top of page

The Charlie Thornton Interview (Villanova, PA)

Updated: Jul 31, 2022


Dan Hilferty | DH Galleries


Name: Charlie Thornton


Height: 6-5


Position: Small Forward/Shooting Guard


High School: Radnor (PA)


Graduation Class: 2023


AAU Club: PrimeTime Development HGSL


GPA: 3.3


Offers: D’Youville


Status: Uncommitted


Charlie Thornton is a 6-5 Wing Forward from Villanova, Pennsylvania. Thornton spent time in Alexandria, Virginia and Cleveland, Ohio before making the move to Eastern Pennsylvania in his early years. He’s a rising senior at Radnor High School, and plays with PrimeTime Development in the Hoop Group Showcase League. Thornton averaged 10.5 points, 5.5 rebounds and 2.3 assists per game, while being named to the Main Line All-Conference Second-team in his junior season.


From watching his Radnor tape, Thornton is an explosive guard who’s a walking highlight reel. He can score from all three levels, but is best known for his creativity and immediate energy that he brings for the Raptors. Thornton is one of the most talented prospects I have ever covered and is expected to have a big summer for PrimeTime in the HGSL, and a huge senior season.


I caught up with the 2023 prospect on his junior season, training and preparation heading into his senior campaign.


Check it out below.

 

Charlie Thornton Interview

When did you start playing basketball?

  • "I started playing basketball when I was 4. I began to take it seriously when I was 14."

Describe how you are as a player from the skill standpoint?

  • "I think as a player I compete every play. I can defend 1 through 4. Offensively, I can shoot well I have a nice 3 and can finishing in transition."

I seen you were on Radnor’s relay team for the track season. How was your junior track season, and discuss how being a two-sport athlete matters in your development.

  • "This spring was crazy. With workouts basketball and track. Running every day definitely gave me an advantage during my basketball games. Running sprints in track translated perfectly to the way PrimeTime likes to play."


How was your junior season?

  • "My junior season was a historic year for Radnor. But we fell short of a few of our goals, and are locked in more for next year. Individually I gained more confidence, and was named to some teams such as Central League second/team."

You’re still at a very early stage of your career. What kinds of things are you doing to make yourself the best player you can be?

  • “As of now I work with Austin Carrol “Acegrind”. In the weight room we focus on building muscles and preventing injuries. Gaining strength to battle with bigs, and be able to play a full game is extremely important at the next level. On the court we work on ball handling and getting downhill. I want to extend my game to become more of a three level scorer. My assistant coach, Josh Leoplod of ‘Hoop Gains‘ has really developed my shot to a more straight line fluid motion.”

What are your plans for the summer?

  • “This summer I’ll be playing with PrimeTime on the Hoop Group circuit. And, I’ll be with Radnor in the West Chester League, Post and Pivot pre-live and both the Philly Live events at St. Joes Prep.”

Which athlete do you look up to the most?

  • “Being from Cleveland I’ve always looked up to LeBron. The dedication he has to his craft, and the way he carries himself off the court is something anyone can learn from.”

Who do you look up to as role models?

  • “My parents are my role models. They sacrifice so much for me, and my sisters. They also installed many valuable lessons.”


I know it is still very early, but what are you looking forward to in your senior season?

  • “I can’t wait for my senior season. Being on the floor with some of my closest friends is one of the best feelings ever. We have a lot more to prove.”

Thank you for taking the time to talk with me this morning. Do you have any words of encouragement or motivation for people? Any last words?

  • “Thank you.”


Charlie Thornton's Junior Season Highlights (2021-2022)



Media Coverage on Charlie Thornton

Boys Basketball: Unbeaten Radnor young but far from inexperienced https://papreplive.com/2022/01/05/boys-basketball-unbeaten-radnor-young-but-far-from-inexperienced/




Twitter @_CharlieT4


High School Information

Jamie Chadwin - Email


AAU Coach Information

Jason Fisher - Email


Contact Tyreese Smith

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page