top of page

The Gentry Baldwin Interview (Bixby, OK)

Updated: Jun 1, 2022


Bixby High School | Photo


Name: Gentry Baldwin


Height: 5-5


Position: Point Guard


High School: Bixby (OK)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: Team Griffin Basketball


GPA: 4.5


Offers: Montana State, Newman, Oklahoma Baptist, Rogers State and Southern Nazarene.


Status: Uncommitted


Gentry Baldwin is a 5-5 Point Guard from Bixby, Oklahoma. She’s a rising senior at Bixby High School, and runs with Blake Griffin’s sponsored club, Team Griffin on the AAU circuit. Baldwin also holds offers from Montana State, Newman, Oklahoma Baptist and Rogers State University.


Baldwin is my first girls basketball prospect from the state of Oklahoma, and I was so excited when she accepted her invite to my network. The Oklahoma native is a lightning quick guard, who’s an elite scorer from all three levels. The attribute that stood out to me the most was within her shooting. Her game reminds me a lot of Trae Young, who's right next door from Texas. A lot of moving without the ball to get her shot off, her ”middy” game and working off fades as a college ready prospect to hit from deep, Baldwin is determined to get to the next level. I caught up with the 2023 recruit on her junior season, college recruitment through the live period and the mentality heading into senior year.

 

Gentry Baldwin Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I started playing basketball when I was about 5 years old. I played in a little league in Bixby called Upward. I always enjoyed playing for my dad, and that is the main reason why I decided to play.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “Over the last couple of years I have filled more of a point guard role. I have worked on developing my handles and attacking gaps. I pride myself a lot on the defensive end and having active hands. I like to play quick and aggressive with steals and love to push transition. I like to attack, but I do feel comfortable knocking down shots from 3.”


How was your junior season?

  • “This last year was a great year, and I have come a long way from my freshman year to now. My confidence in games has grown and it showed in my play this season. I was definitely more of an offense threat this year than I have been in the past. Our team had a record of 24 and 4 being crowned Tournament of Champions, Conference Champions, Regional Champions, Area Champions, and 6A State Runner-Up. This season, I received my third varsity letter and made All-Tournament Team for Bixby Invitational and The Tournament of Champions. Also, second-team in the State Tournament, Frontier Valley Conference third-team, and Oklahoma All-State Honorable Mention. Along with basketball I made Academic All Conference, and our team was Academic State Champions.”


What are your plans for the summer live period?

  • “This summer I will be playing with Team Griffin 2023 Elite, for Kara Wernli. In July, during the live period, we will be going to The Run 4 The Roses in Louisville, Kentucky. The Tournament of Champions in Chicago, Illinois. The Orlando Splash in Orlando, Florida, and the National Championship in Orlando, Florida.”


You’ve had a stellar spring period for Team Griffin. How has your college recruitment been?

  • “My college recruitment process is starting to pick up, and I am very grateful to have received offers from Newman University, Rogers State University, Oklahoma Baptist University, and Montana State University. I have started conversations with schools in the MIAA, GAC, and the Summit League. I am currently uncommitted, and waiting to see how this summer goes before making an official decision on my future.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “The past two years I have been doing personal training sessions with Lex Desir, and Seeds Workouts. I train 2 to 3 times a week, depending on my schedule, and I typically do mornings sessions so there are no afternoon conflicts. Along with that we have our AAU team practice once a week, and any other time I take to shoot. This summer I will also be doing a lifting workout at least 4 days a week, to improve my speed and strength for next year.


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “Two athletes that I look up to are Steph Curry and Draymond Green. I love to watch Steph play and how crafty he is on and off the ball. His ability to create his own shot and how fluid he is with his handles is amazing, especially sense he is a smaller guard in the NBA. As for Draymond Green, he is a phenomenal role player. He does all the dirty work that gets overlooked, but he is a lockdown defender and sacrifices his body for his team. I admire both players very much and try to incorporate both styles of play in my game.”


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My biggest role models in my life are my parents, Jeff and Shannon Baldwin. They are great examples of what hard work is, and finding the good in everything in life. They are my biggest supporters, and I could not be more grateful for the opportunities they have given me to succeed in life. Along with my parents, I look up to my coach, Kara Wernli. She is like another mom to me and she is one of the biggest blessings in my life. Not only is she a remarkable coach, but her dedication to me, our team, and most importantly the Lord is second to none. If I can live up to half of the person that these 3 people are in my life, I would be happy and pleased with my future.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • “I am looking forward to getting to play the game I love with my best friends for the last time. Our goal of a State title remains and I think we have the ability to have a historical season. I love my team and I am excited to compete with them next year. To enjoy every minute of it, while continuing to prepare myself for the next level.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Thank you for this opportunity, I have had a lot of fun so far. If I could say anything, I would say to enjoy the process and embrace all the good happening along the way. With that never quit, stay faithful, work hard, and good things will come your way.”


Spring 2022 AAU Highlights

Prep Girls Hoops | @PGHCircuit


Courtside Films | @CourtsideFilms


Gentry Baldwin Freshman Season Highlights (2019-2020)



High School Coach Information

Tina Thomas - Email


AAU Coach Information

Kara Wernli - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith



Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page