top of page

The Domenic Vacchiano Interview (Blue Bell, PA)


Name: Domenic Vacchiano


Height: 6-2


Position: Shooting Guard


High School: Wissahickon (PA)


Graduation Class: 2024


AAU Club: Penn Warriors


GPA: 3.2


Status: Uncommitted


Domenic Vacchiano is a 6-2 Wing from Blue Bell, Pennsylvania. He's a rising junior at Wissahickon High School, and runs with the Penn Warriors on the AAU circuit. Vacchiano is an upcoming talent in Eastern Pennsylvania, who averaged 12 points per game for the Trojans as a sophomore.


I don't know if y'all remember Ron Baker from Wichita State. Hopefully my audience isn't too young with familiarity *laughs*, but I see a lot of similarities within Vacchiano's bag. Having the strong ability to spot up from three while creating his own shot efficiently, Vacchiano is starting to get a good feel for the game. And, bringing him on board to the RPN, I believe that he can be a solid college player one day as long as he stays confident, and continues to play the right way. Expect him to play a bigger role in the Trojans' offense next season.


I caught up with the Wissahickon guard on his sophomore campaign, training, college aspirations and preparation for year three.

 

Dom Vacchiano Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • “I was 5 Years old.”


Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • “Knockdown Shooter from anywhere on the floor, a strong finisher and a great defender.”


How was your sophomore season?

  • “I had a great season averaging 12 points per game as we ended the year with a 15-8 record to make the playoffs as the 18 seed. I played multiple positions this year ranging from PG to Power Forward. While shooting 3’s and attacking the basket as a big guard. There were some times I thought I should’ve got the ball more this season, but I was the youngest on the team and politics in sports these days are really bad. So it didn’t go the exact way I wanted it to go, but I still got my buckets and played my game. I ended up putting myself on the radar, thank you Tyreese by the way, and made a name for myself.”


You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “The things I’m doing to make myself better is working harder than everyone else. I’m in the gym every day either strength training, or working on my game. If I’m not working with Omar Jackson or Chase Wilson, then I’m in the gym by myself making myself better trying to get to the next level.”


How was the AAU season with Penn Warriors?

  • “It was a great spring and summer session. I learned a lot from my coaches, and they are starting to prepare me for the next level. Putting us in tournaments or showcases knowing the competition will be at its best.”


Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “Jimmy Butler and Steph (Curry) fasho because they both always have been under the radar players, and they always play with that chip on their shoulder. When I play, I have the same energy that, ‘You’re not gonna beat me easy, you’re gonna have to take it from me.’”


Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My role models would definitely be my family and friends. They motivate me to be the best player I can be, but deep down, I know it’s Me vs Me. Nobody is going to take the love for the game away from me.”


As you’re now at the age where you’re starting to look for college opportunities, what do you ideally look for in a college?

  • “I’m looking for colleges that can, of course, help continue my basketball career but with how they can help me academically. For basketball, I would want a coach that believes in me, and wants me to come in and have an impact on the team and help them win. I’m willing to work as hard as you need me to, if you have the trust in me to contribute to your program.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your junior season?

  • “I’m looking forward to being the leader of my team, and I feel like it’s my turn to put the team on my back. This whole offseason, I’ve been working to put my team in a position to win. Wissahickon is a school that is often under looked every year, and I’m looking forward to keep working and give my school a better reputation.”


Thank you for taking the time to talk with me tonight. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Don’t give up on yourself no matter how hard it gets. It’s You vs You. Thank you for having me!"


Dom Vacchiano - Wissahickon '24 | @cam_videos https://www.instagram.com/cam_videos/?hl=en



Sophomore Season Mix | @cam_videos https://www.instagram.com/cam_videos/?hl=en



Twitter @dom_vacchiano


High School Coach Information

Kyle Wilson - Email


AAU Coach Information

Phil Pierfy


Contact Tyreese Smith

Instagram: http://instagram.com/rpnfactory



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page