top of page

The Drew Sleva Interview (McKees Rocks, PA)


Name: Drew Sleva


Height: 6-2


Position: Point Guard/Combo Guard


High School: Chartiers Valley (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


GPA: 4.3


Status: Uncommitted


Drew Sleva is a 6-2 Combo Guard from McKees Rocks, Pennsylvania. He's a senior at Chartiers Valley High School, who most recently toured with the Rytes Warriors and West Penn Panthers on the AAU circuit.


Sleva is also the cousin of former Moon Township football standout, Dylan Sleva and the younger brother of the basketball bloodline of Dom Sleva, current Shippensburg player and Dustin Sleva, Shippensburg's all-time leading scorer, and is currently a professional basketball player in France who most recently played for the Golden State Warriors' Summer League team. So, you can say the Sleva name runs deep. But, although the Sleva name holds weight in Pennsylvania, Drew is entering the most important part of his journey, and is out to prove that he can make a name for himself in West Pa. And, I am very honored to have invited the young man to share a part of his story.


I caught up with the Sleva brother on his junior campaign, his family's basketball bloodline and preparation entering the final chapter.

 

Drew Sleva Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "When I was 4 years old at the boys and girls club in McKees rocks."


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I would say I’m a vocal player who can guard 94 feet, knock down jumpers, and see the floor well."


How was your junior season?

  • "From an individual standpoint, I thought it was a decent season. But much to improve on from last year and things I can get better at."


Being in the Sleva family, you guys are household names in West Pa. But talk a little about your family, the tradition of being an athlete and the relationship you have with one another.

  • "Sports is a big thing in our family. We all take pride in being a Sleva, and show that everytime we step on the court and field. We all train together, and help each other grow as people and players. We all play with a chip on our shoulder because a lot of people doubt us."


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • "Everyday I train myself or with my teammates in the weight room followed with a basketball workout. Then, I usually end the day by getting shots up or playing 5-on-5. Some other guys I trained with who have helped develop my game are Daren Tielsch, my brothers, and Nick Novak. My AAU teams also helped me with getting exposure over the summer. I played with Rytes Warriors and West Penn."


Which basketball player do you look up to and why?

  • "I look up to both my brothers Dustin and Dom because they have been training me since I was young, and made me love basketball."


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • "I would say my brothers again. They taught me everything I know about the game and more. They taught me to respect my peers, be confident in my self, and be a leader. My mom is another person I look up to because she is the reason I got so far in basketball and in life."


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • "Ideally, I am looking for a college where I feel at home. Family is a huge part of my life so feeling comfortable around a group of people is important to me. I also want to go to a prestigious academic school because school has always been my main priority and what I take pride in."


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • "This year I want to win. Last year, we had a few things that held us back from reaching our full potential such as injuries and more. But this year, we have a great group and I’m ready to win a WPIAL championship."


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • "Words of motivation I would say trust in god and find people around you who motivate you and bring energy every day."


Drew Sleva - Chartiers Valley '23



Twitter @SlevaDrew


High School Coach Information

Brandon Sensor


AAU Coach Information

Jackson Blaufeld


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page