on and off the court. He pushes me hard in basketball because he knows I have the potential to do better, and be my best."

Now getting into the main question everybody is waiting for, how would in a one-on-one game between you and Jabari?

"Everybody knows I’ll definitely win that. If you ask him he’s going to say he's going to win but we both know that's not true."

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

"Muggsy Bogues. He was the shortest guy in the NBA, and still managed to make himself known. His defense was crazy and while being the shortest, he was still able to score."

Who do you look up to as role models?

"I look up to LeBron James because I admire how much he cares about his family, and how he looks out for young adults."

I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

"I’m looking forward to improving my skills and making a name for myself."

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

"Thank you for talking to me, and my words of encouragement are always give 100% and strive for your goals."


Jacobi Tate - Bishop McDevitt High School - Class of 2024


High School Coach Information

Mike Gaffey - Email


AAU Coach Information

Brad Kopcha - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page