top of page

The Grace Galbavy Interview (Red Hill, PA)

Updated: Jul 31, 2022


Name: Grace Galbavy


Height: 6 Feet


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: Perkiomen Valley (PA)


Graduation Class: 2025


AAU Club: Philadelphia Rise EYBL


GPA: 4.0


Offers: Harvard, Pittsburgh


Status: Uncommitted


Grace Galbavy is a 6-foot Shooting Guard from Red Hill, Pennsylvania. She's a rising sophomore at Perkiomen Valley, and runs with the Philadelphia Rise on Nike's EYBL circuit. Galbavy is a taller guard who's game revolves around one word, smoothness. One of the more smooth and laid back kids that I've seen on the court, Galbavy is a unique prospect from Southeast PA. From creating her own shot at all three levels, handling the rock in transition, or setting up teammates for looks on the court, Galbavy plays the game the right way. And, while Galbavy may seem like an opposing team's nightmare, off the court she is one of the most lively and funniest kids that I've encountered. Always being the one to light up a room through conversation and making others laugh, Galbavy's humor is one of a kind and she's a crowd favorite. It made this project go a lot smoother as I couldn't stop laughing while preparing this *laughs*. But here is my interview with Galbavy. Let's get to know more about the Gremlin!

 

Grace Galbavy Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing in 3rd grade with Upper Perk Youth Basketball. I only really knew how to shoot foul shots, so dribbling and taking lay-ups was a process."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I think my skills for my age are ahead of everyone else’s, but not as good as some of the best in my class. I still need to get my left hand to the level of my right. But other than that, I don’t have any skills that have really fallen behind. I an blessed with a lot of things you can’t control. Such as height, length, IQ, and my jumping ability, so that is really what puts me ahead. I am working to make my skills as good as everyone else’s so I can be better."

Olivia Jones gave a great word for you in which helped you land this opportunity this morning. Describe your relationship with miss jones over the past year.

  • "I met Olivia at Rising Bluestar in 2020 I believe. We ended up playing on the same Belles team and won the 3v3 national championship and the AAU All American games. Orose is a great teammate and friend and I’m really happy that I got to play with her as long as I did."


How was your first year experience at Upper Perkiomen High School

  • "Being at Upper Perk has been lots of fun. My cousins and my brother go to UP as well so that’s always nice. I also have got to spend time with some really good friends this year."

How was your freshman season?

  • "My freshman season was very nice I would say. We made districts for the first time since 2013 and made PAC (Pioneer Athletic Conference). I was third in the league for scoring with 18.9 points per game. Which I believe is one of my bigger accomplishments, since there hasn’t been many freshman in the area to do that very often."

Who will you be running with on the circuit this Spring/Summer?

  • "This summer I’ll be playing with the Philadelphia Rise. We play on the Nike EYBL circuit. I’m very excited for this opportunity since Rise surrounds you with other great players, and really great coaches. I learn new things at every practice and it’s really improving my game, and my IQ as a basketball player. It also is a privilege to play in the EYBL. It's a very good circuit, and they bring in lots of college recruiters to watch us play."


Going more in-depth with your AAU selection. Being a former Belle, why did you decide to make the switch to Philly Rise for the live period?

  • "The Philly Rise creates the best opportunities for me in terms of getting more on the college radar. Playing on the Belles was fun, but it was a program that was going downhill when I got there unfortunately."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "I enjoy watching the game more than anything to be honest. I watch games live during the week, weekends, and on the TV. On Saturdays, I go to the YMCA and play with high school boys, guys that used to play in high school, and adults sometimes on Tuesdays. I practice shooting at the Y, and work on ball handling in my basement. I have much passion for basketball and it never really gets old for me."


Moving away from the sport, everybody has a story to tell when it comes to fashion. What does fashion mean to you?

  • "I love fashion. I wish I had more money from work to support that, but that is not the case sadly *laughs*. My favorite brand by far is Nike, also why I love playing on a Nike circuit. Nike has clothes for everyone. They also design sports and clothes for everyday life very well, which most brands can’t do very well. Nike fits my taste in clothing with like everything they produce."

Music is the glue that keeps people’s lives together. Who are some of your favorite artists and why?

  • "My favorite artists include Drake, Rod Wave, and Adele which are all different from each other. But I listen to different types of music everyday so it changes. I enjoy listening to Adele since she is nice to listen to in the car, or on the bus to games because everyone knows her songs. I like drake and rod wave for their lyrics, it makes it easy to remember and they are not annoying songs."

Editor: Of course she likes Adele *laughs*


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • "An athlete I look up to the most would be Kobe Bryant since he never stopped playing basketball, and had such a passion for it. I feel like I can relate to him more since he really has a love for basketball like I do."

Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I look up to my parents as role models. They are very good people and do their best to provide me with opportunities for my future."

I know it is still early, but what are your for sophomore season?

  • "My goals for my team next year will be to make it far in states and win our conference."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Thank you for having me Reese. Just remember, we're all gremlins *grrrrrr*."



Grace Galbavy Summer 2021 Highlights (Philly Belles 14u)


Media Coverage on Grace Galbavy

Mercury Girls Basketball Roundup (Jan. 8): Freshman Galbavy nets 35 in Upper Perk victory https://papreplive.com/2022/01/09/mercury-girls-basketball-roundup-jan-8-freshman-galbavy-nets-35-in-upper-perk-victory/


NYG Coast 2 Coast Junior All American (2025) - 4/7/21 https://nyghoopsreport.com/news/nyg-coast-2-coast-jr-all-american-2025



Twitter @GraceGalbavy


High School Coach Information

Matt Bowe - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page